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Sections 47-201 and 47-401

This manual letter has been posted on the Office of Regulations Development website
at http://www.dss.cahwnet.gov/ord/Eligibilit 617.htm.

These regulations implement and make specific Senate Bill (SB) 68, Chapter 78,
Statutes of 2005 which amended Section 8263.4 of the Education Code which states
that the preferred placement of 11- or 12-year-old children is in a before or after school
program.

These regulations also implement SB 1104, Chapter 229, Statutes of 2004, which
amended Sections 8263(b)(1) and (f) of the Education Code that state that a family
receiving subsidized child care on the basis of a child receiving child protective services
can receive child care services and an exemption from family fees for up to 12 months.
These regulations place time limits on the exemption from family fees for families with
children at risk of abuse, neglect, and exploitation and for families with children
receiving child protective services.

These regulations change the maximum reimbursement rate to no more than 85
percent of the rates charged by providers offering the same type of child care for the
same age child in that region. The amendments are consistent with the California
Department of Education (CDE) as required by the Budget Act of 2003, Chapter 157,
Statutes of 2003, Item 6110-196-0001, Provisions 7(b) and (c).

These regulations eliminate the county option by requiring counties to reimburse
providers for an ill child and for other excused absences as specified in Education Code
Section 8208(e).

Education Code Section 8263(f) requires the Superintendent of Public Instruction to
establish the family fee schedule. Education Code Section 8447(e) requires the CDE to
adjust the family fee schedule annually. For clarity and ease of use, the regulations
make a nonsubstantive change in a handbook section by replacing the September 2000
family fee schedule with a reference to the regulations that support the provision which
are found in the California Code of Regulations, Title 5, Division 1, Chapter 19,
Subchapter 3, Article 5.



These regulations were considered at the Department's public hearing held on
August 16. 2006.
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CALWORKS CHILD CARE
Regulations STAGE ONE CHILD CARE ELIGIBILITY 47-201 (Cont.)

CHAPTER 47-200 STAGE ONE CHILD CARE ELIGIBILITY
47-201 ELIGIBLE CHILDREN 47-201

.1 Eligible Child A child that is eligible to receive Stage One child
care services shall:

.11 Assistance Unit Members Be a member of the assistance unit; or would be a
member of the assistance unit but for the receipt of
foster care benefits or Supplemental Security
Income/State  Supplemental Program (SSI/SSP)
benefits; or be the child of a Cal-Learn Participant;
or be a member of a family with a former
CalWORKSs client who has become employed.

.12 Non-Assistance Unit Members Be a child that is:
121 Membership Not in the assistance unit;
122 Effect on Participation One for whom the lack of child care would result in

the client not being able to participate in approved
CalWORKSs or Cal-Learn activities or employment;
and

123 Responsibility for Child One whom the client is responsible to support.

HANDBOOK BEGINS HERE

124 Example 1 A single parent requests CalWORKs Stage One
child care both for her children and her sister's
unaided children who are residing with her while her
sister is in jail. The children's father is absent. In
this case the sister's children meet the requirement in
Section 47-201.123, that is, children whom the client
is responsible to support.

125  Example 2 A single parent requests CalWORKs Stage One
child care both for her children and the children of
her unaided unmarried boyfriend living in the home.
The unmarried boyfriend is employed. He is unable
to provide care for his children during his hours of
employment. In this case the boyfriend's children do
not meet the requirement in Section 47-201.123, that
is, children whom the client is responsible to
support.

HANDBOOK ENDS HERE
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CALWORKS CHILD CARE

47-201 (Cont.) STAGE ONE CHILD CARE ELIGIBILITY Regulations
47-201 ELIGIBLE CHILDREN (Continued) 47-201
.2 Age Requirements The child shall not exceed the age specified in

Section 42-101 and shall be:
21 Age Limit 10 years of age or younger; or

.22 Disabled 11 years of age or older and require child care or
supervision because she or he is physically or
mentally incapable of caring for herself or himself
based on a written statement of a physician or
licensed or certified psychologist or receipt of
SSI/SSP; or

.23 Court Supervision 11 years of age or older and be under court
supervision as specified in Welfare and Institutions
Code Section 300, 301, 601 or 602.

.3 11 -and 12 - Year Old Children 11 — and 12- year- old children may receive services
to the extent funds are available.

.31 Children with Disabilities The following section on the preferred placement for
11- or 12—year-old children does not apply to 11- or
12-year-old children with disabilities per Education
Code Section 8263.4.

HANDBOOK BEGINS HERE

311 This section does not apply to 11- or 12-year-old
children with disabilities, including a child with
exceptional needs who has an individual education
plan as required by the Individual with Disabilities
Education Act (20 U.S.C Section 1400), Section
504 of the Rehabilitation Act of 1973 (29 U.S.C.
Section 794), or Part 30 Sections 56000 through
56885) of the Education Code.

HANDBOOK ENDS HERE

.32  Preferred Placement The preferred placement for 1l-and 12-year-old
children is in a before or after school program as
specified by Education Code Section 8263.4.
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CALWORKS CHILD CARE
Regulations STAGE ONE CHILD CARE ELIGIBILITY 47-201 (Cont)

47-201 ELIGIBLE CHILDREN (Continued)

47-201

HANDBOOK BEGINS HERE

321

322

Children who are 11 or 12 years of age shall be
eligible for subsidized child care services only for
the portion of care needed that is not available in a
before or after school program.

Families may combine care provided in a before or
after school program with subsidized child care in
another setting, for those hours within a day when
the before or after school program does not operate,
in order to meet the child care needs of the family.

Children who are 11 or 12 years of age, who are
eligible for and who are receiving subsidized child
care services, and for whom a before or after school
program is not available, shall continue to receive
subsidized child care services.

HANDBOOK ENDS HERE

.33 Notification and Certification

The CWD must provide a notification and
certification form as developed by the Department of
Education pursuant to Education Code Section
8263.4(d) to families with children who are at least
10 years and 10 months old stating that the preferred
placement is in a before or after school program. In
the event that a child is beyond his/her 11th birthday
at the time child care services are requested, the
CWD must provide the notification and certification
form to the family at the time of the request.

If a before or after school program does not meet the
family’s needs, the parent is to complete, sign and
return the notification and certification form to the
CWD by the child’s 11" birthday. After the child’s
11th birthday, a before or after school program shall
be considered available until such time as the parent
returns the certification form.
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CALWORKS CHILD CARE

47-201 (Cont.) STAGE ONE CHILD CARE ELIGIBILITY Regulations
47-201 ELIGIBLE CHILDREN (Continued) 47-201
.34 Program Not Available A before or after school program shall be considered

not available when a parent certifies in writing, on a
form provided by the CWD, any reason or reasons as
specified in Education in Education Code Section
8263.4(d) as determined by the parent, why the
before or after school program does not meet the
child care needs of the family.

.35 Priority to Return The priority for 11-and 12-year-old children to
return to subsidized child care is specified by
Education Code Section 8263.4 as follows:

HANDBOOK BEGINS HERE

351 Families that move their 11-or 12-year-old child
from subsidized care to a before or after school
program have priority to return to subsidized child
care if the child is disenrolled from the before or
after school program or the program no longer meets
the child care needs of the family.

HANDBOOK ENDS HERE

NOTE: Authority cited: Sections 10553 and 10554, Welfare and Institutions Code. Reference: 42
U.S.C. 609(a)(3); 45 CFR 98.20(a)(1)(ii); Sections 10540.5, 10544, 11320.3, and 11323.2, Welfare and
| Institutions Code; and Section 8263.4, Education Code.
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CALWORKS CHILD CARE
Regulations PAYMENT FOR CHILD CARE SERVICES 47-401 (Cont.)

CHAPTER 47-400 PAYMENT FOR CHILD CARE SERVICES
47-401 CHILD CARE PAYMENT LIMITS 47-401

1 Maximum Payment Rate The maximum payment rate for all Stage One child
care shall be consistent with the rate established by
the California Department of Education and as
specified by the Budget Act of 2006, Chapter 47
Statutes of 2006, Item 6110-196-0001, Provision
2(b).

HANDBOOK BEGINS HERE

A1 The maximum payment rate for all child care costs
shall be up to the 85™ percentile of the market rates
charged by providers who offer the same type of
child care for the same age child in the region where
care is provided.

12 Refer to the California Code of Regulations, Title 5,
Division 1, Chapter 19, Subchapter 2.5, Sections
18074 to 18076.3 for the Utilization of the Regional
Market Rate Ceiling.

HANDBOOK ENDS HERE

.13 Payment Basis Counties shall calculate payments for child care on a
monthly basis, weekly basis, daily basis or hourly
basis, depending on the client's needs and the
contractual terms used by the child care provider to
charge other members of the public receiving the
same services.

.2 Payment Limits Payment for Stage One child care services shall not
exceed the fee charged to other members of the
public receiving the same service.

.21 Exception to Payment Limits Counties shall not be bound by the rate limit
described in Section 47-401.1 when there are, in the
region, no more than two child care providers of the
type needed by the recipient of child care services
provided under this Division.
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47-401 (Cont.)

CALWORKS CHILD CARE
PAYMENT FOR CHILD CARE SERVICES Regulations

47-401

CHILD CARE PAYMENT LIMITS

(Continued)

.3 Co-Payment

A4 Hours of Care

41

42

43

44

45

Participation Hours

Work Hours
Commute Hours
Il Child

Services Provided During
Excused Absences

47-401

A client may choose a child care provider who
charges a fee higher than the maximum payment
rate. The county shall not pay those child care costs
that are in excess of the maximum payment rate.
The client is responsible for those costs.

The county shall pay for child care on behalf of the
client during the following times:

When a client is participating in county-approved
activities;

When the client is working;
When the client commutes;

When a child is ill and requires care from an
alternate child care provider;

During excused absences of the child or the client.

HANDBOOK BEGINS HERE

451  Excused Absences

452  Fixed Schedule

Excused absences may include, but are not limited to,
illness or quarantine of the child or client, court
ordered visitations, family emergencies, or court
appearances.

Payment for absences may include payments to the
child care provider who has a policy that child care
is on a fixed schedule, whether the child attends or
not.

HANDBOOK ENDS HERE

46  Other Required Activities

At county options when care is necessary for other
required activities.
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CALWORKS CHILD CARE

Regulations PAYMENT FOR CHILD CARE SERVICES

47-401 (Cont.)

47-401 CHILD CARE PAYMENT LIMITS (Continued) 47-401

.5 Exceptions to Hours of Care
.51 School Attendance

.52 Other Subsidized Programs

.6 Registration Fee

.61 Maximum Payment Rate

.7 Family Fees

.71 Exemption From Family Fee

.711  Children at Risk

.712  Children Receiving

Child Protective services

.713  Cumulative Exemption

Period.

The county shall not pay for child care during:
Time the child is attending school; or

Time the child is receiving care in other subsidized
child care programs except for the condition
described in Sections 47-401.44 and .45 above.

The county shall pay registration fees charged by
child care providers, as long as these fees are the
same as those charged to other members of the
public for the same purpose.

The registration fee plus the regular charge for child
care for that month shall not exceed the maximum
payment rate.

Family fees, if any, shall be based on the fee
schedule established by the State and shall be paid
by the client, at county option, directly to the child
care provider or the county.

The county shall exempt from the family fee any
client whose child or children are:

At risk of abuse, neglect, or exploitation, as
determined by a legally qualified professional from a
legal, medical, or social services agency, or
emergency shelter, for a period of up to three
months; or

Receiving child protective services, at the request of
the child welfare services worker, for a period of up
to 12 months.

The cumulative time period for the fee exemption
for families specified in Sections 47-401.711 and
.712 shall not exceed 12 months.
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CALWORKS CHILD CARE
47-401 (Cont.) PAYMENT FOR CHILD CARE SERVICES Regulations

47-401 CHILD CARE PAYMENT LIMITS (Continued) 47-401

HANDBOOK BEGINS HERE

.8 Family Fee Schedule The Family Fee Schedule is established by the
Superintendent of Public Instruction pursuant to
Education Code Section 8263. Refer to the
California Code of Regulations, Title 5, Division 1,
Chapter 19, Subchapter 3, Article 5 for the
utilization of the family fee schedule.

HANDBOOK ENDS HERE

NOTE: Authority cited: Sections 10553 and 10554, Welfare and Institutions Code. Reference: 42
U.S.C. 9858¢c, 45 CFR 98.43; Budget Act of 2006, Chapter 47, Statues of 2006, Item 6100-196-0001,
Provision 2(b); Sections 8202(g)(3), 8208, 8208.1, 8221, 8222, 8263, 8351, and 8357, Education Code;
And Sections 11320.3, 11323.2, 11323.4 and 11323.8, Welfare and Institutions Code.

47-420 PAYMENT OF CHILD CARE COSTS 47-420

.1 Child Care Payments to Providers The county shall issue child care payments on behalf
of the client directly to the child care provider except
as provided in Section 47-420.2.

.2 Child Care Payments to Clients Child care payments may be made directly to the
client, as the employer, if child care is provided in
the home of the client. The county shall inform the
client of his/her corresponding legal and financial
reporting requirements.

.21 Information Needed for The county shall issue a child care payment only
Payment when the client provides the following information
on a monthly basis:

211 Hours of Care Number of hours of care given per child.

212 Cost Per Child Cost per child as verified by the child care provider's
rate schedule.

213 Signatures Signatures provided by both the child care provider
and the client under penalty of perjury, verifying the
accuracy of the information.
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