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Assembly Bill (AB) X4 4 (Chapter 4, Statutes of the Fourth Extraordinary Session of
2009) amends the California Work Opportunity and Responsibility to Kids (CalWORKS)
Welfare-to-Work Program. The CalWORKs Welfare-to-Work Program is the
employment and training component of CalWORKSs, California’s version of the federal
Temporary Assistance for Needy Families (TANF) Program.

Federal welfare reform enacted the TANF program through the Personal Responsibility
and Work Opportunity Reconciliation Act (PRWORA) in 1996, limiting cash aid to a
family with an adult to a total of five years. The intent of the Welfare-to-Work program is
to provide employment and training services to the maximum possible number of the
adult CalWORKSs population to aid them in achieving economic self-sufficiency within
this time frame.

The passage of the Budget Act of 2009 as well as AB X4 4 impacted the CalWORKs
program significantly. The Budget Act included an approximate reduction of $376
million to the CalWORKSs single allocation in the 2009-10 budget year, and AB X4 4
enacted statutory changes which affect funding and exemptions in the CalWORKSs
program. This reduction, along with the overall increasing caseload for CalWORKSs, will
likely result in insufficient funding to provide the full range of Welfare-to-Work services
to all current and new CalWORKSs clients in the 2009-2010 and 2010-2011 fiscal years.
In crafting AB X4 4, the intended goals of the Legislature were to allow for more
effective utilization of limited resources for CalWORKS services, provide counties
additional flexibility to address funding constraints, minimize disruption of Welfare-to-
Work services for those clients already participating, and prioritize exemptions and good
cause for new applicants.


http://www.dss.cahwnet.gov/ord/PG2306.htm

In order to achieve these goals, the regulations establishe two new, temporary
CalWORKs exemptions and exemption requirements. The new exemptions apply to
clients who are caring for young children and to clients who may be granted good cause
from Welfare-to-Work participation due to a lack of supportive services. Clients who
receive the exemption for young children will not be required to participate in Welfare-to-
Work activities and will have their CalWORKSs 60-month time clock stopped until they no
longer meet these criteria, or until July 1, 2011, whichever comes first. Clients who
receive the exemption because they were granted good cause from Welfare-to-Work
participation due to a lack of supportive services will also have their CalWORKSs 60-
month time clock stopped until they no longer meet these criteria, or until July 1, 2011,
whichever comes first.

These regulations will be considered at the Department's public hearing to be held on
August 11, 2010.
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NONLINKING FACTORS OF PUBLIC ASSISTANCE ELIGIBILITY
Regulations GENERAL TIME LIMIT REQUIREMENTS 42-302 (Cont)

42-302 60-MONTH TIME LIMIT REQUIREMENTS FOR ADULTS  42-302

(Continued)
(c)
115 Unaided

.12 Domestic Abuse

.2 Counting the 60-Month Limit

| (MR)

| (MR)

Individuals that are determined to be incapable of
maintaining employment shall have their condition
reviewed at least once every 12 months, unless the
disabling condition or conditions is expected to
improve at an earlier date. For individuals with a
learning disability, which was documented pursuant
to MPP Section 42-711.58, the county shall review
the individual’s employment status and the impact of
any newly-developed coping skills, strategies, and
accommodations on the individual’s ability to
maintain employment, ability to cope with his/her
impairment and shall not require a reevaluation of
the learning disability.

The individual is excluded from the AU for reasons
other than exceeding the time limit.

When an individual has been aided as an adult for 60
months, aid may continue for that adult when the
individual is a victim of domestic abuse and the
county has determined that good cause exists for
waiving the 60-month time limit. See Section 42-
713.22.

Section 42-302.2(MR) shall become inoperative and
Section 42-302.2(QR) shall become operative in a
county on the date QR/PB becomes effective in that
county, pursuant to the Director’s QR/PB
Declaration.

Any month or partial month in which an adult is
included in an AU that receives a cash grant,
including Reduced Income Supplemental Payments
(Section 44-400) and Special Needs, (Section 44-
211), shall count for the purposes of the 60-month
time limit, except as provided in Sections 42-302.21
(Exempt Months) and 42-302.22 (Diversion Count).

Any overpayment month, (an entire month of aid in
which the recipient was not entitled to cash aid), that
is fully repaid shall not count for the purposes of the
60-month time limit.
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NONLINKING FACTORS OF PUBLIC ASSISTANCE ELIGIBILITY

42-302 (Cont.) GENERAL TIME LIMIT REQUIREMENTS Regulations

42-302 60-MONTH TIME LIMIT REQUIREMENTS FOR ADULTS 42-302
(Continued)

(QR) Counting the 60-Month Limit Any month or partial month in which an adult is

included in an AU that receives a cash grant,
including Special Needs (see Section 44-211), shall
count for the purposes of the 60-month time limit,
except as provided in Sections 42-302.21 (Exempt
Months) and 42-302.22 (Diversion Count).

(QR) Any overpayment month, (an entire month of aid in
which the recipient was not entitled to cash aid), that
is fully repaid shall not count for the purposes of the
60-month time limit.

.21 Exempt Months Any month in which any of the following conditions
exist for any period during the month shall not count
toward the 60-month limit as specified:

@ Disability The individual is exempt from welfare-to-work
participation requirements due to a verified disability
that is expected to last at least 30 days.

(b) Providing Care The individual is exempt from welfare-to-work
participation requirements due to:

@ The need to care for an ill or incapacitated person
residing in the home, and the caretaking
responsibilities impair the individual's ability to be
regularly employed or to participate in welfare-to-
work activities.

2 Being the nonparent caretaker of either a dependent
child of the court, a Kin-GAP child, or, as
determined by the county, a child who is at risk of
placement in foster care. For this exemption to
apply, the county must also determine that the
caretaking responsibilities are beyond those
considered normal day-to-day parenting
responsibilities so that they impair the individual's
ability to be regularly employed or to participate in
the welfare-to-work activities.

3 Being the parent or other relative who has primary
responsibility for personally providing care to one
child who is from 12 to 23 months of age, inclusive,
or two or more children who are under six years of
age. This paragraph shall become inoperative on
July 1, 2011.
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NONLINKING FACTORS OF PUBLIC ASSISTANCE ELIGIBILITY
Regulations GENERAL TIME LIMIT REQUIREMENTS 42-302 (Cont.)

42-302 60-MONTH TIME LIMIT REQUIREMENTS FOR ADULTS 42-302

(Continued)

(h) Living in Indian Country

)

Q) Receiving Supportive
Services

() Grant Amounts Less
Than $10

(k) Lack of Necessary

Supportive Services

.22 Diversion Count

.221  Diversion Payment
Month

The individual lived in Indian country, as defined by
federal law, or an Alaskan native village, in which at
least 50 percent of the adults living in the Indian
country or in the village are not employed.

Counties shall obtain the required information on
unemployment rates through the governing body of
each tribal land.

The individual is a former recipient of cash aid and
is only receiving child care, case management or
supportive services.

The recipient does not receive a cash aid payment
for the month because the grant amount is less than
$10.

The individual is excused from participation for

good cause due to lack of necessary supportive
services, as specified in Section 42-713.21. This
paragraph shall become inoperative on July 1, 2011.

Diversion payments as set forth in Section 81-215
count toward the 60-month time limit unless they are
recouped as provided in Section 42-302.223(a) or
unless part or all of the diversion period is exempt as
provided in Section 42-302.21 et seq. Count the
months as follows:

The month in which a lump sum diversion payment
is made counts as one month toward the 60-month
time limit unless the diversion recipient applies for
CalWORKSs cash aid during the diversion period, as
specified in Section 81-215.41, and is determined to
be eligible for CalWORKs. In that case, the
diversion payment is treated in accordance with
Section 42-302.223.
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NONLINKING FACTORS OF PUBLIC ASSISTANCE ELIGIBILITY

42-302 (Cont.) GENERAL TIME LIMIT REQUIREMENTS Regulations
42-302 60-MONTH TIME LIMIT REQUIREMENTS FOR ADULTS 42-302

(Continued)

(b) A statement that the individual may need to provide
documentation to substantiate some
exemptions/exceptions.

(c) A statement of exemptions from the time limit that
do not require a written request.

(d) A statement that the individual will be informed, in
writing, whether the exemption/exception is granted
or not and the reason if the exemption/exception is
denied.

(e A statement that the individual may request a State

.32 Exemption/Exception
Determination

(@)

(b)

.33 Documentation of
Exemption/Exception

hearing to appeal a denial of an exemption/exception
request.

The county shall inform the individual, in writing, of
the exemption/exception determination no later than
15 calendar days from the date of completed request
for an exemption/exception pursuant to Section 42-
302.3. The specified response time may be
exceeded in situations where completion of the
determination is delayed because of circumstances
beyond the control of the county, in which instances
the case record must specify the cause for delay.
These instances include:

Inability on the part of the recipient to provide the
necessary verification.

Delay on the part of an examining physician to
provide the necessary information.

The county shall first research all available and
relevant case records before requesting additional
verification from the recipient. Pursuant to MPP
Section 40-107(a), the county shall assist the
applicant/recipient in obtaining the necessary
records to verify the exemption/exception.
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NONLINKING FACTORS OF PUBLIC ASSISTANCE ELIGIBILITY

42-302 (Cont.) GENERAL TIME LIMIT REQUIREMENTS Regulations
42-302 60-MONTH TIME LIMIT REQUIREMENTS FOR ADULTS 42-302
(Continued)

.34  Determination Notice

(a)

(b)

(©)

The notice of action approving or denying a request
for an exemption or exception shall state whether the
request was granted or denied and if denied, the
reason for the denial.

Repealed by Manual Letter No. EAS-03-04,
effective 4/9/03.

Repealed by Manual Letter No. EAS-03-04,
effective 4/9/03.

Repealed by Manual Letter No. EAS-03-04,
effective 4/9/03.

NOTE: Authority cited: Sections 10553, 10554, and 11369, Welfare and Institutions Code. Reference:
| Sections 10553, 10554, 11266.5, 11320, 11320.3, 11454, 11454(e) and (e)(5), 11454.5, 11454.5(b) and
(b)(4) and (5), and 11495.1, Welfare and Institutions Code; Section 37 of AB 444 (Chapter 1022, Statutes

of 2002); and 42 U.S.C. 608(a)(7)(a), (B) and (D).
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NONLINKING FACTORS OF PUBLIC ASSISTANCE ELIGIBILITY

Regulations WELFARE-TO-WORK 42-712 (Cont.)
42-712 EXEMPTIONS FROM WELFARE-TO-WORK PARTICIPATION 42-712
(Continued)
452 For an aided nonparent caretaker relative to qualify for this exemption, the CWD
shall determine that his or her caretaking responsibilities:
@) Are beyond those considered normal day-to-day parenting responsibilities,
and
(b) Impair the caretaker relative's ability to be regularly employed or to
participate in welfare-to-work activities.
46 Exemption Based on the Care of an Ill or Incapacitated Member of the Household

461

An individual is exempt from participating in welfare-to-work activities when his/her
presence in the home is required because of the illness or incapacity of another
member of the household.

(a)

For an individual to qualify for this exemption, the CWD shall determine that
the caretaking responsibilities impair the ability of the individual to be
regularly employed or to participate in welfare-to-work activities.

47 Exemption Based on the Care of a Child
471  The parent or other relative who has primary responsibility for personally providing
care to a child six months of age or under is exempt from welfare-to-work
participation.

@ An individual shall be eligible for the exemption in Section 42-712.47 only
one time under the CalWORKSs Program.

(b) On a case-by-case basis, the CWD may reduce the period of exemption to the
first 12 weeks, or increase it to the first 12 months, after the birth or adoption
of the child.

@ The CWD shall establish criteria by which the period of exemption
in Section 42-712.471 is reduced or extended.

(A) In making the determination to extend the period of
exemption after the birth or adoption of a child, the CWD
may consider the availability of child care, local labor
market conditions, and other factors the CWD determines
are applicable.

(©) The exemption in Section 42-712.47 shall not apply to a 19-year old
custodial parent described in Section 42-711.31.

CALIFORNIA-DSS-MANUAL-EAS
MANUAL LETTER NO. EAS-10-03 Effective 7/1/10

Page 242



NONLINKING FACTORS OF PUBLIC ASSISTANCE ELIGIBILITY

42-712 (Cont.) WELFARE-TO-WORK Regulations
42-712 EXEMPTIONS FROM WELFARE-TO-WORK PARTICIPATION 42-712
(Continued)

472 An individual who has previously received the exemption in Section 42-712.471
shall be exempt for a period of 12 weeks upon the birth or adoption of any
subsequent children.

@) The CWD may extend the period for an exemption in Section 42-712.472 to
six months on a case-by-case basis.

(1) The CWD shall establish criteria by which the period specified in
Section 42-712.472 is extended.

(A) In making the determination to extend the period of
exemption after the birth or adoption of a child, the CWD
may consider the availability of child care, local labor
market conditions, and other factors the CWD determines
are applicable.

473  Inafamily eligible for aid due to the unemployment of the principal wage earner, the
exemption in Section 42-712.47 shall apply to only one parent.

474 The parent or other relative who has primary responsibility for personally providing
care to one child who is from 12 to 23 months of age, inclusive, or two or more
children who are under six years of age is exempt from welfare-to-work participation.
This paragraph shall become inoperative on July 1, 2011.

.48 Exemption Based on Pregnancy

481 A woman who is pregnant is exempt from welfare-to-work participation if the
pregnancy impairs her ability to be regularly employed or participate in welfare-to-
work activities.

@) The exemption based on pregnancy is supported by medical verification that
the pregnancy impairs the woman's ability to be regularly employed or
participate in welfare-to-work activities.

482  An exemption based on a medically-verified pregnancy may also be granted when
the CWD determines that participation will not readily lead to employment or that a
training activity is not appropriate.

49 An individual is exempt if he/she is a full-time volunteer in the Volunteers in Service to
America (VISTA) Program, as provided by Title | of the Federal Domestic VVolunteer Act of
1973.

491  This exemption is supported by either of the following:

@ a copy of a Domestic VVolunteer Earnings Statement or
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NONLINKING FACTORS OF PUBLIC ASSISTANCE ELIGIBILITY
Regulations WELFARE-TO-WORK 42-712

42-712 EXEMPTIONS FROM WELFARE-TO-WORK PARTICIPATION 42-712
(Continued)

(b) a written verification from the VISTA sponsor or the Federal Region IX
ACTION/VISTA Office.

.5 Any individual who is not required to participate may volunteer to participate in welfare-to-work
activities and may end that participation at any time without loss of eligibility for aid, provided his
or her status has not changed in a way that requires participation.

.51 For purposes of Section 42-715.5, a volunteer participant is as follows:

511 An individual who is exempt pursuant to Sections 42-712.41 through .49, but who
volunteers to participate; or

512 Anindividual who is not required to participate for reasons other than the exemptions
described in Sections 42-712.41 through .49, but who volunteers to participate.

HANDBOOK BEGINS HERE

@) For example, in a two-parent assistance unit, whose basis for aid is
unemployment, the second parent is not required to participate when the first
parent is meeting the required participation hours but may participate as a
volunteer.

HANDBOOK ENDS HERE

.6 Any month in which an individual is exempt from participation in welfare-to-work activities based
on the following exemption criteria shall not be taken into consideration as a month of receipt of aid
in computing the 60-month time limit described in Section 42-302. Other exemptions from the 60-
month time limit are listed in Section 42-302.

.61 Being age 60 or older as described in Section 42-712.43;
.62 Having a disability as described in Section 42-712.44; or

.63 Having caretaking responsibilities that impair a recipient's ability to be regularly employed,
as described in Sections 42-712.45 and .46.

.64  Being responsible for personally providing care to a child or children of a specific age, as
described in Section 42-712.474. This paragraph shall become inoperative on July 1, 2011.

7 Renumbered to Section 42-712.6 by Manual Letter No. EAS-06-01, effective 4/3/06.
NOTE: Authority cited: Sections 10553, 10554, 10604, and 11369, Welfare and Institutions Code.

Reference: Sections 10553, 10554, 10063(b), 11253.5, 11320, 11320.3, 11331.5(a), (b), (c), and (d),
11454, and 11454.5, Welfare and Institutions Code; and 42 U.S.C. 5044(f)(2).
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NONLINKING FACTORS OF PUBLIC ASSISTANCE ELIGIBILITY
42-713 WELFARE-TO-WORK Regulations

42-713 GOOD CAUSE FOR NOT PARTICIPATING 42-713

.1 A recipient shall be excused from participation in welfare-to-work activities for good cause in
accordance with Section 42-713.2, when the CWD determines there is a condition or other
circumstance that temporarily prevents, or significantly impairs, the individual's ability to be
regularly employed or to participate in welfare-to-work activities.

.11 The CWD shall review the continuing validity of the good cause determination as necessary,
but at least every three months.

.12 The individual shall cooperate with the CWD and provide information, including written
documentation, as required to complete the review.

.2 Conditions that may be considered good cause for not participating in welfare-to-work activities
include, but are not limited to, any of the following:

.21 Lack of necessary supportive services.
.22 The applicant or recipient is a victim of domestic abuse.

221 CalWORKSs Program requirements, including the time limit on receipt of assistance
described in Section 42-302, and welfare-to-work requirements described in Section
42-711 may be waived, except as specified in Section 42-715.511, for an individual
who is a victim of domestic abuse (as defined in Section 42-701.2(d)(3)) on a case-
by-case basis, but only for as long as domestic abuse prevents the individual from
obtaining employment or participating in welfare-to-work activities, in accordance
with Section 42-715.

@ The criteria for granting waivers shall include provisions that ensure:

(1) Applicants and recipients who are past or present victims of abuse
are not placed at further risk or unfairly penalized by CalWORKSs
requirements and procedures;

(2) Program requirements are not created or applied in such a way as to
encourage a victim to remain with the abuser; and

3 Participation by CalWORKSs recipients in welfare-to-work activities
is encouraged, to the full extent of their abilities, including
participation in counseling and treatment programs, as appropriate,
to enable the recipient to obtain unsubsidized employment and move
toward self-sufficiency.
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NONLINKING FACTORS OF PUBLIC ASSISTANCE ELIGIBILITY
Regulations WELFARE-TO-WORK 42-713 (Cont.)

42-713 GOOD CAUSE FOR NOT PARTICIPATING (Continued) 42-713

HANDBOOK BEGINS HERE

(b) Examples which may constitute good cause for waiving program
requirements for victims of domestic abuse include, but are not limited to:

(1) The participant is fleeing the abuser and is in temporary housing or is
homeless;

(2) The participant has entered a shelter;
3 The participant is concerned about the safety of his/her children;

4) The participant is a party to a restraining order or divorce action
against the abuser; or

5) The participant and/or the children are undergoing counseling to
cope with the effects of the abuse.

HANDBOOK ENDS HERE

.23 Licensed or license-exempt child care is not reasonably available during the individual's
hours of training or employment, including commuting time, or arrangements have broken
down or have been interrupted for the following children:

231 Achild 10 years of age or younger, or
232  Achild 11 years of age or older as described in Section 47-201.22 or .23, or

.233 A child who is in foster care or is an SSI recipient and who is not included in the
assistance unit.

.24 Good cause criteria in Section 42-713.23 includes the unavailability of suitable special needs
child care for children with identified special needs including, but not limited to, disabilities
or chronic illnesses.

.25  For purposes of Sections 42-713.23 and 42-713.24, reasonably available means at least one
appropriate, suitable, and affordable child care arrangement that is commonly available in the
participant's community to a person who is not receiving aid, that is available to parents
during the hours that they are required to participate in county-approved activities or
employment, and is within a reasonable distance from the participant's home or work site.
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NONLINKING FACTORS OF PUBLIC ASSISTANCE ELIGIBILITY

42-713 (Cont.) WELFARE-TO-WORK Regulations
42-713 GOOD CAUSE FOR NOT PARTICIPATING 42-713
(Continued)

251  Appropriate and suitable child care is child care that meets the needs of the child and
the parent, and meets one of the following requirements:

@) Child care that is licensed for the appropriate age group or special needs
category.

(b) License exempt child care that meets Trustline clearance requirements,
unless that child care is exempted from Trustline.

(©) Suitable child care provided by the parent, legal guardian, other member of
the assistance unit, or an eligible provider as defined by Section 47-260.

(D) Informal child care is unsuitable where the individual(s) providing
the care cannot be Trustline registered in accordance with Section
47-600 or who would otherwise be denied payment for child care
services that are exempt from licensure, due to a violent felony
conviction, in accordance with Section 47-620.2.

252  Affordable child care is child care where the unreimbursed cost to the family does
not exceed the family fees established by the state in accordance with Sections 47-
401.7 and .8.

.253  Reasonable distance means the distance customarily traveled by working families in
accessing child care services in the community.

.3 An individual shall have good cause for not complying with program requirements if he or she
meets the criteria described in Section 42-721.3.

4 An individual who is excused from welfare-to-work participation for good cause is subject to the
60-month time limit in Section 42-302.

41 A CWD may waive the 60-month time limit for victims of domestic abuse as provided in
Section 42-713.221(a).

42 Repealed by Manual Letter No. EAS-06-01, effective 4/3/06.

43  Effective July 28, 2009, any month in which an individual is excused from participation for
good cause due to lack of supportive services, as specified in Section 42-713.21, shall not be
counted toward the 60-month time limit. This paragraph shall become inoperative on July 1,
2011.

NOTE: Authority cited: Sections 10553, 10554, and 10604, Welfare and Institutions Code. Reference:
Sections 11320.3(b) and (f), 11323.2, 11325.23(c), 11454, 11454.5, 11495, and 11495.1, Welfare and
Institutions Code; 42 U.S.C. 607(e)(2); and 45 CFR 261.15.
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