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Renumber Title 22, Division 6, Chapter 7.5, Article 1. to Title 22, Division 6, Chapter 9.5,
Article 1; and Section 87000 to new Section 89200 and amend to read:

TITLE 22, DIVISION 6

CHAPTER 7.5 9.5  FOSTER FAMILY HOMES

Article 1.  GENERAL REQUIREMENTS, AND DEFINITIONS, AND FORMS

8709200 General 8709200

(a) The licensee caregiver shall ensure compliance with all applicable law and regulations.

(b) The provisions of Chapter 1, General Licensing Requirements shall not apply to Chapter
79.5, Foster Family Homes.

Authority cited: Sections 1530 and 1530.5, Health and Safety Code.; and Section 21 of
Assembly Bill (AB) 1695 (Chapter 653, Statutes of 2001).

Reference: Sections 1501, 1502, 1530, 1530.5 and 1531, Health and Safety Code.
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Renumber Section 87001 to new Section 89201 and amend to read:

8709201 Definitions 8709201

The following definitions shall apply whenever the terms are used throughout this chapter.

(a.) (1) (Continued)

(3) "Approval Agency" means the child-placing agency that has the responsibility to
approve the homes of relative and nonrelative extended family members as meeting
the same standards as those set forth in Article 3 of this chapter.

(4) "Approved Home" means the home of a relative or nonrelative extended family
member that is exempt from licensure and is approved as meeting the same standards
as those set forth in Article 3 of this chapter.

(35) "Authorized Representative" means any person or entity authorized by law to act on
behalf of any child.  Such person or entity may include but not be limited to a
minor's parent, a legal guardian, a conservator or a public placement agency.

(b.) (1) "Basic Rate" means the rate charged by a facility home to provide basic services.
For SSI/SSP recipients, the basic rate means the established nonmedical out-of-home
care rate which includes any exempt income allowance but does not include that
amount allotted for the recipient's personal and incidental needs.  (Continued)

(c.) (1) "California Department of Justice Clearance" means an individual has no felony or
misdemeanor convictions, other than a minor traffic violation, reported by the
California Department of Justice.

(12) "Capacity"  (Continued)

(23) "Care and Supervision" means any one or more of the following activities provided
by a licensee caregiver to meet the needs of the children:  (Continued)

(B) Assistance with taking medication, as specified in Section 8709475(c).

(C) Central storing and/or distribution of medications, as specified in Section
8709475(c).  (Continued)

(I) Providing basic services as defined in Section 8709201(b.)(2).

(4) "Caregiver" for the purpose of this chapter means, the licensed/approved individual
having the authority and responsibility for the operation of a home.
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(5) "Caregiver's Family" means any relative, as defined in Section 89201(r)(1), or
adopted children or persons under guardianship or conservatorship of the caregiver,
or the caregiver's spouse, who reside in the home.

(36) "Cash Resources" means:  (Continued)

(4) "Certified License Pending Home" means a home which has a foster family home
license application pending and which has been certified for placement of specific
children only, pursuant to Section 87007.1.

(57) "Child" means a person who is under 18 years of age or a person up to 19 years of
age, who meets the requirements of Section 11403 of the Welfare and Institutions
Code, who is being provided care and supervision in a foster family home, except
where specified otherwise in this chapter.

HANDBOOK BEGINS HERE

(A) Welfare and Institutions Code Section 11403 provides:

"A child who is in foster care and receiving aid pursuant to this chapter and
who is attending high school or the equivalent level of vocational or technical
training on a full-time basis prior to his or her 18th birthday, may continue to
receive aid following his or her 18th birthday so long as the child continues to
reside in foster care placement, remains otherwise eligible for AFDC-FC
payments, and continues to attend high school or the equivalent level of
vocational or technical training on a full-time basis and the child may
reasonably be expected to complete the educational or training program before
his or her 19th birthday. Aid shall be provided such an individual pursuant to
this section provided both the individual and the agency responsible for the
foster care placement have signed a mutual agreement, if the individual is
capable of making an informed agreement, which documents the continued
need for out-of-home placement."

HANDBOOK ENDS HERE

(8) "Child Abuse Central Index" (CACI) means the California Department of Justice
maintained statewide, multi-jurisdictional, centralized index of child abuse
investigation reports.  These reports pertain to alleged incidents of physical abuse,
sexual abuse, mental/emotional abuse and/or severe neglect.  Each child protection
agency (police, sheriff, county welfare and probation departments) is required by law
to forward to the California Department of Justice a report of every child abuse
incident it investigates, unless an incident is determined to be unfounded.
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(9) "Child Abuse Central Index (CACI) Clearance" means that the California
Department of Justice has conducted a name search of the index and the search did
not result in a match, or if there is a match the allegation(s) was not substantiated by
the Department after independent  review and investigation pursuant to Section
1522.1 of the Health and Safety Code.

(610) "Child with Special Health Care Needs" means a child who is under 18 years of age
or a person up to 22 years of age or younger, who meets the requirements of Section
17710(a) of the Welfare and Institutions Code and all of the following conditions:
(Continued)

(B) (Continued)

3. (Continued)

HANDBOOK BEGINS HERE

(C) Welfare and Institutions Code Section 17710(a) provides:

"'Child with special health care needs' means a child, or a person who is 22
years of age or younger who is completing a publicly funded education
program, who has a condition that can rapidly deteriorate resulting in
permanent injury or death or who has a medical condition that requires
specialized in-home health care, and who either has been adjudged a
dependent of the court pursuant to Section 300, has not been adjudged a
dependent of the court pursuant to Section 300 but is in the custody of the
county welfare department, or has a developmental disability and is receiving
services and case management from a regional center."

HANDBOOK ENDS HERE

(711) "Completed Application" means:

(A) The applicant has submitted and the licensing agency has received, all required
materials, including an approved fire clearance, if applicable, from the State
Fire Marshal local fire authority having jurisdiction, a CACI clearance, and a
California criminal record clearance or exemption, or evidence of compliance
with FBI requirements as specified in Section 1522(d)(1)(D) of the Health and
Safety Code on the applicant and any other individuals specified in Section
8709219.  (Continued)

(812) "Conservator" means a person appointed by the Superior Court pursuant to the
provisions of commencing with Section 1800 et seq. of the Probate Code or Section
5350 of the Welfare and Institutions Code, to care for the person, or estate, or person
and estate, of another.
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(913) "Control of Property" means the legal right to enter, occupy, and maintain the
operation of the facility property within regulatory requirements.  Evidence of
control of property may include, but is not limited to the following: home as verified
by documentation provided upon request of the Department.

(A) a Grant Deed showing ownership; or

(B) the lease agreement or rental agreement; or

(C) a court order or similar document which shows the authority to control the
property pending outcome of a probate proceeding or an estate settlement.

(14) "Conviction" means:

(A) A criminal conviction in California; or

(B) Any criminal conviction of another state, federal, military or other jurisdiction,
which if committed or attempted in California, would have been punishable as a
crime in California.

(15) "Criminal Record Clearance" means an individual has a California Department of
Justice clearance and an FBI clearance or evidence of compliance with FBI
requirements as specified in Section 1522(d)(1)(D) of the Health and Safety Code.

(d.) (1) "Deficiency" means any failure to comply with any provision of the Community
Care Facilities Act commencing with Section 1500 of the (Health and Safety Code
1500 et seq.) and/or regulations adopted by the dDepartment pursuant to the Act.

(2) "Department" is defined in Section 1502(b) of the Health and Safety Code Section
1502(b). as the State Department of Social Services.

HANDBOOK BEGINS HERE

(Department means the State Department of Social Services.)

HANDBOOK ENDS HERE

(3) "Director" is defined in Section 1502(c) of the Health and Safety Code Section
1502(c). as the Director of the State Department of Social Services.

HANDBOOK BEGINS HERE

(Director means the Director of the State Department of Social Services.)

HANDBOOK ENDS HERE
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(4) "Disability" means a condition which that makes a child developmentally disabled,
mentally disordered or physically handicapped, and for whom special care and
supervision is required as a result of his/her condition.

(5) "Documented Alternative Plan (DAP)" means a written plan, reviewed and approved
by the licensing or approval worker on a case-by-case basis as a plan that is an
alternative, but equally protective manner of meeting the intent of specified
regulations in Article 3 of this chapter.

(e.) (1) "Evaluator" means any person who is a duly authorized officer, employee or agent of
the dDepartment, including any officer, employee or agent of a county or other
public agency authorized by the dDepartment to license homes.

(2) "Emergency Approval to Operate" (LIC 9117 4/93) (EAO) means a temporary
approval to operate a facility for no more than 60 days pending the Department's
decision on whether to approve or deny a provisional license.

(32) "Evidence of Licensee Caregiver's Death" shall include, but is not limited to, a copy
of the death certificate, obituary notice, certification of death from the decedent's
mortuary or a letter from the attending physician or coroner's office verifying the
Licensee caregiver's death.

(43) "Exception" means a child-specific, nontransferable, written authorization issued by
the licensing agency to use alternative means which meet that approves an equally
protective manner of complying with the intent of a specific regulation(s) and which
are based on documentation of the unique needs or circumstances of a specific child
placed in the home.  Exceptions are granted for a particular child and cannot be
transferred or applied to other children or other facilities homes or licensees
caregivers.  Exception does not apply to Article 3 of this chapter.

(54) "Exemption" means an exception to the requirements of the granting of an
exemption to the disqualification for a license, employment or presence in a home,
as allowed under Section 1522(g) of the Health and Safety Code Section 1522, for an
individual who does not have a criminal records clearance.  An Eexemptions are is
not transferable, except as provided in Section 89219.1(p).

HANDBOOK BEGINS HERE

(A) Health and Safety Code Section 1522(g)(1) reads in part:

"After review of the record, the director may grant an exemption from
disqualification for a license or special permit as specified in paragraphs (1)
and (4) of subdivision (a), or for a license, special permit, or certificate of
approval as specified in paragraphs (4) and (5) of subdivision (d), or for
employment, residence, or presence in a community care facility as specified
in paragraphs (3), (4), and (5) of subdivision (c), if the director has substantial
and convincing evidence to support a reasonable belief that the applicant and
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the person convicted of the crime, if other than the applicant, are of such good
character as to justify issuance of the license or special permit or granting an
exemption for purposes of subdivision (c). . ."

HANDBOOK ENDS HERE

(6) "Existing Facility" means a home operating under a valid, unexpired license on the
date this chapter becomes effective.

(f.) (1) "Family Health Care" means health care which does not require the skills of
qualified technical or professional personnel and is provided to a child by the foster
parent in accordance with Section 8709475(g), Health Related Services.  When these
requirements are met, the family health care that may be provided includes, but is not
limited to the following:  (Continued)

(F) Assistance with other procedures such as injections where not otherwise
prohibited by law.

(2) "Federal Bureau of Investigation (FBI) Clearance" means an individual has no
felony or misdemeanor convictions, other than a minor traffic violation, reported by
the FBI.

(23) "Foster Family Home" means any home where the caregiver, in their own home,
which 24-hour provides care and supervision are provided in a family setting in the
licensee's family residence for not more than six or fewer foster children, and the
caregiver has control of the property.  This also includes sibling care exclusive of
members of the licensee family.  The total number of foster children may be
increased to 8 or more for up to eight children provided the requirements of provided
the requirements of Section 87020 (Fire Clearance) and the special conditions in
Section 1505.2 of the Health and Safety Code are met.  (Continued)

(g.) (1) "Guardian" means a person appointed by the Superior Court pursuant to the
provisions of commencing with Section 1500 et seq. of the Probate Code or Section
360 of the Welfare and Institutions Code to care for the person, or estate, or the
person and estate, of another.

(h.) (1) "Health Care Professional" (Continued)

(2) "Home" means for the purpose of this chapter a licensed Foster Family Home.

(i.) (1) "Independent Living Program (ILP)" means the program authorized under 42 USC
Section 677 of the Social Security Act for services and activities to assist children
age 16 or older in foster care to make the transition from foster care to independent
living.

(12) "Individualized Health Care Plan" (Continued)
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(23) "Individualized Health Care Plan Team" means those individuals who develop an
individualized health care plan for a child with special health care needs, which must
include the child's primary care physician or other health care professional
designated by the physician, any involved medical team, the county social worker or
regional center caseworker, and any health care professional designated to monitor
the specialized in-home health care provided to the child pursuant to the child's
individualized health care plan.  The individualized health care plan team may
include, but shall not be limited to, a public health nurse, representatives from the
California Children's Services Program or the Child Health and Disability Prevention
Program, regional centers, the county mental health department and where
reunification is the goal, the parent or parents, if available.  In addition, the
individualized health care plan team may include the prospective specialized
licensee who caregiver, but that caregiver shall not participate in any team
determination required by Sections 8709510.1(a)(1)(C), and 8709565.1(a)(1)(B).

(34) "Infant"  (Continued)

(j.) (Continued)

(k.) (Continued)

(l.) (1) "License" means authorization to operate a home and to provide care and
supervision. The license cannot be transferred to another person or location.

(2) "Licensee" means the individual having the authority and responsibility for the
operation of a home.

(3) "Licensee's Family" means any relative, as defined in 87001r.(1), or adopted children
or persons under guardianship or conservatorship, of the licensee, or the licensee's
spouse, who reside in the home.

(41) "Licensing Agency" means the State Department of Social Services or any state,
county or other public agency authorized by the dDepartment to assume specified
licensing responsibilities pursuant to Section 1511 of the Health and Safety Code.

(2) "Licensed Home" means a home that is licensed by Community Care Licensing in
accordance with the standards set forth in Article 3 of this chapter. The license
cannot be transferred to another person or location.

(m.) (1) "Medical Conditions Requiring Specialized In-Home Health Care" means provided
that care may be safely and adequately administered in the home:

(A) A dependency upon one or more of the following when, but for the fact that
trained foster parents may provide these services under Section 17736 of the
Welfare and Institutions Code Section 17736, the skills of qualified technical
or professional personnel would be required: Enteral feeding tube, total
parenteral feeding, a cardiorespiratory monitor, intravenous therapy, a
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ventilator, oxygen support, urinary catheterization, renal dialysis, ministrations
imposed by tracheostomy, colostomy, ileostomy, ileal conduit or other medical
or surgical procedures or special medication regimens, including injection and
intravenous medication; or  (Continued)

(2) "Medical Professional" means a Health Care Professional.

(n.) (1) "Needs and Services Plan" means a time-limited, goal-oriented written plan which
identifies the specific needs of an individual child, including the items specified in
Section 87068.2, and delineates those services necessary in order to meet the child's
identified needs.  This plan shall contain at a minimum the information required in
Section 89370 and information on the background and needs of the child that the
placing social worker deems necessary for the effective care of the child. This may
include a social work assessment, medical reports, educational assessment, and
identification of special needs when necessary.

(2) "Nonrelative Extended Family Member" means any adult caregiver who has an
established familial or mentoring relationship with the child pursuant to Section
362.7 of the Welfare and Institutions Code.

HANDBOOK BEGINS HERE

(A) Welfare and Institutions Code Section 362.7 provides:

"When the home of a nonrelative extended family member is being considered
for placement of a child, the home shall be evaluated, and approval of that
home shall be granted or denied, pursuant to the same standards set forth in the
regulations for the licensing of foster family homes which prescribe standards
of safety and sanitation for the physical plant and standards for basic personal
care, supervision, and services provided by the caregiver.

"A 'nonrelative extended family member' is defined as any adult caregiver who
has an established familial or mentoring relationship with the child. The
county welfare department shall verify the existence of a relationship through
interviews with the parent and child or with one or more third parties. The
parties may include relatives of the child, teachers, medical professionals,
clergy, neighbors, and family friends."

HANDBOOK ENDS HERE

(23) "Nonambulatory Person" means a person as defined in Section 13131 of the Health
and Safety Code Section 13131.

(A) A person who uses postural supports as specified in Section 8709372(a)(7), is
nonambulatory.  (Continued)

HANDBOOK BEGINS HERE
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(C) Health and Safety Code Section 13131 provides:

"'Nonambulatory persons"' means persons unable to leave a building
unassisted under emergency conditions. It includes any person who is unable,
or likely to be unable, to physically and mentally respond to a sensory signal
approved by the State Fire Marshal, or an oral instruction relating to fire
danger, and persons who depend upon mechanical aids such as crutches,
walkers, and wheelchairs. The determination of ambulatory or nonambulatory
status of persons with developmental disabilities shall be made by the Director
of Social Services or his or her designated representative, in consultation with
the Director of Developmental Services or his or her designated representative.
The determination of ambulatory or nonambulatory status of all other disabled
persons placed after January 1, 1984, who are not developmentally disabled
shall be made by the Director of Social Services, or his or her designated
representative."

HANDBOOK ENDS HERE

(o.) (Reserved)

(p.) (1) (Continued)

(4) "Provision" or "Provide" means whenever any regulation requires that provision be
made for or that there be provided any service, personnel, or other requirement, the
licensee caregiver shall do so directly or present evidence to the licensing agency
that the requirement has been met by some other means.

(5) "Provisional License" means a license which is temporary, nonrenewable and issued
for a period not to exceed twelve months which is issued in accordance with the
criteria specified in Section 87030.

(q.) (Reserved)

(r.) (1) "Rehabilitation" means that period of time, together with any education, counseling
or therapy, training, stable employment, restitution, remorse, changes in lifestyle, or
community service, which assist an individual in reestablishing good character.

(12) "Relative" means:  (Continued)

(s.) (1) "Serious Deficiency" (Continued)

(3) "Specialized Foster Family Home" means a licensed foster family home which
provides specialized in-home health care to children pursuant to Section 1507 of the
Health and Safety Code and Section 17710(i) of the Welfare and Institutions Code.
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(4) "Specialized In-Home Health Care" means health care as defined in Section
17710(h) of the Welfare and Institutions Code, other than family health care,
identified by the child's primary physician as appropriately administered in the home
by a health care professional or by a foster parent trained by health care
professionals.  (Continued)

(6) "Substantial Compliance" means the absence of any serious deficiencies.

(t.) (Reserved)
(1) "Transitional Independent Living Plan (TILP)" means the portion of the child's case

plan that describes the programs and services, including employment and savings, as
appropriate, based on an assessment of the individual child's skills and abilities, that
will help the child prepare for transition from foster care to independent living.

(u.) (1) "Unlicensed Community Care Facility" means a facility as defined in Section 1503.5
of the Health and Safety Code Section 1503.5.

HANDBOOK BEGINS HERE

(A) Health and Safety Code Section 1503.5(a) provides in pertinent part:

A facility shall be deemed to be an "unlicensed community care facility" and
"maintained and operated to provide non-medical care" if it is unlicensed and
not exempt from licensure and any one of the following conditions is satisfied:
(Continued)

HANDBOOK ENDS HERE

(B) A facility home which is "providing care and supervision" as defined in
Section 8709201(c.)(2) includes, but is not limited to, one in which an
unemancipated minor has been placed for temporary or permanent care.

(C) A facility home which is "held out as or represented as providing care and
supervision" includes, but is not limited to:

(1) A facility home whose license which has been revoked or denied, as
follows:

a. a license, if licensed as a foster family home; or

b. an approval, if approved as a nonrelative extended family member
home; or

c. a certificate, if certified by a Foster Family Agency as a foster
home; and,
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d. but the individual continues to provide care for the same or
different clients with similar needs.

(2) A facility home where change of ownership has occurred and the same
clients are retained.

(3) A licensed facility home that moves to a new location.

(4) A facility home which advertises as providing care and supervision.

(D) A facility home which "accepts or retains residents who demonstrate the need
for care and supervision" includes, but is not limit to a facility home which
houses unemancipated minors, even though the facility home is providing
board and room only, or board only, or room only.

(v.) (1) "Ventilator-Dependent Child" means a child who for part or all of each day cannot
sustain ventilation spontaneously at a level sufficient to prevent death or the
development of life-threatening complications.

"Volunteer" means a person who provides gratuitous, non-essential services and
does not replace required staff.

(w.) (1) "Waiver" means a home-wide nontransferable written authorization issued by the
licensing agency to use alternative means which meet the that approves an equally
protective manner of complying with the intent of a specific regulation which are is
based on a facility-wide need or circumstance demonstration of the unique needs or
circumstances of the home.  Waiver does not apply to Article 3 of this chapter.

(x.) (Continued)

(y.) (Continued)

(z.) (Continued)

Authority Cited: Section 17730 Welfare and Institutions Code and Sections 1530 and 1530.5,
Health and Safety Code.; and Section 21 of Assembly Bill 1695 (Chapter 653,
Statutes of 2001).

Reference: Sections 319(d), 362.7, 11400, 11403, 16522, 17710, 17710(a), and (g), (h)
and (i), 17731, 17731(c) and 17736(a), Welfare and Institutions Code; and
Sections 1337, 1500, 1501, 1502, 1503, 1503.5, 1505, 1505.2, 1507, 1507.5,
1520, 1522, 1522.1 1524, 1524(e), 1526, 1526.5, 1527, 1530, 1530.5, 1530.6,
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1531, 1531.5, 1533, 1534, 1536.1, 1537, 1550, 1551, 1558, 1558.1, 1559.110,
1727(c), and 11834.11, and 13131,  Health and Safety Code.
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Adopt Section 89202 to read:

89202 Definitions - Forms 89202

The following forms, which are incorporated by reference, apply to the regulations in Title 22,
Division 6, Chapter 9.5 (Foster Family Homes).

(a) LIC 198 (2/01) – Child Abuse Central Index Check for County Licensed Facilities.

(b) LIC 198A (3/99) – Child Abuse Central Index Check for State Licensed Facilities.

(c) LIC 508 (3/02) – Criminal Record Statement.

(d) LIC 9182 (4/02) – Criminal Background Clearance Transfer Request.

(e) LIC 9188 (3/02) – Criminal Record Exemption Transfer Request.

Authority Cited: Section 1530, Health and Safety Code and Section 21 of Assembly Bill 1695
(Chapter 653, Statutes of 2001).

Reference: Sections 1522 and 1522.1, Health and Safety Code.



15

Renumber Chapter 7.5, Article 2., to new Chapter 9.5, Article 2., and Section 87005 to new
Section 89205 and amend to read:

Article 2.  LICENSING ADMINISTRATIVE

8709205 License Required 8709205

Unless a home is exempt from licensure as specified in Section 8709207, no individual shall
operate, establish, manage, conduct or maintain a foster family home, or hold out, advertise or
represent by any means to do so, without first obtaining a current valid license from the licensing
agency.

Authority cited: Sections 1530, and 1530.5, and 1531, Health and Safety Code.; and Section 21
of Assembly Bill (AB) 1695 (Chapter 653, Statutes of 2001).

Reference: Sections 1501, 1503, 1503.5, 1505, 1508, 1509, 1513, 1524, and 1531, 1536.1,
1540, 1540.1, 1541, and 1547, Health and Safety Code.
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Renumber Section 87006 to new Section 89206 and amend to read:

8709206 Operation Without a License 8709206

(a) An unlicensed home is facility as defined in Section 8709201u.(1), is in violation of
Sections 1503.5 and/or 1508 of the Health and Safety Code unless exempted from
licensure pursuant to Section 1505 of the Health and Safety Code Section 1505 or Section
8709207 of this chapter.

(b) If the home facility is alleged to be in violation of Sections 1503.5 and/or 1508 of the
Health and Safety Code, the licensing agency shall conduct a site visit, and/or an
evaluation of the home pursuant to Section 1533 of the Health and Safety Code 1533 and
1538.

HANDBOOK BEGINS HERE

(1) Health and Safety Code Section 1538(c) 1533 provides in pertinent part:

Upon receipt of a complaint, other than a complaint alleging denial of a statutory
right to access to a community care facility, the state department shall make a
preliminary review and, unless the state department determines that the complaint is
willfully intended to harass a licensee or is without any reasonable basis, it shall
make an onsite inspection within 10 days after receiving the complaint, except where
a visit would adversely affect the licensing investigation or the investigation of other
agencies.  In either event, the complainant shall be promptly informed of the state
department's proposed course of action.  Except as otherwise provided in this
section, any duly authorized officer, employee, or agent of the State Department of
Social Services may, upon presentation of proper identification, enter and inspect
any place providing personal care, supervision, and services at any time, with or
without advance notice, to secure compliance with, or to prevent a violation of, any
provision of this chapter.

HANDBOOK ENDS HERE

(c) (Continued)

(d) The licensing agency shall issue an immediate civil penalty pursuant to Section 8709255
and Section 1547 of the Health and Safety Code.

HANDBOOK BEGINS HERE

(1) Section 1547 of the Health and Safety Code provides in part:

Notwithstanding any other provision of this chapter, any person who violates Section
1503.5 or 1508, or both, may be assessed by the department an immediate civil
penalty in the amount of two hundred dollars ($200) per day of violation.
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The civil penalty … shall be imposed if an unlicensed facility is operated and the
operator refuses to seek licensure or the licensure application is denied and the
operator continues to operate the unlicensed facility.

HANDBOOK ENDS HERE

(e) Sections 8709206(c) and (d) shall be applied pursuant to Section 1549 of the Health and
Safety Code.  (Continued)

(f) The licensing agency shall notify the appropriate placement or protective service agency if
either of the following conditions exist:  (Continued)

(2) The facility home does not submit an application for licensure within 15 calendar
days of being served a notice of operation in violation of the law.

Authority Cited: Sections 1530, and 1530.5, and 1531, Health and Safety Code.; and Section 21
of Assembly Bill (AB) 1695 (Chapter 653, Statutes of 2001).

Reference: Sections 1503, 1503.5, 1505, 1508, 1524, 1533, 1536.1, 1538, 1540, 1540.1,
1541, 1547 and 1549, Health and Safety Code.
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Renumber Section 87007 to new Section 89207 and amend to read:

8709207 Exemption from Licensure 8709207

(a) The provisions of this chapter shall not apply to the following: those facilities and
arrangements specified in Section 1505 of the Health and Safety Code.

(1) Any health facility, as defined by Section 1250 of the Health and Safety Code.

(2) Any clinic, as defined by Section 1202 of the Health and Safety Code.

(3) Any family day care home providing care for the children of only one family, in
addition to the operator's own children.

(4) Any juvenile placement facility approved by the California Youth Authority or any
juvenile hall operated by a county.

(5) Any facility conducted by and for the adherents of any well-recognized church or
religious denomination for the purpose of providing facilities for the care or treatment
of the sick who depend on prayer or spiritual means for healing in the practice of the
religion of such church or denomination.

(6)(A) through (H)  (Renumbered to Sections 89207(b)(1) through (9)

(7) Any house, institution, hotel, or other similar place that supplies board and room
only, or room only, or board only, which provides no element of care and
supervision, as defined in Section 87001c.(2).

(8) Any recovery houses or other similar facility providing a group living arrangement
for persons recovering from alcoholism or drug addiction which provides no element
of care and supervision, as defined in Section 87001c.(2).

(9) Any cooperative arrangement between parents for the day care of their children by
one or more of the parents where no payment for the day care is involved, including
but not limited to the exchange of child day care services between two or more
families.

(10) Renumbered to Section 89207(c)(5)
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HANDBOOK BEGINS HERE

(A) Health and Safety Code Section 1505(k)

"...For purposes of this chapter, arrangements for the receiving and care of
persons by a relative shall include relatives of the child for the purpose of
keeping sibling groups together."

HANDBOOK ENDS HERE

(11) through (12) (Renumbered to Sections 89207(c)(1) through (2).)

(13) through (13)(C) (Renumbered to Sections 89207(c)(3) through (c)(3)(C).)

(14) through (14)(C) (Renumbered to Sections 89207(b)(4) through (b)(4)(C).)

(15) Any similar facility as determined by the Director.

HANDBOOK BEGINS HERE

(1) Health and Safety Code 1505 states in pertinent part:

This chapter does not apply to any of the following…

(a) …

(b) …

(c) Any juvenile placement facility approved by the California Youth Authority or
any juvenile hall operated by a county.

(d) Any place in which a juvenile is judicially placed pursuant to subdivision (a)
of Section 727 of the Welfare and Institutions Code.

(e) Any child day care facility, as defined in Section 1596.750.

(f) Any facility conducted by and for the adherents of any well-recognized church
or religious denomination for the purpose of providing facilities for the care or
treatment of the sick who depend upon prayer or spiritual means for healing in
the practice of the religion of such church or denomination.

(g) Any school dormitory or similar facility determined by the Department.

(h) Any house, institution, hotel, homeless shelter, or other similar place that
supplies board and room only, or room only, or board only, provided that no
resident thereof requires any element of care as determined by the Director.
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(i) Recovery houses or other similar facilities providing a group living
arrangement for persons recovering from alcoholism or drug addiction which
provides no care or supervision.

(j) Any alcoholism or drug abuse recovery or treatment facility as defined by
Section 11834.11.

(k) Any arrangement for the receiving and care of persons by a relative or any
arrangement for the receiving and care of persons from only one family by a
close friend of the parent, guardian, or conservator, if the arrangement is not
for financial profit and occurs only occasionally and irregularly, as defined by
regulations of the department.  For purposes of this chapter, arrangements for
the receiving and care of persons by a relative shall include relatives of the
child for the purpose of keeping sibling groups together.

(l) (1) Any home of a relative caregiver of children who are placed by a
juvenile court, supervised by the county welfare or probation
department, and the placement of whom is approved according to
subdivision (d) of Section 309 of the Welfare and Institutions Code.

(2) Any home of a nonrelative extended family member, as described in
Section 362.7 of the Welfare and Institutions code, providing care to
children who are placed by a juvenile court, supervised by the county
welfare or probations department, and the placement of whom is
approved according to subdivision (d) of Section 309 of the Welfare and
Institutions Code.

(m) …

(n) Any facility in which only Indian children who are eligible under the federal
Indian Child Welfare Act, Chapter 21 (commencing with Section 1901) of
Title 25 of the United States Code are place and that is one of the following:

(1) An extended family member of the Indian child, as defined in Section
1903 of Title 25 of the United States Code.

(2) A foster home that is licensed, approved, or specified by the Indian
child's tribe pursuant to Section 1915 of Title 25 of the United States
Code.

(o) …

(p) Any similar facility determined by the director.

HANDBOOK ENDS HERE

(a)(6)
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(b) The provisions of this chapter shall not apply to Aany school dormitory or similar facility
where all of the following conditions exist:

(A1) (Continued)

(B2) (Continued)

(C3) (Continued)

(D4) (Continued)

(E5) (Continued)

(F6) (Continued)

(G7) (Continued)

(H8) (Continued)

(I9) (Continued)

(c) The provisions of this chapter shall not apply to the following additional situations:

(a) (11) (Continued)

(12) Any facility home exclusively used by a licensed or exempt homefinding Foster
Family aAgency and issued a certificate of approval by that agency.

(A) Such families shall not be required to obtain a license, but shall be in
compliance with all other requirements set forth in this division.  The facility
home's compliance with requirements shall be monitored through and assured
by the homefinding Foster Family aAgency.  For the purposes of this section,
an exclusive-use facility shall mean a nonlicensed residential facility that has
been approved by a licensed homefinding Foster Family aAgency as
conforming to the regulations pertaining to the Family Home Category.  A
facility home in the exclusive use of a licensed homefinding Foster Family
aAgency shall accept only those children placed by that agency which
approved the home.

(13) (Continued)

(C) (Continued)
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HANDBOOK BEGINS HERE

Being exempt from licensure does not preclude a home from being licensed.

HANDBOOK ENDS HERE

(14) (Continued)

(C) (Continued)

HANDBOOK BEGINS HERE

Being exempt from licensure does not preclude a home from being licensed.

HANDBOOK ENDS HERE

(105)(Continued)

Authority Cited: Sections 1530 and 1530.5, Health and Safety Code; Section 17730, Welfare
and Institutions Code; and Section 21 of Assembly Bill (AB) 1695 (Chapter
653, Statutes of 2001).

Reference: Sections 1503, 1503.5, 1505, 1505(k) and (l), 1506, 1508, 1524, 1530, 1530.5,
1531, 1536.1, 1540, 1540.1, 1541, and 1547, Health and Safety Code; Sections
226.2, 226.5 and 226.6, Civil Code; and Sections 319(d), 362, 727, and 16100,
17710(i), 17736, and 17736(b), Welfare and Institutions Code.
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Renumber Section 87009 to new Section 89209 and amend to read:

8709209 Availability of License 8709209

(a) The license shall be retained in the home and be available for review upon request.  The
licensing agency shall have the authority to request review of the license.

Authority Cited: Sections 1530 and 1530.5, Health and Safety Code.; and Section 21 of
Assembly Bill (AB) 1695 (Chapter 653, Statutes  of  2001).

Reference: Sections 1501, 1503, and 1531, Health and Safety Code.
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Renumber Section 87018 to new Section 89218 and amend to read:

8709218 Application for License 8709218

(a) Any adult desiring to obtain a license shall file, with the licensing agency, a verified
application on forms furnished by the licensing agency.  The licensing agency shall have
the authority to require any applicant desiring to obtain a license to file, with the licensing
agency, a verified application on forms furnished by the licensing agency and to provide
verification and/or documentation as requested by the licensing agency.

(b) The applicant/licenseecaregiver shall cooperate with the licensing agency in providing
verification and/or documentation as requested by the licensing agency.

(c) The application and supporting documents shall contain the following:  (Continued)

(3) A copy of document(s) that establish that the applicant has control of the property to
be licensed.

(34) (Continued)

(45) (Continued)

(56) Information required by Section 1520(d) of the Health and Safety Code Section
1520(d).

HANDBOOK BEGINS HERE

(A) Information regarding the applicant's prior or present service as a licensee, an
administrator, general partner, corporate officer or director, or beneficial
owner of 10 percent or more, of any community care facility or in any facility
licensed pursuant to Chapter 1, commencing with Section 1200, or Chapter 2,
commencing with Section 1250, of the Health and Safety Code.

HANDBOOK ENDS HERE

(67) Information required by Section 1520(e) of the Health and Safety Code Section
1520(e).

HANDBOOK BEGINS HERE

(A) Information regarding any revocation or temporary suspension action taken or
in the process of being taken against a license held or previously held by the
applicant or while the applicant served in any of the capacities specified in (5)
above.

HANDBOOK ENDS HERE
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(78) Name, address and telephone number of the city or county fire department, the
district providing fire protection services, or the State Fire Marshal's Office having
jurisdiction in the area where the facility home is located.

(8) A plan of operation as specified in Section 87022.

(9) Fingerprint cards and/or identifying information as specified in Section 8709319.

(10) Information required by Section 1522.1 of the Health and Safety Code Section
1522.1.

HANDBOOK BEGINS HERE

(A) Prior to granting a license to, or otherwise approving, any individual to care for
children, the department shall check the Child Abuse Registry pursuant to
paragraph (3) of subdivision (b) of Section 11170 of the Penal Code.  The
department shall investigate any reports received from the Child Abuse
Registry.  The investigation shall include, but not be limited to, the review of
the investigation report and file prepared by the child protective agency which
investigated the child abuse report.  The department shall not deny a license
based upon a report from the Child Abuse Registry unless child abuse is
substantiated.

HANDBOOK ENDS HERE

(11) The bonding affidavit specified in Section 87025.

(12) A health screening report on the applicant, meeting the standards required in Section
87065(d).

(131) (Continued)

(12) A statement whether or not the caregiver will handle the children's money, personal
property, and/or valuables.

(d) and (e) (Continued)

87036(a)
(f) No application/annual processing fee shall be charged to foster family homes.

Authority Cited: Sections 1530, and 1530.5, and 1531, Health and Safety Code.; and Section 21
of Assembly Bill (AB) 1695 ( Chapter 653, Statutes of 2001).
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Reference: Sections 1501, 1503, 1503.5, 1508, 1520, 1520.3, 1521.5, 1522, 1522.1,
1523.1, 1524, 1525.25, 1525.3, 1530.91, and 1531, 1531.4, 1536.1, 1540,
1540.1, 1541, 1547, and 1560, Health and Safety Code.
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Renumber Section 87019 to new Section 89219 and amend to read:

8709219 Criminal Record Clearance 8709219

(a) (Continued)

HANDBOOK BEGINS HERE

(1) (Continued)

(D) Any staff person, volunteer, or employee who has contact with the clients.
A volunteer shall be exempt from the requirements of this subdivision if
the volunteer is a relative of a client in care at the facility and is not used
to replace or supplant staff in providing direct care and supervision of
clients.

HANDBOOK ENDS HERE

(b) The following persons are exempt from the requirement to submit fingerprints:

(1) A medical professional, as defined by the Department in regulations, who holds a
valid license or certification from the individual's governing California medical
care regulatory entity and who is not employed, retained, or contracted by the
licensee caregiver, if all of the following apply:  (Continued)

(D) The individual is not a community care facility licensee foster family
home caregiver or an employee of the facility home.

(2) A third-party repair person, or similar retained contractor, if all of the following
apply:  (Continued)

(B) The individual is not left alone with clients foster children.

(C) When clients foster children are present in the room in which the
repairperson or contractor is working, a staff person who has a criminal
record clearance or exemption is also present.

(3) Employees of a licensed home health agency and other members of licensed
hospice interdisciplinary teams who have a contract with a client for a foster child
of the facility, and are in the facility home at the request of that client or
resident’s foster child's legal decision maker.

(A) The exemption shall not apply to a person who is a community care
facility licensee foster home caregiver or an employee of the facility
home.
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(4) Clergy and other spiritual caregivers who are performing services in common
areas of the residential care facility home, or who are advising an individual client
foster child at the request of, or with the permission of, the client foster child or
the child's legal decision maker.

(A) This exemption shall not apply to a person who is a community care
facility licensee foster family home caregiver or an employee of the
facility home.

(5) Members of fraternal, service and similar organizations who conduct group
activities for clients foster youth, if all of the following apply:

(A) Members are not left alone with the clients foster children.

(B) Members do not transport clients take foster children off from the facility
home premises.  (Continued)

(6) A volunteer, if all of the following apply:

(A) The volunteer is supervised by the licensee or a facility employee with a
criminal record clearance or exemption.

(B) The volunteer is never left alone with clients.

(C) The volunteer does not provide any client assistance with dressing,
grooming, bathing or personal hygiene other than washing of hands.

(76) The following persons in foster family homes and certified family homes:

(A) Adult friends and family of the licensee caregiver who come into the
home to visit, for a length of time no longer than one month, provided
they are not left alone with the children.

(7) (B) Parents of a child’s friends when the child is visiting the friend’s home
and the friend, foster parent caregiver or both are also present.

(8) Nothing in this paragraph shall prevent a licensee caregiver from requiring a
criminal record clearance of any individual exempt from the requirements of this
section, provided that the individual has client foster child contact.

(c) Prior to the Department issuing a license or special permit to any individual or
individuals to operate or manage a foster family home or certified family home, the
applicant, administrator, and any adults residing in the home shall, unless exempt under
Section 89219(b), obtain a California criminal record clearance or exemption, and shall
comply with FBI requirements as specified in Section 1522(d)(1)(D) of the Health and
Safety Code Section 1522(d)(1)(D).
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(d) Prior to presence in the home, the individuals specified in (a) shall, unless exempt under
89219(b), obtain a California criminal record clearance or exemption and shall comply
with FBI requirements as specified in Section 1522(d)(1)(D) of the  Health and Safety
Code.  (Continued)

(de) Prior to employment, residence or initial presence in a foster family home, all individuals
subject to criminal record review, in order to meet the requirements of Section 89219(c)
and (d), shall be fingerprinted and sign a declaration under penalty of perjury regarding
any prior criminal convictions and arrests for any crime against a child, spousal
cohabitant abuse, or for any crime for which the Department cannot grant an exemption.
The declaration shall acknowledge and explain criminal convictions and arrests.  The
declaration shall also acknowledge that his/her continued employment, residence, or
presence in the facility home is subject to approval of the Department.

(1) A foster family home applicant/licensee caregiver shall submit the fingerprints to
the California Department of Justice along with a second set of fingerprints for
the purpose of searching the records of the Federal Bureau of Investigation or to
and shall comply with Section 87019(d) 89219(e), prior to the individual's
employment, residence, or initial presence in the facility home.

(A) Fingerprints shall be submitted to the California Department of Justice by
the licensee caregiver or sent by electronic transmission to the California
Department of Justice by a fingerprinting entity approved by the
Department.

(B) A licensee's caregiver's failure to submit fingerprints to the California
Department of Justice or to comply with Section 87019(d) 89219(e) shall
result in the citation of a deficiency and an immediate assessment of civil
penalties of one hundred dollars ($100) per violation.

1. The licensee caregiver shall then submit the fingerprints to the
California Department of Justice for processing.

(g)(C) The Department shall notify the licensee caregiver of criminal records
clearances and where there is not a clearance, the Department shall notify
both the caregiver and the affected individual associated with the facility,
in concurrent, separate letters, that the affected individual has a criminal
conviction and needs to obtain a criminal record exemption.

(d)(2)
(f) To continue to be employed, reside, or be present in a community care facility home,

each individual shall: continue to meet the requirements of Sections 89219(c) and (d).

(A) Be exempted from fingerprinting by statute or regulation.

(B) Have a criminal record clearance or

(C) Have a criminal record exemption approved by the Department.
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(e) Unless otherwise exempted from the fingerprint requirements in Health and Safety Code
Section 1522(b), any staff person, volunteer, or employee who has client contact and any
resident, other than a client, must submit fingerprints.

(hg) If the criminal record transcript of any of the individuals specified in Health and Safety
Code Section 1522(b) discloses a plea or verdict of guilty or a conviction following a
plea of nolo contendere for any crime other than a minor traffic violation for which the
fine was less than $300, and an exemption pursuant to Section 80019.1(a) has not been
granted, the Department shall take the following actions:  (Continued)

(2) For current licensees caregivers, the Department may institute an administrative
action, including, but not limited to, revocation of the license.  (Continued)

(fh) An individual may request a A transfer of their a criminal record clearance from one state
licensed facility to another, or from TrustLine to a state licensed facility may be
requested by an individual or a caregiver by providing the following documents to the
Department:

(1) A signed written request to the Department Criminal Background Clearance
Transfer Request, LIC 9182.

(2) A copy of the individual's valid identification, such as:

(A) California driver's license,; or

(3) (B) A valid California identification card issued by the Department of Motor 
Vehicles,; or

(4) (C) A valid pPhoto identification issued by another state or the United States 
government if the individual is not a California resident.

(53) Any other documentation required by the Department (i.e., LIC 508, Criminal
Record Statement [Rev. 7/00] and job description).

(i) The licensee caregiver shall maintain documentation of criminal record clearances or
criminal record exemptions of employees and volunteers that require fingerprinting and
non-client adults residing in the facility home.

(1) Documentation shall be available for inspection by the Department.

Authority Cited: Sections 1530, and 1530.5, and 1531, Health and Safety Code.; and
Section 21 of Assembly Bill (AB) 1695 (Chapter 653, Statutes of 2001).

Reference: Section 729, Business and Professions Code; Sections 1501.1, 1520, 1522,
1522.01, 1522.04, 1524, and 1531, 1558, and 14564, Health and Safety
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Code; Section, 8712, Family Code; 15376, Government Code; and
Sections 136.1, 186.22, 187, 190 through 190.4 and 192(a), 203, 206, 207,
208, 209, 209.5, 210, 211, 212, 212.5, 213, 214, 215, 220, 243.4, 261(a),
(a)(1), (2), (3), (4) or (6), 262(a)(1) or (4), 264.1, 266, 266c, 266h(b),
266i(b), 266j, 267, 269, 272, 273a(a) [or 273a(1) if the conviction was
prior to January 1, 1994], 273d, 285, 286, 288, 288a, 288.2, 288.5(a), 289,
290(a), 311.2(b), (c) or (d), 311.3, 311.10, 311.11, 314(1) or (2), 347(a),
368(b) or (c) if after January 1, 1999, 417(b), 451(a) or (b), 460(a), 186.22
and 518, 647.6 or prior to 1987 former Section 647a, 653f(c), 664/187,
667.5(c)(7), 667.5(c)(8) 667.5(c)(13), 12308, 12309 or 12310,
667.5(c)(14), 207, 208, 209, 209.5 and 210, 667.5(c)(22), 12022.53, Penal
Code; and Section 42001, Vehicle Code.



32

Renumber Section 87019.1 to new Section 89219.1 and amend to read:

8709219.1 Criminal Record Exemption 8709219.1

(a) After a review of the criminal record transcript, the Department may grant an exemption
from disqualification for a license, employment or presence in a home pursuant to
Section 8709219(bg) or (c)(2) if:

(1) The applicant/licensee caregiver requests an exemption for himself or herself, or

(2) The applicant/licensee caregiver requests an exemption in writing for an
individual associated with the facility home, or

(3) The applicant/licensee caregiver chooses does not to seek an exemption on for the
affected individual's behalf, the affected individual may requests an individual
exemption in writing, if the conditions set forth in Section 1522(c)(5) of the
Health and Safety Code are met; and

HANDBOOK BEGINS HERE

(A) Section 1522(c)(5) of the Health and Safety Code provides:

(5)  Concurrently with notifying the licensee pursuant to paragraph (3), the
department shall notify the affected individual of his or her right to seek
an exemption pursuant to subdivision (g).  The individual may seek an
exemption only if the licensee terminates the person's employment or
removes the person from the facility after receiving notice from the
department pursuant to paragraph (3).

HANDBOOK ENDS HERE

(4) The affected individual presents substantial and convincing evidence satisfactory
to the Department that he/she has been rehabilitated and presently is of such good
character as to justify being issued or maintaining a license, employment,
presence, or residence in a licensed facility home.

(b) The Department shall consider factors including, but not limited to, the following as
evidence of good character and rehabilitation:

(1) The nature of the crime.

(2) Period of time since the crime was committed and number of offenses.

(3) Circumstances surrounding the commission of the crime that would demonstrate
the unlikelihood of that repetition is not likely.
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(4) Activities since conviction, including employment or participation in therapy or
education, that would indicate changed behavior.

(5) Granting by the Governor of a full and unconditional pardon.

(6) Character references.

(7) A certificate of rehabilitation from a superior court.

(8) Evidence of honesty and truthfulness as revealed in exemption application
documents and interviews.

(A) Documents include, but are not limited to:

1. A Criminal Record Statement (LIC 508, Criminal Record
Statement [Rev. 3/99]); and

2. The individual's written statement/explanation of the conviction
and the circumstances about surrounding the arrest.

(9) Evidence of honesty and truthfulness as revealed in the exemption application
interviews and conversations with between the individual or others and the
Department.

(c) No exemption shall be granted for a crime that is listed in Section 1522(g) of the Health
and Safety Code.

HANDBOOK BEGINS HERE

(c) Section 1522(g) of the Health and Safety Code provides in part:

(1) Except as otherwise provided in this subdivision, no exemption shall be granted
pursuant to this subdivision if the conviction was for any of the following
offenses:

(A) (i)  aAn offense specified in Section 220, 243.4, or 264.1, or subdivision
(a) of Section 273a, or prior to January 1, 1994, paragraph (1) of Section
273a, Sections 273d, 288, 289 or subdivision (a) or (b) of Section 368 of
the Penal Code, or was a conviction of another crime against an individual
specified in subdivision (c) of Section 667.5 of the Penal Code.

(ii)  Notwithstanding clause (i), Tthe director may grant an exemption
regarding the conviction for an offense described in paragraph (1), (2), (7)
or (8) of subdivision (c) of Section 667.5 of the Penal Code, if the
employee or prospective employee who was convicted of a crime against
an individual in paragraph (1), (2), (7), or (8) of subdivision (c) of Section
667.5 of the Penal Code, has been rehabilitated as provided in Section
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4852.03 of the Penal Code and has maintained the conduct required in
Section 4852.05 of the Penal Code for at least 10 years and has the
recommendation of the district attorney representing the employee's
county of residence, or if the employee or prospective employee has
received a certification of rehabilitation pursuant to Chapter 3.5
(commencing with Section 4852.01) of Title 6 of Part 3 of the Penal Code.

(B) A felony offense specified in Section 729 of the Business and Professions
Code or Section 206 or 215, subdivision (a) of Section 347, subdivision
(b) of Section 417, or subdivision (a) of Section 451 of the Penal Code.

Health and Safety Code Section 1522(g)(1) lists or refers to convictions
for crimes for which no exemptions are llowed.  These crimes are
identified below:

1. Penal Code Sections 186.22 and 136.1 – Gang related/Intimidation
of witnesses or victims.

2. Penal Code Sections 187, 190 through 190.4 and 192(a) – Any
murder/Attempted murder/Voluntary manslaughter.

3. Penal Code Section 203 – Any mayhem.

4. Penal Code Section 206 – Felony torture.

5. Penal Code Sections 207, 208, 209, 209.5, 210 – Kidnapping.

6. Penal Code Sections 211, 212, 212.5, 213, 214 – Any robbery.

7. Penal Code Section 215 – Carjacking.

8. Penal Code Section 220 – Assault with intent to commit mayhem,
rape, sodomy or oral copulation.

9. Penal Code Section 243.4 –  Sexual battery.

10. Penal Code Section 261(a), (a)(1), (2), (3), (4) or (6) – Rape.

11. Penal Code Section 262(a)(1) or (4) – Rape of a spouse.

12. Penal Code Section 264.1 –  Rape in concert.

13. Penal Code Section 266 – Enticing a minor into prostitution.

14. Penal Code Section 266c – Induce to sexual intercourse, etc. by
fear or consent through fraud.
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15. Penal Code Section 266h(b) – Pimping a minor.

16. Penal Code Section 266i(b) – Pandering a minor.

17. Penal Code Section 266j – Providing a minor under 16 for lewd or
lascivious act.

18. Penal Code Section 267 – Abduction for prostitution.

19. Penal Code Section 269 – Aggravated assault of a child.

20. Penal Code Section 272 – Contributing to the delinquency of a
minor (must involve lewd or lascivious conduct).

21. Penal Code Sections 273a(a) [or 273a(1) if the conviction was
prior to January 1, 1994] –  Willfully causing or permitting any
child to suffer under circumstances or conditions likely to produce
great bodily harm or death.

22. Penal Code Section 273d – Willfully inflicting any cruel or
inhuman corporal punishment or injury on a child.

23. Penal Code Section 285 – Incest.

24. Penal Code Section 286 – Sodomy.

25. Penal Code Section 288 – Lewd or lascivious act upon a child
under 14.

26. Penal Code Section 288a – Oral copulation.

27. Penal Code Section 288.2 – Felony conviction for distributing
lewd material to children.

28. Penal Code Section 288.5(a) – Continuous sexual abuse of a child.

29. Penal Code Section 289 – Genital or anal penetration or abuse by
any foreign or unknown object.

30. Penal Code Section 290(a) – All crimes for which one must
register as a sex offender including attempts and not guilty by
insanity.

31. Penal Code Section 311.2(b), (c) or (d) – Transporting or
distributing child-related pornography.

32. Penal Code Section 311.3 – Sexual exploitation of a child.
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33. Penal Code Section 311.4 – Using a minor to assist in making or
distributing child pornography.

34. Penal Code Section 311.10 – Advertising or distributing child
pornography.

35. Penal Code Section 311.11 – Possessing child pornography.

36. Penal Code Sections 314(1) or (2) – Lewd or obscene exposure of
private parts.

37. Penal Code Section 347(a) – Poisoning or adulterating food, drink,
medicine, pharmaceutical products, spring, well, reservoir or
public water supply.

38. Penal Code Section 368(b) or (c) if after January 1, 1999 –  Elder
or dependent adult abuse.

39. Penal Code Section 417(b) – Drawing, exhibiting or using a loaded
firearm.

40. Penal Code Section 451(a) or (b) – Arson.

41. Penal Code Section 460(a) – First degree burglary.

42. Penal Code Sections 186.22 and 518 – Gang related/Extortion.

43. Penal Code Section 647.6 or prior to 1987 former Section 647a –
Annoy or molest a child under 18.

44. Penal Code Section 653f(c) – Solicit another to commit rape,
sodomy, etc.

45. Penal Code Sections 664/187 – Any attempted murder.

46. Penal Code Section 667.5(c)(7) –  Any felony punishable by death
or imprisonment in the state prison for life.

47. Penal Code Section 667.5(c)(8) – Enhancement for any felony
which inflicts great bodily injury.

48. Penal Code Section 667.5(c)(13) – Enhancement for violation of
Penal Code Section 12308, 12309 or 12310 – exploding or igniting
or attempting to explode or ignite any destructive device or
explosive with intent to commit murder.
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49. Penal Code Section 667.5(c)(14) - Any kidnapping – Penal Code
Sections 207, 208, 209, 209.5 and 210.

50. Penal Code Section 667.5(c)(22) - Any violation of Penal Code
Section 12022.53 – Enhancement for listed felonies where use of a
firearm.

51. Business and Professions Code Section 729 – Felony sexual
exploitation by a physician, psychotherapist, counselor, etc.

(d) Section 667.5(c) of the Penal Code provides in part:

(1) For the purpose of this section, "violent felony" shall mean any of the following:

(A) Murder or voluntary manslaughter.

(B) Mayhem.

(C) Rape as defined in subdivision (2) of Section 261.

(D) Sodomy by force, violence, duress, menace, or fear of immediate and
unlawful bodily injury on the victim or another person.

(E) Oral copulation by force, violence, duress, menace, or fear of immediate
and unlawful bodily injury on the victim or another person.

(F) Lewd acts on a child under 14 as defined in Section 288.

(G) Any felony punishable by death or imprisonment in the state prison for
life.

(H) Any felony in which the defendant inflicts great bodily injury on any
person other than an accomplice which has been charged and proved as
provided for in Section 12022.7 or 12022.9 on or after July 1, 1977, or as
specified prior to July 1, 1977, in Sections 213, 264, and 461, or any
felony in which the defendant uses a firearm which use has been charged
and proved as provided in Section 12022.5 or 12022.55.

(I) Any robbery perpetrated in an inhabited dwelling house or trailer coach,
as defined in the Vehicle Code, or in the inhabited portion of any other
building, wherein it is charged and proved that the defendant personally
used a deadly or dangerous weapon, as provided in subdivision (b) of
Section 12022, in the commission of that robbery.

(J) Arson, in violation of subdivision (a) of Section 451.
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(K) The offense defined in subdivision (a) of Section 289 where the act is
accomplished against the victim's will by force, violence, duress, menace,
or fear of immediate and unlawful bodily injury on the victim or another
person.

(L) Attempted murder.

HANDBOOK ENDS HERE

(ed) The Department may deny an exemption request if:

(1) The licensee caregiver and/or affected individual fails to provide documents
requested by the Department, or

(2) The licensee caregiver and/or affected individual fails to cooperate with the
Department in the exemption process.

(fe) The reason for any exemption granted or denied shall be in writing and kept by the
Department.

(gf) The Department may grant a criminal record exemption that places conditions on the
individual's continued licensure, and employment or presence in a licensed facility home.

(hg) An individual shall be permitted to transfer a current criminal record exemption from one
state-licensed facility to another provided the exemption has been processed through a
state licensing district regional office and the following are met:

(1) A signed Criminal Background Exemption Transfer Request, LIC 9188.

(12) The request is in writing to the Department and includes:

(A) A copy of the individual's valid identification, such as:

1. California driver's license,; or

(B) 2. A valid California identification card issued by the Department of 
Motor Vehicles, or

(C) 3. A valid pPhoto identification issued by another state or the United 
States government if the individual is not a California resident.

(DB) Any other documentation required by the Department (i.e., LIC 508,
Criminal Record Statement [Rev. 3/99] and job description).

(ih) If the Depatment denies the individual's request to transfer a conditional criminal record
exemption, the Department shall provide the individual with a right to an administrative
hearing to contest the Department's decision.
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(ji) The Department shall take the following actions if a criminal record exemption is not or
cannot be granted:

(1) For initial applicants, denial of the application.

(2) For current licensees caregivers, the Department may institute an administrative
action, including, but not limited to revocation of the license.

(3) For current prospective employees, exclusion of the affected individual pursuant
to Health and Safety Code Section 1558, and denial of the application or
revocation of the license, if the individual continues to provide services and/or
reside in the facility home.

(4) For individuals residing in the facility, licensee home, caregiver or employee,
exclusion of the affected individual pursuant to Health and Safety Code Section
1558, and denial of the application or revocation of the license, if the individual
continues to provide services and/or reside at the facility home.

Authority Cited: Sections 1530, 1530.5, and 1531, Health and Safety Code.; and Section 21
of Assembly Bill (AB) 1695 (Chapter 653, Statutes of 2001).

Reference: Section 729, Business and Professions Code; Sections 1520, 1522,
1522.01, 1522.04, 1524, 1531, and 14564, Health and Safety Code;
Section 15376, Government Code; and Sections 136.1, 186.22, 187, 190
through 190.4 and 192(a), 203, 206, 207, 208, 209, 209.5, 210, 211, 212,
212.5, 213, 214, 215, 220, 243.4, 261(a), (a)(1), (2), (3), (4) or (6),
262(a)(1) or (4), 264.1, 266, 266c, 266h(b), 266i(b), 266j, 267, 269, 272,
273a(a) [or 273a(1) if the conviction was prior to January 1, 1994], 273d,
285, 286, 288, 288a, 288.2, 288.5(a), 289, 290(a), 311.2(b), (c) or (d),
311.3, 311.10, 311.11, 314(1) or (2), 347(a), 368(b) or (c) if after
January 1, 1999, 417(b), 451(a) or (b), 460(a), 186.22 and 518, 647.6 or
prior to 1987 former Section 647a, 653f(c), 664/187, 667.5(c)(7),
667.5(c)(8) 667.5(c)(13), 12308, 12309 or 12310, 667.5(c)(14), 207, 208,
209, 209.5 and 210, 667.5(c)(22), 12022.53, Penal Code.
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Renumber Section 87019.2 to new Section 89219.2 and amend to read:

8709219.2 Child Abuse Central Index 8709219.2

(a) Prior to the Department issuing a license or special permit for a foster family home, the
Department shall conduct a Child Abuse Central Index (CACI) review pursuant to Section
1522.1 of the Health and Safety Code Section 1522.1 and Section 11170(b)(3) of the Penal
Code Section 11170(b)(3).  The Department shall check the CACI for the applicant(s) and
all individuals subject to a criminal record review, pursuant to Section 1522(d) of the
Health and Safety Code Section 1522(d) and shall have the authority to approve or deny a
facility home license, permit, certificate, employment, residence, or presence in the facility
home based on the results of the review.

(1) The applicant shall submit the Child Abuse Central Index check (LIC 198A [3/99])
for all individuals required to be checked directly to the California Department of
Justice at the same time that the individual's fingerprints are submitted for a criminal
background check as required by Section 87019(b) 89219(c).

(A) Individuals who have submitted the Child Abuse Central Index check (LIC
198A) with fingerprints on or after January 1, 1999 need not submit a new
check if the individual can transfer their criminal record clearance or
exemption pursuant to Section 80019(e) 89219(f) or Section 80019.1(h).
(Continued)

(b) Subsequent to licensure, all individuals subject to a criminal record review, pursuant to
Section 1522(b) of the Health and Safety Code Section 1522(b), shall complete a Child
Abuse Central Index check (LIC 198A) prior to employment, residence, or initial presence
in the facility home that cares for children.

(1) The licensee caregiver shall submit the Child Abuse Central Index checks (LIC
198A) directly to the California Department of Justice with the individual's
fingerprints as required by Section 87019(b) 89219(d) prior to the individual's
employment, residence or initial presence in the facility home.

(A) Individuals who have submitted the Child Abuse Central Index check (LIC
198A) with fingerprints on or after January 1, 1999 need not submit a new
check if the individual can transfer their criminal record clearance or
exemption pursuant to Section 80019(e) 89219(f) or Section 80019.1(h)
89219.1(c).
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(2) The Department shall check the CACI pursuant to Section 11170(b)(3) of the Penal
Code Section 11170(b)(3), and shall investigate any reports received from the CACI.
The investigation shall include, but not be limited to, the review of the investigation
report and file prepared by the child protective agency that investigated the child
abuse report.  The Department shall not deny a license or take any other
administrative action based upon a report from the CACI unless the Department
substantiates the allegation of child abuse.  (Continued)

(c) An individual shall be permitted to transfer a current CACI clearance from one state-
licensed facility to another in the following manner:

(1) If the initial CACI (LIC 198A) was submitted prior to January 01,1999, the
individual must submit a new CACI (LIC 198A) to be processed through a state
licensing regional office; or

(2) If the CACI (LIC 198A) was submitted after January 01,1999 the individual's CACI
clearance will be transferred along with the transfer of either the criminal record
clearance or exemption in accordance with Sections 89219 or 89219.1.

Authority Cited: Section 1530, 1530.5, and 1531, Health and Safety Code.; and Section 21 of
Assembly Bill (AB) 1695 (Chapter 653, Statutes of 2001).

Reference: Sections 1501, 1501.1, 1520, 1522, 1522.01, 1522.1, 1524, 1531, 1558, and
14564, Health and Safety Code; and Section 11170, Penal Code.
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Renumber Section 87024 to new Section 89224 and amend to read:

8709224 Waivers and Exceptions 8709224

(a) Unless prior written licensing agency approval is received as specified in (bc) below, a
licensee caregiver shall maintain continuous compliance with the licensing regulations.

(b) The licensing agency shall have the authority to approve the use of alternate concepts,
programs, services, procedures, techniques, equipment, space, qualifications, or the
conduct of experimental or demonstration projects waive or grant an exception to a
specific regulation(s) if the request demonstrates how the intent of the regulation(s) will be
met and under the following circumstances:

(1) Such alternatives waiver or exception shall in no instance be detrimental to the
health and safety of any child.

(2) The applicant or licensee caregiver shall submit to the licensing agency a written
request for a waiver or exception, together with substantiating evidence supporting
the request.

(3) No waiver or exception, pursuant to this section, shall be granted for any provision
of Article 3, under this chapter.

HANDBOOK BEGINS HERE

(3) In determining the merits of each request, the licensing agency shall use as
guidelines the standards utilized or recommended by well-recognized state and
national organizations, as available or determined appropriate by the licensing
agency.

HANDBOOK ENDS HERE

(4c) The licensing agency caregiver shall provide retain the Department's written approval or
denial of the request in its facility file.

Authority Cited: Sections 1530, and 1530.5, and 1531, Health and Safety Code.; and Section 21
of Assembly Bill (AB) 1695 (Chapter 653, Statutes of 2001).

Reference: Sections 1501, 1509, 1525.25 and 1531, Health and Safety Code.
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Renumber Section 87026 to new Section 89226 and amend to read:

8709226 Safeguards for Cash Resources, Personal Property, and Valuables 8709226

(a) A licensee shall not be required to accept for admission or continue to care for any child
whose initial or subsequent needs and services plans would require the licensee to handle
the child's cash resources.

(b) If such a child is accepted for or maintained in care, his/her cash resources, personal
property, and valuables not handled by a person outside the home, who has been
designated by the child's authorized representative, shall be handled by the licensee and
shall be safeguarded in accordance with the requirements specified in (c) through (m)
below.

(c) A licensee shall be permitted to accept appointment and serve as guardian for the person,
or estate, or person and estate, of a child.

(1) Such appointment shall be reported to the licensing agency as specified in Section
87061(h)(1).

(d) Cash resources personal property, and valuables of children shall be maintained free from
any liability the licensee incurs.

(ea) Cash resources and personal property and valuables of each children shall be separate and
intact, and shall not be commingled with the licensee's funds or petty cash.

(f) The licensee shall not make expenditures from children's cash resources for any basic
services specified in these regulations, or for any basic services identified in the child's
admission agreement.

(g) The licensee shall not commingle cash resources, personal property and valuables of
children with those of another community care facility of a different license number
regardless of joint ownership.

(hb) The licensee caregiver shall maintain accurate records of accounts of cash resources,
personal property, and valuables entrusted to his/her care., including, but not limited to the
following:

(1) Records of each child's cash resources maintained as a drawing account which shall
include a current ledger accounting, with columns for income, disbursements and
balance and supporting receipts for purchases.

(2) Bank records for transactions of cash resources deposited in and drawn from the
account specified in (i) below.
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(i) Immediately upon admission of any child, the licensee shall deposit any of the child's cash
resources entrusted to the licensee and not kept in the home, in any type of bank, savings
and loan, or credit union account meeting the following requirements:

(1) The account shall be maintained separately from the personal or business accounts of
the licensee.

(2) The account title shall clearly note that the account contains the child's cash
resources.

(3) The licensee shall provide the child access to the cash resources upon demand by the
child's authorized representative.

(4) The account shall be maintained in a local bank, savings and loan or credit union
authorized to do business in California, the deposits of which are insured by a branch
of the Federal Government.

(A) A local public agency shall have the authority to deposit such cash resources
with the public treasurer.

(j) Cash resources entrusted to the licensee and kept in the home shall be kept in a locked and
secure location.

(kc) When a child leaves placement in the home, the licensee caregiver shall surrender all of the
child's cash resources, personal property, and valuables which have been entrusted to the
licensee to the child's authorized representative.

(1) The licensee caregiver shall obtain and retain a receipt signed by the authorized
representative.

(l) Upon the death of a child the licensee shall immediately safeguard all cash resources,
personal property and valuables of that child in accordance with the following
requirements:

(1) All cash resources shall be placed in an account as specified in (i) above.

(2) The executor or the administrator of the estate be notified by the licensee of the
child's death, and the cash resources, personal property, and valuables shall be
surrendered to said party in exchange for a signed itemized receipt.

(3) If no executor or administrator has been appointed, the authorized representative
shall be notified by the licensee of the child's death, and the cash resources, personal
property, and valuables shall be surrendered  to the authorized representative in
exchange for a signed itemized receipt.

(4) If the licensee is unable to notify a responsible party as specified in (2) or (3) above,
the licensee shall give immediate written notice of the child's death to the public
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administrator of the county as provided by Section 1145 of the California Probate
Code.

(m) The licensee shall maintain a record of all monetary gifts and of any other gift exceeding
an estimated value $100, provided by or on behalf of a child to the licensee.

(1) The record shall be attached to the accounts specified in (h) above if the child's cash
resources, personal property or valuables have been entrusted to the licensee.

(2) Monetary gifts or valuables given by the friends or relatives of a deceased child shall
not be subject to the requirements specified in (m) and (m)(1) above.

Authority Cited: Sections 1530, and 1530.5, and 1531, Health and Safety Code.; and Section 21
of Assembly Bill (AB) 1695 (Chapter 653, Statutes of 2001).

Reference: Sections 1501, 1525.5, 1531 1520, 1558, and 1560, Health and Safety Code;
and Section 11006.9, Welfare and Institutions Code.
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Renumber Section 87027 to new Section 89227 and amend to read:

8709227 Application Review 8709227

HANDBOOK BEGINS HERE

(a) The licensing agency shall complete the following as part of the application review
process:

(1) A site visit to the proposed foster family home to make a determination of the
qualifications of the applicant that all of the requirements of Article 3 of this chapter
have been satisfied, including but not limited to:

(A) Review of the ability, willingness, and readiness or the prospective foster
parent to meet the varying needs of children.

1. Health and Safety Code Section 1521.5 states:

(a)  The county welfare director shall, prior to the issuance of any foster
family home license, ensure that the county licensing staff, or the
placement staff, conducts one or more in-home interviews with the
prospective foster parent sufficient to collect information on caregiver
qualifications that may be used by the placement agency to evaluate the
ability, willingness, and readiness of the prospective foster parent to
meet the varying needs of children. The inability of a prospective foster
parent to meet the varying needs of children, shall not, in and of itself,
preclude a prospective foster parent from obtaining a foster family home
license. In counties in which the county has not contracted with the state
to license foster family homes, the in-home interview shall be done by
the placement agency.

(b)  All in-home interviews required by this section shall be on an in-
person basis.

(c) If the in-home interview is conducted by the licensing agency, it shall
be a part of the licensing record, and shall be shared with the placement
agency pursuant to subdivision (e) of Section 1798.24 of the Civil Code.

(d)  The in-home interview required by this section shall be completed
no later than 120 days following notification by the licensing agency.

(e)  No license shall be issued unless an in-home interview has been
conducted as required by this section.

(3) (B) A determination that the applicant has the ability to comply with the
provisions of the Community Care Facilities Act and the regulations in this
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chapter as specified in Section 1520 of the Health and Safety Code Section
1520.

(2) (C) A determination that the applicant has secured a fire clearance from the State
Fire Marshal, if required.

(4) (D) A determination that the home complies with the provisions of the Community
Care Facilities Act and the regulations in this chapter.

HANDBOOK ENDS HERE

(b) If the applicant has not submitted all materials specified in Section 87018 89218 within 90
days of receipt of the application by the licensing agency, the licensing agency shall give
written notice to the applicant that the application is incomplete.  (Continued)

87034(b)
(2) An applicant shall file a new application whenever an applicant fails to complete an

application within the time required by Section 87027(b) if the applicant chooses to
continue the application process.  If the application has been deemed denied, the
applicant shall file a new application as required by Section 89218.

(c) The licensing agency shall cease review of any application under the conditions specified
in Section 1520.3 of the Health and Safety Code.

HANDBOOK BEGINS HERE

(1) Health and Safety Code Section 1520.3 provides in part:

"(a) (1) If an application for a license or special permit indicates, or the
department determines during the application review process, that the
applicant was previously was issued a license under this chapter or under
Chapter 1 (commencing with Section 1200), Chapter 2 (commencing
with Section 1250), Chapter 3.01 (commencing with Section 1568.01),
Chapter 3.3 (commencing with Section 1569), Chapter 3.4 (commencing
with Section 1596.70), Chapter 3.5 (commencing with Section 1596.90),
or Chapter 3.6 (commencing with Section 1597.30) and the prior license
was revoked within the preceding two years, the department shall cease
any further review of the application until two years shall have elapsed
from the date of the revocation.  The cessation of review shall not
constitute a denial of the application for purposes of Section 1526 or any
other provision of law.
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"(2) If an application for a license or special permit indicates, or the
department determines during the application review process, that the
applicant previously was issued a certificate of approval by a foster
family agency that was revoked by the department pursuant to
subdivision (b) of Section 1534 within the preceding two years, the
department shall cease any further review of the application until two
years shall have elapsed from the date of the revocation.

"(3) If an application for a license or special permit indicates, or the
department determines during the application review process, that the
applicant was excluded from a facility licensed by the department
pursuant to Sections 1558, 1568.092, 1569.58, or 1596.8897, the
department shall cease any further review of the application unless the
excluded individual has been reinstated pursuant to Section 11522 of the
Government Code by the department.

"(b) If an application for a license or special permit indicates, or the department
determines during the application review process, that the applicant had
previously applied for a license under any of the chapters listed in paragraph
(1) of subdivision (a) and the application was denied within the last year, the
department shall cease further review of the application under either of the
following circumstances as follows:

"(1) (Continued)

"(2) (Continued)

"(3) (Continued)

"(c) If an application for a license or special permit indicates, or the department
determines during the application review process, that the applicant had
previously applied for a certificate of approval with a foster family agency and
the department ordered the foster family agency to deny the application
pursuant to subdivision (b) of Section 1534, the department shall cease further
review of the application as follows:

"(1) In cases where the applicant petitioned for a hearing, the department
shall cease further review of the application until one year has elapsed
from the effective date of the decision and order of the department
upholding a denial.

"(2) In cases where the department informed the applicant of his or her right
to petition for a hearing and the applicant did not petition for a hearing,
the department shall cease further review of the application until one
year has elapsed from the date of the notification of the denial and the
right to petition for a hearing.
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"(3) The department may continue to review the application if it has
determined that the reasons for the denial of the application were due to
circumstances and conditions that either have been corrected or are no
longer in existence."

"(d) The cessation of review shall not constitute a denial of the application for
purposes of Section 1526 or any other law.

HANDBOOK ENDS HERE

(2) (Continued)

(B) A licensee caregiver who did not meet the minimum qualifications, but now
fulfills the qualifications; or

(C) A person with a criminal record, which was the basis for license denial, is no
longer associated with the facility home.  (Continued)

(4) If cessation of review occurs, the application shall be returned to the applicant.  It
shall be the responsibility of the applicant to request resumption of review as
specified in Section 1520.3 of the Health and Safety Code Section 1520.3.

Authority Cited: Sections 1524, 1525, 1526, 1530, and 1530.5, and 1531, Health and Safety
Code.; and Section 21 of Assembly Bill (AB) 1695 (Chapter 653, Statutes of
2001).

Reference: Sections 1520, 1520.3, 1521.5, 1523.1, and 1524, 1550, and 1558.1, Health
and Safety Code.
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Renumber Section 87028 to new Section 89228 and amend to read:

8709228 Capacity Determination 8709228

(a) (Renumbered to Section 89231(c))

(ba) The number of children for whom the foster family home is licensed to provide care and
supervision shall be determined on the basis of the application review by the licensing
agency, which shall take into consideration the following:

(1) The licensee caregiver's ability to comply with applicable law and regulations.

(2) Any other household members including but not limited to children under
guardianship or conservatorship, who reside at the facility home and their individual
needs.

(3) Facilities Homes which accept a minor parent and his/her child(ren) shall have such
child(ren) included in the facility home's licensed capacity.

(4) Physical features of the facility home, including available living space, which are
necessary in order to comply with regulations.

(cb) The licensing agency shall be authorized to issue a license for fewer children than is
requested when the licensing agency determines that the licensee caregiver's
responsibilities to other persons in the home, including persons under guardianship and
conservatorship, would preclude provision of the care required by these regulations.

(dc) When the license is issued for fewer children than requested, the licensee caregiver shall
be notified in writing of the reasons for the limitation and of the licensee caregiver's right
to appeal the decision as specified in Section 8709240.

(ed) The licensing agency shall be authorized to restrict care to specific children.

(1) If care is limited to specific children, the licensing agency shall specify the names of
the children in a letter to the licensee caregiver.

(2) Except where the limitation is requested by the licensee caregiver, the licensee
caregiver shall be notified in writing of the reasons for such limitation and of the
licensee caregiver's right to appeal the decision as specified in Section 8709240.

(fe) The licensing agency shall have the authority to decrease the existing licensed capacity,
with the licensee caregiver's agreement, when there is a change in any of the factors
specified in (cb) above.



51

(1) If the licensee caregiver does not agree to the decrease in capacity, the licensing
agency shall have the authority to initiate revocation action as specified in Section
8709242.

Authority Cited: Sections 1530, and 1530.5, and 1531, Health and Safety Code.; and Section 21
of Assembly Bill (AB) 1695 (Chapter 653, Statutes of 2001).

Reference: Section 11465, Welfare and Institutions Code; and Sections 1501 1501.1,
1505.2, 1507, 1520, 1515.15, 1526.5, 1526.75, 1529.1, 1529.2, 1529.3, and
1531, 1531.2, 1533, 1534, 1538, and 1562, Health and Safety Code.
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Renumber Section 87029 to new Section 89229 and amend to read:

8709229 Withdrawal of Application 8709229

(a) An applicant shall have the right to withdraw, in writing, an application.

(1) Such withdrawal shall be in writing.

(b) The Department must consent in writing to the withdrawal.

HANDBOOK BEGINS HERE

(b1) Health and Safety Code Section 1553 provides in pertinent part: that the licensing
agency shall not be deprived of its authority to institute or continue a proceeding
against the applicant for the denial of the license upon any ground provided by law,
or to enter an order denying the license upon any such ground, unless it has
consented in writing to such withdrawal.

The withdrawal of an application for a license or a special permit after it has been
filed with the state department shall not, unless the state department consents in
writing to such withdrawal, deprive the state department of its authority to institute
or continue a proceeding against the applicant for the denial of the license or a
special permit upon any ground provided by law or to enter an order denying the
license or special permit upon any such ground.

HANDBOOK ENDS HERE

Authority Cited: Sections 1530, and 1530.5, and 1531, Health and Safety Code.; and Section 21
of Assembly Bill (AB) 1695 (Chapter 653, Statutes 2001).

Reference: Sections 1503, 1503.5, 1508, 1520, 1536.1, 1540, 1540.1, 1541, 1547, and
1553, Health and Safety Code.
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Renumber Section 87031 to new Section 89231 and amend to read:

8709231 Issuance of License 8709231

(a) The licensing agency shall issue a license to the applicant after an completed application
has been completed, an in-home visit has been made pursuant to Section 89227(a), and
upon determination that all licensing requirements set forth in Article 3 of this chapter
have been met.

(b) No caregiver shall alter or provide false or misleading information to obtain any foster
family home license.

87028(a)
(c) A The license shall be issued for a specific capacity consistent with Sections 89228(a) and

(b).

(bd) The licensing agency shall notify the applicant in writing of such issuance.

(ce) No limitation shall be imposed on the licensee caregiver or printed on the license solely on
the basis that the licensee caregiver is a parent who has administered or will continue to
administer corporal punishment, not  constituting child abuse as defined in Section 11165,
subdivision (g) of the Penal Code, or Section 1531.5(c) of the Health and Safety Code, on
his/her own child(ren).

HANDBOOK BEGINS HERE

(1) Whenever possible, the licensee shall not use corporal punishment on his/her own
children in the presence of the child(ren) in placement.

HANDBOOK ENDS HERE

Authority Cited: Sections 1530, and 1530.5, and 1531, Health and Safety Code.; and Section 21
of Assembly Bill (AB) 1695 (Chapter 653, Statutes of 2001).

Reference: Sections 1503, 1503.5, 1508, 1509, 1520, 1520.5, 1524, 1525, 1526, and
1531.5, 1536.1, 1540, 1540.1, 1541, and 1547, Health and Safety Code.
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Renumber Section 87034 to new Section 89234 and amend to read:

8709234 Submission of New Application Changes to License 8709234

(a) A licensee shall file a new application as required by Section 87018 wWhenever there is a
change in conditions or limitations described on the current license., including a change in
location, the caregiver shall submit a new application, with updated information as
required in Section 89218.

(1) The licensing agency shall have the authority to grant capacity increases without
resubmission of an application following a licensing agency review and the securing
of a fire clearance, if needed.

HANDBOOK BEGINS HERE

(2b) Changes commonly overlooked but which require that a new application be filed include:

(A1) Any change in the location of the home.

(A) Prior notice of the move must allow for time to license the new home.

(B) A 30-day notice should provide adequate time for the licensing agency to
license the home.

(C) If the licensing agency is not able to provide a site visit the first day the new
home is occupied, when the licensing agency makes its site visit it may
incorporate the placement worker's documentation to determine when the
home first met core health and safety standards in accordance with Article 3
Licensing/Approval Standards.

(D) The physical license must be issued within 60 days of full licensing
compliance.

(B2) Any change in facility the home category.

(C3) A permanent change in any child from ambulatory to non-ambulatory status.

HANDBOOK ENDS HERE

(b) (Renumbered to Section 89227(b)(2))

Authority Cited: Sections  1524, 1530, and 1530.5, and 1531, Health and Safety Code.; and
Section 21 of Assembly Bill (AB) 1695 (Chapter 653, Statutes of  2001).

Reference: Sections 1501, 1520, 1525.25, and 1531, Health and Safety Code.
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Renumber Section 87035 to new Section 89235 and amend to read:

8709235 Conditions for Forfeiture of a Foster Family Home License 8709235

(a) Conditions for forfeiture of a foster family home license may be found in Section 1524 of
the Health and Safety Code.

HANDBOOK BEGINS HERE

(1) Health and Safety Code Section 1524 reads in part  provides in pertinent part:

A license shall be forfeited by operation of law prior to its expiration date when one
of the following occurs:  (Continued)

(e) The licensee dies.  If an adult relative notifies the Department of his or her
desire to continue operation of the facility and submits an application, the
Department shall expedite the application. The Department shall promulgate
regulations for expediting applications submitted pursuant to this subdivision.

(f) The licensee abandons the facility.

HANDBOOK ENDS HERE

(12) "Licensee Caregiver abandons the facility home" shall mean either of the following:

(A) The licensee caregiver informs the licensing agency that the licensee caregiver
no longer accepts responsibility for the facility home, or

(B) The licensing agency is unable to determine the licensee caregiver's
whereabouts after the following:

1. The licensing agency requests information of the licensee caregiver's
whereabouts from an adult at the facility home if an adult can be
contacted; and

2. The licensing agency has made at least one (1) phone call per day, to the
licensee caregiver's last telephone number of record, for five (5)
consecutive workdays with no response; and

3. The licensing agency has sent a certified letter, requesting the licensee
caregiver to contact the licensing agency, to the licensee caregiver's last
mailing address of record with no response within seven (7) calendar
days.

(b) If the facility licensee caregiver dies or abandons the home and a responsible, an adult
relative who has with control of the property shall be permitted to operate a previously
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licensed facility under an Emergency Approval to Operate (LIC 9117 4/93) (EAO)
providing the following conditions are met: continues to operate the home, he or she shall
file a new application, with evidence of caregiver's death if applicable, and shall be subject
to Section 89206.

(1) The relative or an adult acting on the relative's behalf notifies the Department by
telephone during the first working day after the licensee's death that the relative
intends to operate the community care facility.

(2) The relative files with the Department within five calendar days of the licensee's
death an Application for License (LIC 283 12/91) and evidence of the licensee's
death as defined in Section 87001(e)(3).

(A) Notwithstanding the instructions on the Application for License (LIC 283
12/91), the Department shall permit the relative to submit only the information
on the front side of that form.

(3) The relative files with the California Department of Justice within five calendar days
of the licensee's death his/her fingerprint cards.

(c) If the adult relative complies with (b)(1) and (2) above, he/she shall not be considered to
be operating an unlicensed facility pending the Department's decision on whether to
approve a provisional license.

(d) The Department shall make a decision within 60 days after the application is submitted on
whether to issue a provisional license pursuant to Section 87030.

(1) A provisional license shall be granted only if the Department is satisfied that the
conditions specified in (b) above and Section 87030 have been met and that the
health and safety of the residents of the facility will not be jeopardized.

Authority Cited: Sections 1523, 1524, 1524(e), 1530, and 1530.5, and 1531, Health and Safety
Code.; and Section 21 of Assembly Bill (AB) 1695 (Chapter 653, Statutes of
2001).

Reference: Sections 1501, 1501.1, 1503, 1503.5, 1508, 1520, 1521.5, 1523, 1524, and
1524(e), 1536.1, 1540, 1540.1, and 1547, Health and Safety Code.
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Repeal Article 4. (Title), renumber Section 87040 to new Section 89240 and amend to read:

Article 4.  ADMINISTRATIVE ACTIONS

8709240 Denial of Initial a License 8709240

(a) Except as specified in Section 87030, which provides for issuance of a provisional license,
tThe licensing agency shall deny an application for an initial license if it is determined that
the applicant is not in compliance with applicable law and regulation.

(1) The licensing agency shall have the authority to deny an application for an initial
license if the applicant has failed to pay any civil penalty for unlicensed operations
assessmented pursuant to Section 87065 89255, Unlicensed Facility Penalties, and in
accordance with a final judgment issued by a court of competent jurisdiction, unless
payment arrangements acceptable to the licensing agency have been made.

(2) The Department may deny any license as specified in Section 1550 of the Health and
Safety Code Section 1550.  (Continued)

(3) An application for initial a licensure shall not be denied solely on the basis that the
applicant is a parent who has administered or will continue to administer corporal
punishment, not constituting child abuse as defined in Section 11165, subdivision (g)
of the Penal Code, or Section 1531.5(c) of the Health and Safety Code, on his/her
own child(ren).

HANDBOOK BEGINS HERE

(A) Section 11165.6, subdivision (g) of the Penal Code states:

"As used in this article, the term 'Cchild abuse or neglect' means a physical injury
which is inflicted by other than accidental means on a child by another person.,
Child abuse also means the sexual assault of a child or any act or omission
proscribed by Section 273a (willful cruelty or unjustifiable punishment of a child) or
273d (corporal punishment or injury).  Child abuse also means the neglect of a child
or abuse in out-of-home care. sexual abuse as defined in Section 11165.1, neglect as
defined in Section 11165.2, willful cruelty or unjustifiable punishment as defined in
Section 11165.3, and unlawful corporal punishment or injury as defined in Section
11165.4.  'Child abuse or neglect' does not include a mutual affray between minors.
'Child abuse or neglect' does not include an injury caused by reasonable and
necessary force used by a peace officer acting within the course and scope of his or
her employment as a peace officer."
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(B) Section 273a of the Penal Code states provides in part:

"(a) Any person who, under circumstances or conditions likely to produce great
bodily harm or death, willfully causes or permits any child to suffer, or inflicts
thereon unjustifiable physical pain or mental suffering, or having the care or
custody of any child, willfully causes or permits the person or health of such
that child to be injured, or willfully causes or permits such that child to be
placed in a situation that its where his or her person or health is endangered, is
shall be punishabled by imprisonment in the a county jail not exceeding one
year, or in the state prison for 2 two, 3 four, or 4 six years.

"(b) Any person who, under circumstances or conditions other than those likely to
produce great bodily harm or death, willfully causes or permits any child to
suffer, or inflicts thereon unjustifiable physical pain or mental suffering, or
having the care or custody of any child, willfully causes or permits the person
or health of such that child to be placed in such a situation that its where his or
her person or health may be endangered, is guilty of a misdemeanor. . . ."

(C) Section 273(d) of the Penal Code states provides in part:

"(a) Any person who willfully inflicts upon any child any cruel or inhuman
corporal punishment or injury resulting in a traumatic condition is guilty of a
felony, and upon conviction thereof shall be punished by imprisonment in the
state prison for 2 two, 3 four, or 4 six years, or in a county jail for not more
than one year, by a fine of up to six thousand dollars ($6,000), or by both that
imprisonment and fine. . ."

(D) Section 1531.5(c) of the Health and Safety Code states:

"As used in this section, 'Cchild abuse' means a situation in which a child suffers
from any one or more of the following:

"(1.) (Continued)

"(2.) (Continued)

"(3.) (Continued)

"(4.) (Continued)

"(5.) (Continued)

HANDBOOK ENDS HERE

(b) If the application for an initial license is denied, the licensing agency shall mail the
applicant a written notice of denial.  (Continued)



59

(c) An applicant shall have the right to appeal the denial of the application pursuant to Health
and Safety Code Section 1526 of the Health and Safety Code and in accordance with
Section 1551 of the Health and Safety Code.

HANDBOOK BEGINS HERE

(d1) Health and Safety Code Section 1526 provides in part:

"Immediately upon the denial of any application for a license or for a special permit,
the licensing agency state department shall notify the applicant in writing. Within 15
days after the licensing agency state department mails the notice, the applicant may
present his written petition for a hearing to the licensing agency state department.
Upon receipt by the licensing agency state department of the petition in proper form,
such petition shall be set for hearing. The proceedings shall be conducted in
accordance with Chapter 5 (commencing with Section 11500) of Part 1 of Division 3
of Title 2 of the Government Code, and the state department has all the powers
granted therein."

HANDBOOK ENDS HERE

(d) Proceedings to hear an appeal of a denial shall be conducted pursuant to Section 1551(a) of
the Health and Safety Code.

HANDBOOK BEGINS HERE

(1) Health and Safety Code Section 1551(a) provides in part:

"Proceedings for the suspension, revocation, or denial of a license, registration,
special permit, or any administrator certificate under this chapter shall be conducted
in accordance with the provisions of Chapter 5 (commencing with Section 11500) of
Part 1 of Division 3 of Title 2 of the Government Code., and the state department
shall have all the powers granted by those provisions. . ."

HANDBOOK ENDS HERE

(e) Notwithstanding any appeal action, the foster family home is unlicensed and shall not
operate pending adoption by the dDirector of a decision on the denial action.

Authority Cited: Sections 1530, and 1530.5, and 1531, Health and Safety Code.; and Section 21
of Assembly Bill (AB) 1695 (Chapter 653, Statutes of 2001).

Reference: Sections 1501, 1520, 1520.3, 1522, 1522.01, 1522.2, 1525, 1526, 1531,
1531.5, 1547, and 1550, 1551, and 1558.1, Health and Safety Code; Sections
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273a, 273(d), 11165, 11165.1, 11165.2, 11165.3, 11165.4, and 11165.6, Penal
Code; and Sections 11500, et seq., Government Code.
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Renumber Section 87042 to new Section 89242 and amend to read:

8709242 Revocation or Suspension of License 8709242

(a) The dDepartment shall have the authority to suspend or revoke any license on any of the
grounds specified in Section 1550 of the Health and Safety Code Section 1550.
(Continued)

(b) Proceedings to hear a revocation action or a revocation and temporary suspension action
shall be conducted pursuant to the provisions of Section 1551(a) of the Health and Safety
Code Section 1551.

HANDBOOK BEGINS HERE

(1) Health and Safety Code Section 1551(a) provides in part:

"Proceedings for the suspension, revocation, or denial of a license, registration,
special permit, or any administrator certificate under this chapter shall be conducted
in accordance with the provisions of Chapter 5 (commencing with Section 11500) of
Part 1 of Division 3 of Title 2 of the Government Code., and the state department
shall have all the powers granted by those provisions. . ."  (Continued)

HANDBOOK ENDS HERE

Authority Cited: Sections 1530, and 1530.5, and 1531, Health and Safety Code.; and Section 21
of Assembly Bill (AB) 1695 (Chapter 653, Statutes of 2001).

Reference: Sections 1501, 1522, 1522.01, 1522.2, 1531, 1533, 1534, 1538, and 1550, and
1551, Health and Safety Code; and Sections 11500, et seq., Government Code.
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Renumber Section 87044 to new Section 89244 and amend to read:

8709244 Inspection Authority of the Department or Licensing Agency 8709244

(a) The dDepartment or licensing agency shall have the inspection authority specified in
Sections 1533, 1534, and 1538 of the Health and Safety Code Sections 1533, 1534, and
1538.

HANDBOOK BEGINS HERE

(1) Health and Safety Code Section 1533 provides in part:

". . . Aany duly authorized officer, employee, or agent of the State Department of
Social Services may, upon presentation of proper identification, enter and inspect
any place providing personal care, supervision, and services at any time, with or
without advance notice, to secure compliance with, or to prevent a violation of, any
provision of this chapter.

"Foster family homes which are considered private residences for the purpose of
Section 1530.5 shall not be subject to inspection by the department or its officers
without advance notice, except in response to a complaint.  The unannounced visits
shall not constitute the annual evaluation visit required by Section 1534.  Inspection
visits to foster family homes shall be made during normal business hours, unless the
serious nature of a complaint requires otherwise.

"'Normal business hours,'", as used in this section, means from 8 a.m. to 5 p.m.,
inclusive, of each day from Monday to Friday, inclusive, other than Sstate holidays."

(2) Health and Safety Code Section 1534(a) provides, in part:

"(1) (A) Every licensed community care facility shall be periodically inspected
and evaluated for quality of care by a representative or representatives
designated by the director.  Evaluations shall be conducted at least once
per year and as often as necessary to ensure the quality of care being
provided. . .

"(2) The state department shall notify the community care facility in writing of all
deficiencies in its compliance with the provisions of this chapter and the rules
and regulations adopted pursuant to this chapter, and shall set a reasonable
length of time for compliance by the facility.

"(3) Reports on the results of each inspection, evaluation, or consultation shall be
kept on file in the state department, and all inspection reports, consultation
reports, lists of deficiencies, and plans of correction shall be open to public
inspection in the county in which the facility is located."
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(3) Health and Safety Code Section 1538 provides in part:

"(Aa) Any person may request an inspection of any community care facility or
certified family home in accordance with the provisions of this chapter by
transmitting to the state department notice of an alleged violation of applicable
requirements prescribed by statutes or regulations of this state, including, but
not limited to, a denial of access of any person authorized to enter such the
facility pursuant to Section 9701 of the Welfare and InstitutionsCode. A
complaint may be made either orally or in writing.

"(Bb) The substance of the complaint shall be provided to the licensee or certified
family home and foster family agency no earlier than at the time of the
inspection.  Unless the complainant specifically requests otherwise, neither the
substance of the complaint provided the licensee or certified family home and
foster family agency nor any copy of the complaint or any record published,
released, or otherwise made available to the licensee or certified family home
and foster family agency shall disclose the name of any person mentioned in
the complaint except the name of any duly authorized officer, employee, or
agent of the state department conducting the investigation or inspection
pursuant to this chapter.

"(Cc) Upon receipt of a complaint, other than a complaint alleging denial of a
statutory right of access to a community care facility or certified family home,
the state department shall make a preliminary review and, unless the state
department determines that the complaint is willfully intended to harass a
licensee or is without any reasonable basis, it shall make an onsite inspection
of the community care facility or certified family home within 10 days after
receiving the complaint, except where a visit would adversely affect the
licensing investigation or the investigation of other agencies.  In either event,
the complainant shall be promptly informed of the state department's proposed
course of action. . .

"(Dd)Upon receipt of a complaint alleging denial of a statutory right of access to a
community care facility or certified family home, the state department shall
review the complaint.  The complainant shall be notified promptly of the state
department's proposed course of action. . ."

HANDBOOK ENDS HERE

(b) The licensing agency shall have the authority to interview any child in the home, and to
inspect, reproduce and audit the children's or the home's records without prior consent.

(1) The licensee caregiver shall make provisions for private interviews with any child
and for the examination and reproduction of all records relating to the operation of
the home.  (Continued)
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Authority Cited: Sections 1530, and 1530.5, and 1531, Health and Safety Code.; and Section 21
of Assembly Bill (AB) 1695 (Chapter 653, Statutes of 2001).

Reference: Sections 1501, 1501.1, 1531, 1533, 1534 and 1538, Health and Safety Code.
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Renumber Section 87045 to new Section 89245 and amend to read:

8709245 Evaluation Visits 8709245

(a) Every home shall be evaluated as specified in Sections 1533 and 1534 of the Health and
Safety Code Sections 1533 and 1534.

HANDBOOK BEGINS HERE

(1) Health and Safety Code Section 1533 provides in part:

". . . Aany duly authorized officer, employee, or agent of the State Department of
Social Services may, upon presentation of proper identification, enter and inspect
any place providing personal care, supervision, and services at any time, with or
without advance notice, to secure compliance with, or to prevent a violation of, any
provision of this chapter.

"Foster family homes which are considered private residences for the purpose of
Section 1530.5 shall not be subject to inspection by the department or its officers
without advance notice, except in response to a complaint.  The unannounced visit
shall not constitute the annual evaluation visit required by Section 1534.  Inspection
visits to foster family homes shall be made during normal business hours, unless the
serious nature of a complaint requires otherwise.

"'Normal business hours,'", as used in this section, means from 8 a.m. to 5 p.m.,
inclusive, of each day from Monday to Friday, inclusive, other than Sstate holidays."

(2) Health and Safety Code Section 1534(a) provides in part:

"(1) (A) Every licensed community care facility shall be periodically inspected
and evaluated for quality of care by a representative or representatives
designated by the director.  Evaluations shall be conducted at least once
per year and as often as necessary to ensure the quality of care being
provided. . .

"(2) The state department shall notify the community care facility in writing of all
deficiencies in its compliance with the provisions of this chapter and the rules
and regulations adopted pursuant to this chapter, and shall set a reasonable
length of time for compliance by the facility.
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"(3) Reports on the results of each inspection, evaluation, or consultation shall be
kept on file in the state department, and all inspection reports, consultation
reports, lists of deficiencies, and plans of correction shall be open to public
inspection in the county in which the facility is located."

HANDBOOK ENDS HERE

(b) The licensing agency shall have the authority to make any number of additional visits to a
facility foster family home in order to determine compliance with applicable law and
regulation.

Authority Cited: Sections 1530, and 1530.5, and 1531, Health and Safety Code.; and Section 21
of Assembly Bill (AB) 1695 (Chapter 653, Statutes of 2001).

Reference: Sections 1501, 1501.1, 1507.5, 1530.5, 1531, 1533, 1534 and 1538, Health and
Safety Code.
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Renumber Section 87046 to new Section 89246 and amend to read:

8709246 Exclusions 8709246

(a) An individual can be prohibited from being employed, allowed in, and to have contact with
clients in a licensed facility home as specified in Section 1558 of the Health and Safety
Code Section 1558.  (Continued)

Authority Cited: Sections 1530, and 1530.5, and 1531, Health and Safety Code.; and Section 21
of Assembly Bill (AB) 1695 (Chapter 653, Statutes of 2001).

Reference: Sections 1501, 1501.1, 1522, 1522.01, 1522.2, 1558, 1558.1, 1569 et seq., and
1596.9 et seq., Health and Safety Code; and Sections 11500 et seq., 11506,
11522, Government Code.
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Renumber Section 87052 to new Section 89252 and amend to read:

8709252 Deficiencies in Compliance  (Continued) 8709252

(b) Prior to completion of a visit, the licensee caregiver, or other person in charge of the home
shall meet with the evaluator to discuss any deficiencies noted, to jointly develop a plan
for correcting each deficiency and to acknowledge receipt of the notice of deficiency.

(c) The evaluator shall provide a notice of deficiency to the licensee caregiver by one of the
following:

(1) Personal delivery to the licensee caregiver, at the completion of the visit.

(2) If the licensee caregiver is not at the home, leaving the notice with the person in
charge, at the completion of the visit.

(A) Under such circumstances, a copy of the notice shall also be mailed to the
licensee caregiver.

(3) If the licensee caregiver refuses to accept the notice or the notice cannot be
completed during the visit, mailing the notice to the licensee caregiver.

(d) (Continued)

(2) A description of the nature of the deficiency stating the manner in which the licensee
caregiver failed to comply with a specified statute or regulation, and the particular
place or area of the home in which it occurred.  (Continued)

(5) (Continued)

87053(a)
(6) A follow-up visit shall be conducted to determine compliance with the plan of

correction specified in the notice of deficiency.

HANDBOOK BEGINS HERE

87051(a)
(e) The following are examples of regulations which, if not complied with, nearly always

result in a serious deficiency.

(1) Section 8709410 relating to limitations on the capacity or ambulatory status of the
children.

(2) Section 8709510.1 relating to limitations on the capacity of specialized foster family
homes.
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(3) Section 8709510.2 relating to dual licensure of specialized foster family homes.

(4) Section 8709219 relating to criminal record clearance.

(5) Section 8709420 relating to fire clearance.

(6) Section 8709421 relating to water supply.

(7) Section 8709565.1 relating to specialized in-home health care training and health
screenings for staff in specialized foster family homes.

(8) Section 8709372 relating to children's rights.

(9) Section 8709373 relating to telephone service.

(10) Section 8709475(k) relating to storing and dispensing medications.

(11) Section 8709376 relating to food storage, preparation and service.

(12) Section 8709387 relating to safety of children's accommodations.

(13) Section 8709587.1 relating to safety of accommodations for children with special
health care needs.

(14) Sections 87088(a) - (a)(2) and (i) - (i)(1) 89387(h) and (m) relating to hot water
temperature and toilet facilities.

(15) Section 87088(j) 89387(n) relating to storage and disposal of solid wastes.

(16) Any other regulation, the violation of which is deemed by the licensing agency to
constitute a serious deficiency as defined in Section 87001s.(1) 89201(s)(1).

HANDBOOK ENDS HERE

Authority Cited: Sections 1530, and 1530.5, and 1531, Health and Safety Code.; Section 17730,
Welfare and Institutions Code; and Section 21 of Assembly Bill (AB) 1695
(Chapter 653, Statutes of 2001).

Reference: Sections 1501, 1501.1, 1531, 1533, 1534, 1538, and 1553, Health and Safety
Code; and Sections 17731 and 17732, Welfare and Institutions Code.
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Renumber Section 87054 to new Section 89254 to read:

8709254 Penalties  (Continued) 8709254

Authority Cited: Sections 1522, 1530 and 1531 1548, Health and Safety Code; and Section 21
of Assembly Bill (AB) 1695 (Chapter 653, Statutes of 2001).

Reference: Sections 1501, 1501.1, 1522, 1533, 1534, 1538, and 1548, Health and Safety
Code.
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Renumber Section 87055 to new Section 89255 and amend to read:

8709255 Unlicensed Facility Penalties 8709255

(a) (Continued)

(1) (Continued)

(A) For purposes of this section, an application shall be deemed completed if it
includes the information required in Section 87018 89218.  (Continued)

(2) (Continued)

(A) Notwithstanding any appeal action, facility home operation must cease within
10 calendar days of the mailing of the notice of denial or upon receipt of the
denial notice by the operator, whichever occurs first.

(b) (Continued)

(1) (Continued)

(A) The $200 per day penalty shall continue until the operator ceases operation or
submits a completed application pursuant to Sections 8709255(a)(1)(A) and
(B).  (Continued)

(c) (Continued)

(1) A site visit shall be made immediately or within five working days to verify that the
unlicensed facility home operation has ceased.  (Continued)

(e) (Continued)
HANDBOOK BEGINS HERE

(f) Payment of civil penalties or application for licensure in response to a citation under this
section do not permit the operation of a community care facility home without a license.
(Continued)

HANDBOOK ENDS HERE

Authority Cited: Sections 1524, 1530, and 1530.5, and 1531, Health and Safety Code.; and
Section 21 of Assembly Bill (AB) 1695 (Chapter 653, Statutes of 2001).

Reference: Sections 1501, 1501.1, 1503.5, 1508, 1520, 1533, 1536.1, 1540, 1540.1, 1541,
1547 and 1549, Health and Safety Code.
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Renumber Section 87055.1 to new Section 89255.1 to read:

8709255.1 Denial or Revocation of License for Failure to Pay 8709255.1
Civil Penalties  (Continued)

Authority Cited: Sections 1522, 1530 and 1548, Health and Safety Code; and Section 21 of
Assembly Bill (AB) 1695 (Chapter 653, Statutes of 2001)..

Reference: Sections 1534, 1548, and 1551, Health and Safety Code.
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Renumber Section 87056 to new Section 89256 to read:

8709256 Unlicensed Facility Administrative Appeal  (Continued) 8709256

Authority Cited: Sections 1530, and 1530.5, and 1547, Health and Safety Code; and Section 21
of Assembly Bill (AB) 1695 (Chapter 653, Statutes of 2001).

Reference: Sections 1503.5, 1508, 1536.1, 1540, 1541, 1541.1, and 1547, Health and
Safety Code.
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Adopt new Section 89261, renumber Section 87061(b) to new Section 89261(a), and amend to
read:

89261 Reporting Procedures     89261

87061(b)
(a) Upon the occurrence, during the operation of the facility home, of any of the events

specified in (1) below Section 89361(a), a report shall be made to the licensing agency
within the agency's next working day during its normal business hours.  In addition, a
written report containing the information specified in (2) below Section 89361(b) shall be
submitted to the licensing agency within seven days following the occurrence of such
event.

Authority Cited: Sections 1530, 1530.5, and 1531, Health and Safety Code; and Section 21 of
Assembly Bill (AB) 1695 (Chapter 653, Statutes of 2001).

Reference: Sections 1501, 1501.1, 1507, 1530.6, 1531, 1538, 1550.5, and 1557.5, Health
and Safety Code.



75

Repeal Article 7 (Title), renumber Section 87086 to new Section 89286 and amend to read:

Article 7.  PHYSICAL ENVIRONMENT

8709286 Alterations to Existing Foster Family Homes 8709286

(a) The licensing agency shall have the authority to require that the licensee caregiver have a
building inspection by a local building inspector if the agency suspects that a hazard to
health and safety exists.

HANDBOOK BEGINS HERE

(b) Prior to construction or alterations, state and local law requires that the licensee caregiver
shall secure a building permit.

HANDBOOK ENDS HERE

Authority Cited: Sections 1530 and 1530.5, Health and Safety Code.; and Assembly Bill (AB)
1695 (Chapter 653, Statutes of 2001).

Reference: Sections 1501, 1525.5, and 1531, Health and Safety Code.
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Amend Article 3. (Title); Renumber Section 87017 to new Section 89317 and amend to read:

Article 3.  APPLICATION PROCEDURES LICENSE/APPROVAL STANDARDS

8709317 Applicant Qualifications  (Continued) 8709317

(c) An applicant for a foster family home license shall:

(1) Attend and complete an orientation provided by the licensing/approval agency.

(2) Be educated, trained, or experienced in areas related to the qualifications specified in
(b) above.

(A) Applicable education shall be documented through submission, to the licensing
agency, of a copy of a certification, transcript or credentials.

(B) Applicable training shall be documented through submission, to the licensing
agency of a copy of a certificate of training.

(C) Applicable experience shall be documented in writing, by a person other than
the applicant, and submitted to the licensing agency.

(d) (Renumbered to Section 89405(b)).

Authority Cited: Sections 1530, and 1530.5, and 1531, Health and Safety Code.; and Section 21
of Assembly Bill (AB) 1695 (Chapter 653, Statutes of 2001).

Reference: Sections 1501, 1501.1, 1507, 1507.2, 1507.5, 1520, 1525.3, 1526.5, 1529.1,
1529.2, 1529.3, 1530.91, and 1531, and 1562, Health and Safety.
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Adopt new Section 89319 to read:

89319 Criminal Record Clearance Requirement 89319

All persons subject to criminal record review shall obtain a criminal record clearance from the
California Department of Social Services or county as appropriate.  Such review will require
submission of completed fingerprints pursuant to Health and Safety Code Section 1522.  The
licensing/approval agency will also conduct a search of the Child Abuse Clearance Index and
child abuse records.  The licensing/approval agency may conduct an authorized search of the
California Law Enforcement Telecommunications System (CLETS).

Authority Cited: Sections 1530, 1530.5, and 1531, Health and Safety Code; and Section 21 of
Assembly Bill (AB) 1695 (Chapter 653, Statutes of 2001).

Reference: Sections 1501, 1501.1, 1522 and 1522.1, Health and Safety Code.
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Adopt new Section 89323 to read:

89323 Emergency Plan 89323

(a) Each caregiver shall post emergency telephone numbers, discuss emergency situations
with children, practice emergency procedures every six months and at time of new
placements.

Authority Cited: Sections 1530, 1530.5, and 1531, Health and Safety Code; and Section 21 of
Assembly Bill (AB) 1695 (Chapter 653, Statutes of 2001).

Reference: Sections 1501, 1501.1, 1520 and 1531, Health and Safety Code.
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Repeal Article 6. (Title); Renumber Section 87061 to new Section 89361 and amend to read:

Article 6.  CONTINUING REQUIREMENTS

8709361 Reporting Requirements 8709361

(a) Each licensee caregiver or applicant shall furnish to the licensing/approval agency and the
child's authorized representative such reports as required by the dDepartment including but
not limited to those specified in this section. the following:

(b) (Renumbered to Section 89261(a)

(1) Events reported shall include the following:

(A1) (Continued)

(B2) Any injury or illness to any child which requires medical treatment.

(C3) (Continued)

(D4) (Continued)

(E5) Epidemic outbreaks Communicable diseases as reported to caregiver by a health
professional.

(F6) (Continued)

(G7) (Continued)

(H8) (Continued)

(2b) When a written report of such an event is required by the licensing/approval agency, the
caregiver shall submit, within 7 days, a written report of such event, which Information
provided shall includes the following information:

(A1) (Continued)

(B2) (Continued)

(C3) (Continued)

(D4) (Continued)

(c) The items below Any change in the caregiver's mailing address that does not also include a
change in location shall be reported to the licensing/approval agency within 10 working
days following the occurrence.
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(1) Any change in the licensee's or applicant's residence or mailing address.

(2) Any changes in the plan of operation which will affect the services to the children.

(d) When there is a change in the location of the home, the caregiver shall notify the
licensing/approval agency 30 days prior to the move or as soon as the information is
available.

(d) The items specified in (b)(1)(A) through (H) above shall also be reported to the child's
authorized representative.

(e) The items specified in (b)(1)(E) through (G) above shall also be reported to the local health
officer when appropriate, pursuant to Title 17, California Administrative Code, Section
2500, 2502 and 2503.

HANDBOOK BEGINS HERE

(1) Section 2500, Title 17, California Code of Regulations requires:

It shall be  the duty of every physician, practitioner, dentist, coroner, every
superintendent or manager of a dispensary, hospital, clinic, or any other person
knowing of or in attendance on a case or suspected case of any of the following
diseases or conditions, to notify the local health authority immediately.  A standard
type report form has been adopted and is available for this purpose.

Amebiasis Malaria
Anthrax Measles (Rubeola)
Botulism Meningitis, Viral
Brucellosis (Undulant Fever) Meningococcal Infections
Chancroid Mumps
Cholera Paratyphoid Fever, A, B and C
Coccidioidomycosis   (see Salmonella infections)
Conjunctivitis, Acute Pertussis (Whooping Cough)
  Infectious of the Newborn Plague
  (Gonorrheal Ophthalmia, Poliomyelitis, Paralytic
  Ophthalmia Neonatorum, Psittacosis
  and Babies' Sore Eyes in Q Fever
  the first 21 days of life) Rabies, Human or Animal
Dengue Relapsing Fever
Diarrhea of the Newborn Rheumatic Fever, Acute
Diphtheria Rocky Mountain Spotted Fever
Disorders Characterized by Salmonella, Infectious
  Lapses of Consciousness   (exclusive of typhoid fever)
Dysentery, Bacillary Scarlet Fever
  (see Shigella infections) Shigella infections
Encephalitis, viral Smallpox (Variola)
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Food Poisoning (other Streptococcal Infections,
  than Botulism)   hemolytic (including Scarlet
German Measles (Rubella)   Fever, and Streptococcal

  Sore Throat)
Gonococcal Infections Syphilis
Granuloma Inguinale Tetanus
Hepatitis, Infectious (A) Trachoma
Hepatitis, Serum (B) Trichinosis
Hepatitis, unspecified Tuberculosis
Hepatitis, Non-A, Non-B Tularemia
Leprosy (Hansen's Disease) Typhoid fever, cases and carriers
Leptospirosis (including Weil's Typhus fever
  Disease) Viral Exanthem in Pregnant Women
Lymphogranuloma Venereuum Yellow fever
  (Lymphogranuloma Inguinale)

For outbreak reporting and reporting of occurrence of unusual and rare diseases see
Sections 2502 and 2503.

(2) Section 2502, Title 17, California Code of Regulations requires:

Any person having knowledge of any outbreak or undue prevalence of infectious or
parasitic disease or infestation whether or not listed in Section 2500, shall promptly
report the facts to the local health officer, who  shall investigate the circumstances
and if he finds that an epidemic or undue prevalence does in fact exist, he shall
report the outbreak to the Director of the State Department of Health Services.  The
following are examples of diseases, outbreaks of which are to be so reported:

Epidemic Gastroenteritis Influenza, Epidemic
  (Other than food poisoning) Pneumonia, Infectious
Epidemic Keratoconjunctivitis Ringworm
Fevers of unknown etiology Staphylococcus Infections
Infectious Mononucleosis

(3) Section 2503, Title 17, California Code of Regulations requires:

Any person having knowledge of a case of an unusual disease not listed in Section
2500 shall promptly convey the facts to the local health officer.  Examples are:
glanders, herpangina, histoplasmosis, toxoplasmosis, echinococcosis, listeriosis, cat
scratch fever, reckettsialpox.

HANDBOOK ENDS HERE

(f) The item specified in (b)(1)(H) shall also be reported to the local fire authority.  In areas
not having organized fire services, a report shall be made to the State Fire Marshal within
24 hours.
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(ge) When the licensee caregiver intends to be absent from the home for 48 hours or longer, the
licensee caregiver shall notify the licensing/approval agency and the child's authorized
representative.,

(1) Notification shall be in writing, or by telephone and shall include the following
information:

(A1) Dates of intended absence.

(B2) Whether the child will accompany the licensee caregiver or remain in the home.

(C3) Telephone number where licensee caregiver may be contacted.

(D4) Name, address, telephone number of substitute as specified in Section 87064(a)(2)
care provider.

(hf) The licensee caregiver shall report all changes in household composition which would
affect the services provided children to the licensing agency in writing or by telephone
within ten working days.  These changes shall include, but not be limited to:

(1) Any additions to the licensee caregiver's family, including when the licensee
caregiver becomes guardian or conservator for any child or other person.

(2) The arrival or departure of any person, other than the children, residing in the home
requires immediate notification and clearance per the requirements of Health and
Safety Code Section 1522(b).

Authority Cited: Sections 1530, and 1530.5, 1531, Health and Safety Code.; and Section 21 of
Assembly Bill (AB) 1695 (Chapter 653, Statutes of 2001).

Reference: Sections 1501, 1501.1, 1507, 1507.2, 1507.5, 1520, 1530.6, and 1531, and
1557.5, Health and Safety Code.
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Adopt new Section 89370 to read:

89370 Children's Records 89370

(a) The caregiver shall maintain a separate, complete, and current record or file in the home
for each child, which includes a current placement agreement and Needs and Services Plan
for each child, and the name, birth date and date of placement in the home.

(b) The file should also contain a written consent that authorizes the caregiver to obtain other
ordinary medical and dental care in an emergency if the authorized representative cannot
be reached.

(c) All children's records shall be subject to inspection and reproduction by the
licensing/approval agency when requested.

(d) All information and records obtained from or regarding children shall be confidential
except as otherwise authorized by law.

Authority Cited: Sections 1530, 1530.5, and 1531, Health and Safety Code; Section 16001.9,
Welfare and Institutions Code; and Section 21 of Assembly Bill (AB) 1695
(Chapter 653, Statutes of 2001).

Reference: Sections 1501, 1520, 1531, and 1557.5, Health and Safety Code.
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Adopt new Section 89372, renumber Section 87072(a)(7) et seq. to Section 89372(c)(19) et seq.
and amend to read:

89372 Personal Rights 89372

(a) The caregiver shall ensure that each child is accorded the personal rights specified in this
section.

(b) Each child, and his/her authorized representative, shall be personally advised and given at
admission a copy of the rights specified in (c) below.

(c) Each child shall have personal rights which include but are not limited to the following:

(1) To be accorded safe, healthful and comfortable home accommodations, furnishings
and equipment that are appropriate to his/her needs.

(A) To have storage space for his/her private  use.

(2) To be treated with respect and to be free from physical, sexual, emotional or other
abuse.

(3) To be free from corporal or unusual punishment, infliction of pain, humiliation,
intimidation, ridicule, coercion, threat, mental abuse, or other actions of a punitive
nature including but not limited to interference with the daily living functions of
eating, sleeping, or toileting, or withholding of shelter, clothing, or aids to physical
functioning.

(4) To receive adequate and healthy food.

(5) To be provided adequate clothing and personal items.

(A) To wear his/her own clothes.

(B) To possess and use his/her own personal items including toiletries.

(6) To receive an allowance if living in a group home.

(7) To receive necessary medical, dental, vision, and mental health services.

(8) To be free of the administration of medication or chemical substances, unless
authorized by a physician and, if required, by court order.

(9) To have social contacts with people outside of the foster care system, such as
teachers, church members, mentors and friends.

(10) To contact family members, unless prohibited by court order.
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(11) To visit and contact brothers and sisters, unless prohibited by court order.

(12) To contact social workers, attorneys, foster youth advocates and supporters, Court
Appointed Special Advocates (CASA), and probation officers.

(13) To have visitors, provided the rights of others are not infringed upon.

(A) Relatives, during waking hours, unless prohibited by court order, or by the
child's authorized representative.

(B) Authorized representative.

(C) Other visitors, unless prohibited by court order or by the child's authorized
representative.

(14) To contact Community Care Licensing Division of the State Department of Social
Services if residing in a licensed home, or the State Foster Care Ombudsperson
regarding violations of rights, to speak to representatives of these offices
confidentially and to be free from threats or punishments for making complaints.

(A) To be informed and to have his/her authorized representative informed, by the
caregiver of the provisions of law regarding complaints, including but not
limited to the address and telephone number of the complaint, receiving unit of
the licensing agency and of information regarding the confidential registration
of complaints.

(15) To make and receive confidential telephone calls and send and receive unopened
mail, unless prohibited by court order.

(A) Reasonable restrictions may be imposed by the social worker/caregiver to calls
and correspondence.

(B) No restrictions shall be applied to those listed in (c)(12) above.

(C) Other reasonable  restrictions may be imposed.  The caregiver may:

1. Request long distance cost reimbursement, for calls made by the child,
from the child or his/her authorized representative;

2. Be permitted to deny the making of long distance calls by the child upon
verification that previous long distance calls have not been paid.

3. Ensure that telephone use does not infringe upon the rights of others, nor
tie up the phone during emergencies;
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4. Restrict the child's telephone use as reasonable discipline in compliance
with (B) above, and shall be subject to social worker review.

(D) To have access to letter writing material.

(16) To be free to attend religious services and activities of his/her choice and to have
visits from the spiritual advisor of his/her choice.

(17) To be accorded the independence appropriate to the child's age, maturity, and
capability consistent with the child's Needs and Services Plan or Transitional
Independent Living Plan (TILP) if applicable.

(A) To attend Independent Living Program classes and activities if he/she is 16 or
older.

(B) To maintain an emancipation bank account.

(C) To manage personal income, consistent with his/her age and developmental
level.

(D) To work and develop job skills at an age appropriate level that is consistent
with state law.

(E) To attend school and participate in extracurricular, cultural, and personal
enrichment acitivities, consistent with his/her age and developmental level.

(18) To not be locked in any room, building, or family home.

(A) The caregiver shall not be prohibited by this provision from locking exterior
doors and windows or from establishing house rules for the protection of the
children so long as the children can exit from the home.

87072(a)(7)
(19) Not to be placed in any restraining device.  Postural supports may be used if they are

approved in advance by the licensing agency as specified in (A) through (F) below.
(Continued)

(D) (Renumbered to Section 89220(b)).

(ED) (Continued)

(FE) (Continued)

(GF) (Continued)

(20) To be free to attend court hearings and speak to the judge.



87

(21) To contact his/her placing social worker to review his/her own case plan if he/she is
over 12 years of age and to receive information regarding out-of-home placement
and case plan, including being told of changes to the plan.

(22) To be accorded dignity in his/her personal relationships with other persons in the
home.

(A) To be free from unreasonable searches of person.

(B) To be free from unreasonable searches of personal belongings.

(23) To have all his/her juvenile court records be confidential, consistent with existing
law.

Authority Cited: Sections 1530, 1530.5, and 1531, Health and Safety Code; Section 16001.9,
Welfare and Institutions Code; and Section 21 of Assembly Bill (AB) 1695
(Chapter 653, Statutes of 2001).

Reference: Sections 1501, 1501.1, 1520, 1530.9, 1531, and 1559.110, Health and Safety
Code; and Section 16001.9, Welfare and Institutions Code.
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Renumber Section 87073 to new Section 89373 and amend to read:

8709373 Telephones 8709373

All foster family homes shall have telephone service, unless alternative telephone access is
approved and documented.

Authority Cited: Sections 1530, and 1530.5, and 1531, Health and Safety Code.; and Section 21
of Assembly Bill (AB) 1695 (Chapter 653, Statutes of 2001).

Reference: Sections 1501, 1520, 1524.7, and 1531, Health and Safety Code.
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Adopt new Section 89374 to read:

89374 Transportation 89374

The caregiver shall ensure that all transportation provided for children in their care is provided in
vehicles that are in safe operating condition and that the drivers comply with all applicable laws.

Authority Cited: Sections 1530 and 1530.5, Health and Safety Code; and Section 21 of
Assembly Bill (AB) 1695 (Chapter 653, Statutes of 2001).

Reference: Sections 1501 and 1531, Health and Safety Code.
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Adopt new Section 89376 to read:

89376 Food Service 89376

(a) The caregiver shall provide or ensure at least three nutritious meals per day and as
necessary to meet any special dietary needs documented in the child's Needs and Services
Plan.

(b) Whenever children in placement eat at the home, they will have their meals with family
members in a family setting.

(c) Infants under seven months shall be held during bottle-feeding.

Authority Cited: Sections 1530, 1530.5, and 1531, Health and Safety Code; and Section 21 of
Assembly Bill (AB) 1695 (Chapter 653, Statutes of 2001).

Reference: Sections 1501, 1501.1, 1520, and 1530, Health and Safety Code.
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Renumber Section 87078 to new Section 89378 and amend to read:

8709378 Responsibility for Providing Care and Supervision 8709378

(a) The licensee caregiver shall provide care and supervision as necessary to meet each child's
needs, and shall be available at all times unless documented in the child's Needs and
Services Plan, placement agreement, or Transitional Independent Living Plan (TILP) or
agreed to in advance by the licensing agency.

(b) The licensee caregiver shall provide those services identified in each child's nNeeds and
sServices pPlan and in the individualized health care plan for each child with special
health care needs as necessary to meet the child's needs Transitional Independent Living
Plan (TILP) if applicable.

(c) The licensee caregiver is responsible for ensuring care and supervision of the child(ren) of
any minor parent in placement.

(1) Direct care and supervision of the child(ren) of a minor parent is to be provided
during the hours that the minor parent is unavailable or unable to provide such care
and supervision.

Authority Cited: Section 17730, Welfare and Institutions Code and Sections 1530, 1530.5, and
1531, Health and Safety Code.; and Section 21 of Assembly Bill (AB) 1695
(Chapter 653, Statutes of 2001).

Reference: Sections 11465 and 17731, Welfare and Institutions Code; and Sections 1501,
1520, 1530.6, and 1531, and 1559.110, Health and Safety Code; and 42 USC
Section 677 of the Social Security Act.
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Renumber Section 87079 to new Section 89379 and amend to read:

8709379 Activities 8709379

(a) The licensee caregiver shall provide opportunity for, and encourage participation in, group
sports, leisure time, family, special school, and daily living skill activities., including but
not limited to the following:

(1) Activities that require group interaction.

(2) Physical activities including but not limited to games, sports, and exercise.

(3) Leisure time for the children and participation with other members of the licensee's
family in leisure time activities.

(4) Education through enrollment in public, private or special schools and assistance
with school work.

(5) Learning of daily living skills, including but not limited to bathing, dressing,
grooming, manners, shopping, cooking, money management, and use of public
transportation.

(b) The child shall not be required to perform duties which interfere with school, training,
treatment programs or family visits.  The caregiver shall ensure direct care and supervision
is provided to meet the child's needs during participation in those activities that are
sponsored by third parties, except that school-sponsored activities shall be presumed to
provide adequate care and supervision.

HANDBOOK BEGINS HERE

When a caregiver is determining whether a sponsor, other than a school, is providing
adequate care and supervision, the caregiver should consider who the sponsor is and what
supervision and safeguards are in place.

HANDBOOK ENDS HERE

Authority Cited: Sections 1530, and 1530.5, and 1531, Health and Safety Code.; and Section 21
of Assembly Bill (AB) 1695 (Chapter 653, Statutes of 2001).

Reference: Sections 1501, 1501.1, 1530.6, and 1531, Health and Safety Code.
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Renumber Section 87087 to new Section 89387 and amend to read:

8709387 Building and Grounds 8709387

(a) The licensee caregiver shall provide bedrooms in the home which shall meet, at a
minimum, the following requirements unless a documented alternative plan is approved:
(Continued)

87088(b)
(5) The licensee caregiver shall provide each child with an individual bed which is

equipped with a clean, comfortable mattress, clean linens, blankets, and pillows, as
needed, all in good repair.

87088(b)(1)
(A) Linen shall be changed at least once per week or more often when necessary to

ensure that clean linen is in use by children at all times.

87088(b)(2)
(B) Beds shall be arranged to allow easy passage between beds and easy entrance

into the room.

HANDBOOK BEGINS HERE

(3) Rubber or plastic sheeting or bed coverings should be provided when needed.

HANDBOOK ENDS HERE

87088(l)
(6) Each bedroom shall have portable or permanent closets and drawer space to

accommodate the child's clothing and personal belongings.

87088(c)
(7) The licensee caregiver shall provide each infant with a safe and sturdy bassinet or

crib, appropriate to the child's age and size.

(58) Except for infants, children shall not share a bedroom with an adult.

(A) In bedrooms shared by adults and infants, no more than one two infants and no
more than two adults shall share the room.

(B) If two children have been sharing a bedroom and one of them turns 18, they
may continue to share the bedroom as long as they remain compatible and the
licensing agency has granted an exception pursuant to Section 87024.
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(69) Sections 8709387(a)(1) through (a)(58) apply to all bedrooms used by all children
residing in the facility home, including children who are members of the licensee
caregiver's family, guardianship children, and children in placement.

(710) Sections 8709387(a)(3) and (a)(4) apply to all bedrooms used by the licensee(s)
caregiver and all other adults residing in the facility home.

(b) The home shall be clean, safe, sanitary and in good repair at all times for the safety and
well-being of the children.

(1) The licensee shall take measures to keep the home reasonably free of flies and other
insects.

(c) (Continued)

(d) All homes that accept children under 10 years of age or a child that has a condition
including one that makes the child developmentally disabled, or mentally handicapped,
and for whom special care and supervision is required as a result of his/her condition, shall
ensure the inaccessibility of pools, including swimming pools (in-ground and above-
ground), fixed-in-place wading pools, hot tubs, spas, fish ponds, and similar bodies of
water through a pool cover or by surrounding the pool with a fence.  by using at least one
of the following safety features:

(1) The pool shall be isolated from access to a home by an enclosure, as defined in
Section 115921(c) and that meets the requirements of Section 115923 of the Health
and Safety Code and does not obscure the pool from view.

HANDBOOK BEGINS HERE

Section 115921 of the Health and Safety Code states in pertinent part:

(c) "Enclosure" means a fence, wall, or other barrier that isolates a swimming pool
from access to the home.

Section 115923 of the Health and Safety Code states:

An enclosure shall have all of the following characteristics:

(a)  Any access gates through the enclosure open away from the swimming pool, and
are self-closing with a self-latching device placed no lower than 60 inches above the
ground.

(b)  A minimum height of 60 inches.

(c)  A maximum vertical clearance from the ground to the bottom of the enclosure of
two inches.
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(d)  Gaps of voids, if any, do not allow passage of a sphere equal or greater than four
inches in diameter.

(e)  An outside surface free of protrusions, cavities, or other physical characteristics
that would serve as handholds or footholds that could enable a child below the age of
five years to climb over.

HANDBOOK ENDS HERE

(2) The pool shall be equipped with an approved safety pool cover as defined in Section
115921 of the Health and Safety Code.

HANDBOOK BEGINS HERE

Section 115921(d) of the Health and Safety Code states in pertinent part:

(d)  "Approved safety pool cover" means a manually or power-operated safety pool
cover that meets all of the performance standards of the American Society for
Testing and Materials (ASTM), in compliance with standard F1346-91.

HANDBOOK ENDS HERE

(3) When the Department determines that it is not feasible for the caregiver to comply
with (1) or (2) above, the residence shall be equipped with exit alarms, as defined in
Section 115921(e) of the Health and Safety Code, on those doors providing direct
access to the pool.

HANDBOOK BEGINS HERE

Section 115921 of the Health and Safety Code states in pertinent part:

(e)  "Exit alarms" means devices that make audible, continuous alarm sounds when
any door or window, that permits access from the residence to the pool area that is
without any intervening enclosure, is opened or is left ajar.  Exit alarms may be
battery operated or may be connected to the electrical wiring of the building.

HANDBOOK ENDS HERE

(4) All doors providing direct access from the home to the swimming pool shall be
equipped with a self-closing, self-latching device with a release mechanism placed
no lower than 54 inches above the floor.

(5) All windows providing direct access from the home to the swimming pool shall be
secured so that they cannot open more than 4 inches, however, if they are sleeping
rooms, they must use an exit alarm.
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(6) Other means of protection, if the degree of protection afforded is equal to or greater
than that afforded by any of the devices set forth in subdivisions (1) to (4), inclusive,
as determined by the building official of the jurisdiction issuing the applicable
building permit, or other official documentation.  Any ordinance governing child
access to pools adopted by a political subdivision on or before January 1, 1997, is
presumed to afford protection that is equal to or greater than that afforded by any of
the devices set forth in subdivisions (a) to (d), inclusive.

(A) The caregiver must submit to the department documentation of approval by the
building official of his/her jurisdiction before accepting children described in
subsection (d) above.

(1) Fences shall be at least five feet high and shall be constructed so that the fence does
not obscure the pool from view.  The bottom and sides of the fence shall comply
with Division 1, Appendix Chapter 4 of the 1994 Uniform Building Code.  In
addition to meeting all of the aforementioned requirements for fences, gates shall
swing away from the pool, self-close and have a  self-latching device located no
more than six inches from the top of the gate.  Pool covers shall be strong enough to
completely support the weight of an adult and shall be placed on the pool and locked
while the pool is not in use.

(AB) If licensed prior to June 1, 1995, facilities with existing pool fencing shall be
exempt from the fence requirements specified in Section 8709387(d)(1) until
such fence is replaced or structurally altered.  When the licensee caregiver
replaces or alters the fence, it shall be required to meet the fence requirements
specified in Section 8709387(d)(1).

(e) (2)  Where If the home has an above-ground pool, structure is used as the fence or where
the fence is mounted on top of the pool structure, the pool shall be made inaccessible when
not in use by removing or making the ladder inaccessible or erecting a barricade to prevent
access to decking  the pool shall be made inaccessible when not in use by removing or
making the ladder inaccessible and by the use of a barricade.  If a barricade is used, the
Any barricade, whether or not it includes the above-ground pool structure itself, shall meet
the requirements of Section 8709387(d)(1).

(ef) (Continued)

87064(c)(1)
(g) An adult who has the ability to swim shall provide supervision at all times when children

are using a pool or a body of water from which rescue requires the rescuer's ability to
swim.

(fh) The licensee caregiver who accepts a child with a disability shall make necessary specific
provisions including but not limited to changes to the buildings and grounds as required to
protect and assist the child and maximize the child's potential for self-help.

87088(a)



97

(i) The licensee caregiver shall maintain at least one operative toilet, sink, and tub or shower.

(1) Additional equipment, aids, and/or conveniences shall be provided in home
accommodating children who need such items.

(2) All toilets, handwashing and bathing facilities shall be maintained in safe, clean and
sanitary operating conditions.

87088(d)
(j) Bunk beds of more than two tiers shall not be used.

(1) Bunk beds shall have railings on the upper tier to prevent falling.

(2) Children under five years of age or those who are unable to climb into or out of the
upper tier unassisted shall not be permitted to use the upper tier.

87088(e)
(k) The licensee caregiver shall maintain a comfortable temperature for children at all times.

(1) The licensee shall maintain the temperature in rooms that children occupy between a
minimum of 68 degrees F (20 degrees C) and a maximum of 85 degrees F (30
degrees C).

(A) In areas of extreme heat, the maximum shall be 30 degrees F (16.6 degrees C)
less than the outside temperature.

87088(f)
(l) The caregiver shall ensure the safety of the child in home with Ffireplaces and open-faced

heaters shall be made inaccessible to children and woodstoves.

HANDBOOK BEGINS HERE

(1) The use of a fireplace screen or similar barrier will meet this requirement.

HANDBOOK ENDS HERE

87088(h)
(m) The licensee caregiver shall provide lamps or light as necessary in all rooms and other

areas to ensure the comfort and safety of all persons in the home.

87088(i)
(n) Faucets used by clients for personal care and grooming shall deliver hot water at a safe

temperature.

(1) Hot water temperature controls shall automatically regulate temperature of hot water
delivered to plumbing fixtures used by children to attain a hot water temperature of
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not less than 105 degrees F (40.5 degrees C) and not more than 120 degrees F (48.8
degrees C).

87088(j)
(o) Solid wWaste shall be stored, located and disposed of in a manner that will not permit the

transmission of communicable disease or of odors, create a nuisance, provide a breeding
place or food source for insects or rodents.

(1) All containers, including movable bins, used for storage of solid wastes shall have
tight fitting covers on the containers, shall be in good repair, shall be leakproof and
rodent-proof and shall be maintained in a clean and sanitary condition.

(2) Solid waste containers, including movable bins, receiving putrescible waste shall be
emptied at least once per week or more often if necessary to comply with (j) above.

(3) Each movable bin shall provide for suitable access and a drainage device to allow
complete cleaning at the storage area.

87088(m)
(p) All foster family homes, except homes with sprinkling systems, shall have an approved

commercially manufactured and functioning smoke detector installed in the hallway(s) in
each sleeping area in the home.  The smoke detectors shall be audible in each bedroom or
sleeping room.

(q) Each bedroom or sleeping room shall have at least one operable window or door that
ensures safe, direct, emergency exit to the outside.  If security window bars are used, the
window is considered operable only if the window bars have a safety release device that
meets all state and local requirements.

HANDBOOK BEGINS HERE

The Department shall notify the caregiver of the requirements of Section 1531.4 of the
Health and Safety Code, which states:

On and after January 1, 1999, no security window bars may be installed or maintained on
any community care facility unless the security window bars meet current state and local
requirements, as applicable, for security window bars and safely release devices.

HANDBOOK ENDS HERE

Authority Cited: Sections 1530, and 1530.5, 1531, and 115926, Health and Safety Code.; and
Section 21 of Assembly Bill (AB) 1695 (Chapter 653, Statutes of 2001).
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Reference: Sections 1501, 1501.1, and 1531, 1531.4, 115921, and 115923, Health and
Safety Code.
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Renumber Section 87087.2 to new Section 89387.1 and amend to read:

8709387.21Outdoor Activity Space 8709387.21

(a) The licensee caregiver shall provide yard or outdoor activity space which that is free from
hazards to life and health.

(1) Where the licensee resides in an apartment, condominium, or similar housing
arrangement which does not have separate yard space, the outdoor activity space
shall include, but not be limited to, activity centers and public parks.

(2) A sketch of the physical plant, as required in the plan of operation pursuant to
Section 87022, shall include the location(s) of the outdoor activity space.

(3) The outdoor activity space shall not include any area made inaccessible by fencing
pursuant to Section 87087(d).

(4) Where natural or man-made hazards such as canals, cliffs, creeks, condemned
buildings, ditches, lakes, ocean fronts, mines, power lines, quarries, rivers, ravines,
swamps, watercourses, and areas subject to flooding lie on or adjacent to the facility
premises, the outdoor activity space shall be inaccessible to such hazards.

(A) Where a fence or wall is used to make the outdoor activity space inaccessible,
the requirements of Section 87087(d)(1) shall be met.

Authority Cited: Sections 1530, and 1530.5, and 1531, Health and Safety Code.; and Section 21
of Assembly Bill (AB) 1695 (Chapter 653, Statutes of 2001).

Reference: Sections 1501, 1501.1, and 1531, Health and Safety Code.
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Renumber Section 87087.4 to new Section 89387.2 and amend to read:

8709387.42   Storage Space 8709387.42

(a) Medicines, disinfectants, cleaning solutions, poisons, firearms and other dangerous items
shall be stored where inaccessible to children.

(1) Storage areas for poisons, and firearms and other dangerous weapons shall be
locked.

(2) In lieu of locked storage of firearms, the licensee caregiver may use trigger locks or
remove the firing pin.  (Continued)

(b) Medicines, disinfectants, and cleaning solutions may be accessible to children consistent
with the child's Needs and Services Plan or TILP if applicable shall be stored as specified
in Section 87075(k) and separately from other items specified in Section 87087.4(a).

(c) General storage space shall be available to ensure that nothing is stored in space used to
meet other requirements of these regulations.

(d) The items specified in (a) above shall not be stored in food storage areas or in storage areas
used by or for clients/children.

Authority Cited: Sections 1524, 1530 and 1530.5, Health and Safety Code.; and Section 21 of
Assembly Bill (AB) 1695 (Chapter 653, Statutes of 2001).

Reference: Sections 1501 and 1531, Health and Safety Code; Section 16001.9, Welfare
and Institutions Code; and 42 USC Section 677 of the Social Security Act.
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Adopt new Section 89388, renumber Section 87012(a) to new Section 89388(b) and amend to
read:

89388 Cooperation and Compliance 89388

(a) The caregiver shall maintain and cooperate with all caregiver standards.

87012(a)
(b) No licensee caregiver shall make or disseminate any false or misleading statement

associated with the application for licensure/approval, including but not limited to
information regarding the applicant, family members, family home, or any of the services
provided by the home.

Authority Cited: Sections 1530, and 1530.5, and 1531, Health and Safety Code.; and Section 21
of Assembly Bill (AB) 1695 (Chapter 653, Statutes of 2001).

Reference: Sections 1501, 1508 1520, and 1531, Health and Safety Code.
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Adopt new Article 4. (Title) and new Section 89400 to read:

Article 4.  PLACEMENT

89400 Licensure Is Not an Entitlement to Placement 89400

(a) A license is required prior to placement, but the license does not entitle the caregiver to
placement of a child pursuant to Section 16507.5 of the Welfare and Institutions Code.

HANDBOOK BEGINS HERE

(1) Welfare and Institutions Code Section 16507.5 provides in part:

The granting of a community care license or approval status does not entitle the
caregiver to the placement of a specific child or children.  Placement is based on the
child's needs and best interest.

HANDBOOK ENDS HERE

Authority Cited: Sections 1530, 1530.5, and 1531, Health and Safety Code; and Section 21 of
Assembly Bill (AB) 1695 (Chapter 653, Statutes of 2001).

Reference: Sections 1501 and 1501.1, Health and Safety Code; and Section 16507.5,
Welfare and Institutions Code.
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Adopt new Section 89405, renumber Section 87017(d) et seq. to new Section 89405(d) et seq.
and amend to read:

89405 Training Requirements 89405

(a) Any time a child is in the home, at least one of the persons providing regular and routine
care and supervision to the child shall have received current training in first aid and/or
Cardiopulmonary Resuscitation (CPR).  Training shall be obtained from an agency
offering such training including, but not limited to, the American Red Cross, and shall be
current and appropriate to the child's age and needs.

In addition to all other required training, the caregiver shall complete the training required
in Section 1529.2 of the Health and Safety Code.

HANDBOOK BEGINS HERE

(1) Health and Safety Code Section 1529.2 provides:

"(a) In addition to the foster parent training provided pursuant to Section 903.7 of
the Welfare and Institutions Code, foster family agencies shall supplement the
community college training by providing a program of training for their
certified foster families.

"(b) (1) Every licensed foster parent shall complete a minimum of 12 hours of
foster parent training, as prescribed in paragraph (3), before the
placement of any foster children with the foster parent. In addition, a
foster parent shall complete a minimum of eight hours of foster parent
training annually as prescribed in paragraph (4). No child shall be placed
in a foster family home unless these requirements are met by the persons
in the home who are serving as the foster parents.

"(2) (A) Upon the request of the foster parent for a hardship waiver from
the postplacement training requirement or a request for an
extension of the deadline, the county may, at its option, on a case-
by-case basis, waive the postplacement training requirement or
extend any established deadline for a period not to exceed one
year, if the postplacement training requirement presents a severe
and unavoidable obstacle to continuing as a foster parent.
Obstacles for which a county may grant a hardship waiver or
extension are:

"(i) Lack of access to training due to the cost or travel required.

"(ii) Family emergency.
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"(B) Before a waiver or extension may be granted, the foster parent
should explore the opportunity of receiving training by video or
written materials.

"(3) The initial preplacement training shall include, but not be limited to,
training courses that cover all of the following:

"(A) An overview of the child protective system.

"(B) The effects of child abuse and neglect on child development.

"(C) Positive discipline and the importance of self-esteem.

"(D) Health issues in foster care.

"(E) Accessing education and health services available to foster
children.

"(4) The postplacement annual training shall include, but not be limited to,
training courses that cover all of the following:

"(A) Age-appropriate child development.

"(B) Health issues in foster care.

"(C) Positive discipline and the importance of self-esteem.

"(D) Emancipation and independent living skills if a foster parent is
caring for youth.

"(5) Foster parent training may be attained through a variety of sources,
including community colleges, counties, hospitals, foster parent
associations, the California State Foster Parent Association's Conference,
adult schools, and certified foster parent instructors.

"(6) A candidate for placement of foster children shall submit a certificate of
training to document completion of the training requirements.  The
certificate shall be submitted with the initial consideration for
placements and provided at the time of the annual visit by the licensing
agency thereafter.

"(c) Nothing in this section shall preclude a county from requiring county-provided
preplacement or postplacement foster parent training in excess of the
requirements in this section."
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87017(d)
(b) The following are examples of course, seminar, conference or training topics which will be

accepted by the licensing agency to meet the requirements in (ca) above.  Programs which
can be shown to be similar will also be accepted.  (Continued)

(6) Building self-esteem, for the licensee caregiver or the children

(7) First aid and/or CPR

(87) Record keeping

(9) Bonding and/or safeguarding of children's property

(108) Licensee Caregiver rights and grievance process

(119) Licensing and placement regulations

(120) Rights and responsibilities of foster family home providers

HANDBOOK ENDS HERE

Authority Cited: Sections 1530, 1530.5, and 1531, Health and Safety Code; and Section 21 of
Assembly Bill (AB) 1695 (Chapter 653, Statutes of 2001).

Reference: Sections 1529.1, 1529.2, 1529.3, and 1562, Health and Safety Code; and
Section 903.7, Welfare and Institutions Code.
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Renumber Section 87010 to new Section 89410 and amend to read:

8709410 Limitations on Capacity and Ambulatory Status 8709410

(a) The licensee caregiver shall not operate a home beyond the conditions and limitations
specified in the license, including the capacity limitation.

(b) The licensee caregiver shall not accept more than two infants, including infants in the
licensee caregiver's family, without additional household help.

(c) The licensee caregiver shall not place nonambulatory children in any room approved to
accommodate only ambulatory children.  (Continued)

(d) The licensee shall not accept more than one ventilator-dependent child.

Authority Cited: Sections 1530, and 1530.5, and 1531, Health and Safety Code.; and Section 21
of Assembly Bill (AB) 1695 (Chapter 653, Statutes of 2001).

Reference: Sections 1501, 1501.1, 1507, 1507.2, 1507.5, 1525.25, 1530.6, and 1531,
Health and Safety Code.
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Renumber Section 87020 to new Section 89420 and amend to read:

8709420 Fire Clearance 8709420

(a) Prior to accepting a disabled child, or deciding to continue to provide services to a child
determined after placement to have a disability, the licensee caregiver shall notify the
licensing agency so that a fire clearance, approved by the city or county local fire
department, the district providing fire protection services, or the State Fire Marshal
authority having jurisdiction, can be obtained.

(1) The request for fire clearance shall be made through and maintained by the licensing
agency.

HANDBOOK BEGINS HERE

(21) Health and Safety Code Section 13143 provides generally in pertinent part:
(Continued)

HANDBOOK ENDS HERE

87072(a)(7)(D)
(b) The licensing agency shall approve the use of postural supports only after the appropriate

fire clearance, as required by Section 87020, has been secured.

Authority Cited: Sections 1530, and 1530.5, and 1531, Health and Safety Code.; and Section 21
of Assembly Bill (AB) 1695 (Chapter 653, Statutes of 2001).

Reference: Sections 1501, 1501.1, 1507.2, and 1531, 1531.4, and 13143, Health and
Safety Code.
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Renumber Section 87021 to new Section 89421 and amend to read:

8709421 Water Supply Clearance 8709421

(a) Any home where water for human consumption is from a private source shall meet the
following requirements:

(1) As a condition of initial licensure Prior to the home accepting its first placement, the
applicant caregiver shall provide evidence of an on-site inspection of the source of
the water and a bacteriological analysis which establishes the safety of the water,
conducted by the local health department, the State Department of Health or a
licensed commercial laboratory.

(2) Subsequent to initial licensure, placement the licensee caregiver shall be required to
provide additional analyses only when the licensing agency documents the need for
an analysis to assure the health and safety of the children.

Authority Cited: Sections 1530, and 1530.5, and 1531, Health and Safety Code.; and Section 21
of Assembly Bill (AB) 1695 (Chapter 653, Statutes of 2001).

Reference: Sections 1501, 1501.1, 1520 and 1531, Health and Safety Code.
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Renumber Section 87065 to new Section 89465 and amend to read:

8709465 Personnel Caregiver Requirements 8709465

(a) The licensee shall provide competent household help, if needed, to provide the services
necessary to meet the children's needs.

(ba) The licensing agency shall have the authority to require any licensee caregiver to provide
additional household help whenever the agency determines that additional help is required
for the provision of necessary services to children.  (Continued)

(2) The following factors shall be used in determining the need for additional staff:
(Continued)

(D) Any change in the considerations listed in Section 89231(c).

(c) The licensee shall be permitted to utilize volunteers provided that such volunteers are
supervised, meet requirements consistent with their duties, and are not left in charge of the
home at any time, except as specified in Section 87064(a)(2).

(db) The licensee caregiver, including additional help, shall be in good health, and shall be
physically, mentally, and occupationally capable of complying with these regulations.
(Continued)

(2) (Continued)

(A) The presence of any health condition that would create a hazard to the licensee
caregiver or children.

(fc) Physician reports from general practitioners or specialists may be required after licensure
if the licensing agency has reason to believe that the physical and/or mental health of the
licensee's caregiver, including additional help, or staff member's physical and/or mental
health is not adequate to carry out responsibilities specified in these regulations.

(1) The licensing agency shall provide the licensee a written explanation of the need for
any additional report.

HANDBOOK BEGINS HERE

(1) The licensing agency shall provide the caregiver a written explanation of the need
for any additional report.

(2) The licensing agency shall specify in writing what written information is required
from the caregiver.

HANDBOOK ENDS HERE
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(ed) All other adults regularly in the home shall have a test for tuberculosis performed not more
than one year prior to or seven days after initial presence in the facility.

(g) Personnel with evidence of physical illness that poses a threat to the health and safety of
children shall be relieved of their duties.

Authority Cited: Sections 1530, and 1530.5, and 1531, Health and Safety Code.; and Section 21
of Assembly Bill (AB) 1695 (Chapter 653, Statutes of 2001).

Reference: Sections 1501, 1501.1, 1507, 1507.2, 1530.6, and 1531, Health and Safety
Code.
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Renumber Section 87068.1 to new Section 89468 and amend to read:

8709468.1 Admission Procedures 8709468.1

(a) The licensee shall develop, maintain and implement admission procedures which shall
meet the requirements specified in this section.

(b) Upon placement the licensee shall:

(1) Request the information specified in Section 87068.2.

(2) Obtain the information specified in Section 87070(b)(1) through (13).

(3) Complete, and have signed, an admission agreement as specified in Section 87068.

87068.2
(a) At the time of placement for each child, the licensee caregiver shall request for each child,

a from the placement worker, if it is not provided immediately, the Child's Health and
Education Passport and nNeeds and sServices pPlan, which describes his/her service
needs.

(1) Such plan shall be requested from the child's authorized representative.

(b) The licensee shall use a form approved by the licensing agency for the needs and services
plans.

(cb) The nNeeds and sServices pPlan shall contain at a minimum the following information
which includes but is not limited to:

(1) - (8)  (Continued)

(9) Plan for providing services to meet the individual needs identified above.

(A) The licensee shall develop and comply with the plan to ensure that the in-home
medical services required by a ventilator-dependent child are provided to meet
the child's needs.  The plan shall include the following:

(1) Name, address, and telephone number of the licensed home health
agency involved as the provider of in-home medically related services.

(2) Number of in-home medical services hours per day required by the child.

(3) Schedule of in-home medical services hours provided by the licensed
home health agency.

(10) Signature of the person or representative of the agency providing the information.



113

(d) If the licensee is not given the child's record with the above information at the time of
placement, the licensee shall make telephone and/or written requests for the information to
the child's authorized representative and shall record and retain the details of those
requests.

(1) If the information is not received within 15 calendar days, the licensee shall obtain
an assessment of current service needs from other sources.

87068.1
(c) As soon as the information specified in (b)(1) above is available Needs and Services Plan

and Health Education Passport is received from the placement worker, the licensee
caregiver shall review the information and determine;:

(1) The licensee caregiver's ability to meet the individual needs of the child.

(2) The licensee caregiver's ability to continue meeting the needs of other children and
the licensee caregiver's family.

(d) If it is determined after review that the home cannot meet the service needs of the child,
the licensee caregiver shall:

(1) Inform the child's authorized representative.

(2) Request that the child be placed elsewhere.

(e) The caregiver shall keep a copy of the current Needs and Services Plan, Transitional
Independent Living Plan (TILP) and the health education passport and comply with the
portion of the case plan provided by the placing social worker that pertains to care of the
child.

Authority Cited: Sections 1530, and 1530.5, and 1531, Health and Safety Code.; and Section 21
of Assembly Bill (AB) 1695 (Chapter 653, Statutes of 2001).

Reference: Sections 1501, 1501.1, 1507, 1507.2, 1520, 1530.6, and 1531, and 1557.5,
Health and Safety Code.
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Renumber Section 87069 to new Section 89469 and amend to read:

8709469 Children's Medical Assessments 8709469

(a) Prior to, or wWithin 30 calendar days following the acceptance of accepting a child, the
licensee caregiver shall obtain a recent written medical assessment of the child.

(1) Such assessment shall be performed by, or under the supervision of, a licensed
physician, and shall not be more than one year old when obtained.  A recent medical
assessment shall not be more than a year old.

(b) The medical assessment shall provide the following:

(1) A record of any infectious or contagious diseases which would preclude care of the
child by the facility.

(2) A test for tuberculosis.

(3) A record of immunizations and childhood diseases.

(4) Identification of the child's special problems and needs.

(5) Identification of any prescribed medications being taken by the child.

(6) Ambulatory status.

(cb) The licensing agency shall have the authority to require the licensee caregiver to obtain a
current written medical assessment, if such an assessment is necessary to verify the
appropriateness of a child's placement.

Authority Cited: Sections 1530, and 1530.5, and 1531, Health and Safety Code.; and Section 21
of Assembly Bill (AB) 1695 (Chapter 653, Statutes of 2001).

Reference: Sections 1501, 1501.1, 1507, 1507.2, 1507.5, 1520, 1530.6, and 1531, and
1557.5, Health and Safety Code.
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Renumber Section 87075, in part, to new Section 89475 and amend to read:

8709475 Health Related Services 8709475

(ia) When providing fFamily health care, the licensee shall ensure that the child's physician or
designated registered nurse has assigned the specific task(s) and has as defined in Section
89201 shall be administered as outlined by the appropriate medical professional in writing.

(1) The medical professional shall provided adequate, practical and written instruction.
(1) The date, time and content of all contacts with the physician or nurse shall be

documented and maintained in the child's file.

(gb) Any time a child is in the home, at least one of the persons providing direct regular and
routine care and supervision to the child shall have received current training in first aid and
CPR.  Training shall be obtained from an agency offering such training including, but not
limited to, the American Red Cross, and shall be appropriate to the child's age and needs.

(1) The licensee caregiver shall maintain copies of unexpired first aid and CPR
certificates documenting the training required.

(2) Any adult providing direct care and supervision at any time to a ventilator-dependent
child shall maintain documentation verifying current training received in first aid and
CPR from agencies offering such training including, but not limited to, the American
Red Cross.  The caregiver shall maintain first aid supplies appropriate to the needs of
the children in care.

(dc) The licensee shall assist children with self-administered medications as needed.  When a
child has a health condition that requires the administration of medication, the caregiver
shall:

(1) The licensee, unless authorized by law, shall not administer injections but shall be
authorized to aAssist children with self-administration of injections as needed.

(2) Ensure that instructions are followed as outlined by the appropriate medical
professional.

(3) Medication shall be stored in the original container with the original unaltered label.

(4) Prescription medication must be administered as per directions on the label or as
advised by the physician in writing.

(5) Non-prescription medication must be administered as directed by the appropriate
medical professional and documented by the caregiver.

(6) The administration of PRN medication shall also require documentation by the
caregiver of the date, time and dose of medication administered.
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(7) If the child can not determine his/her own need, the caregiver shall determine need in
accordance with medical instructions.

Authority Cited: Sections 1530, and 1530.5, and 1531, Health and Safety Code.; and Section 21
of Assembly Bill (AB) 1695 (Chapter 653, Statutes of 2001).

Reference: Sections 1501, 1501.1, 1507, 1507.2, 1507.5, 1530.6 and 1531, Health and
Safety Code; and Business and Professions Code Section 2727(a).
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Adopt new Article 5. (Title); Renumber Section 87010.1 to new Section 89510.1 and amend to
read:

Article 5.  SPECIAL HEALTH CARE NEEDS

8709510.1 Limitations on Capacity for Specialized Foster Family Homes 8709510.1

(a) No more than two children with or without special health care needs shall reside even on a
temporary basis in a specialized foster family home with the following exceptions:

(1) A specialized foster family home may accept a third child with or without special
health care needs provided that the licensed capacity, as determined by the licensing
agency under Section 8709228 is not exceeded, and all of the following conditions
are met:

(A) The county social worker, regional center caseworker or authorized
representative responsible for the placement of the child determines the
following:

1. That in the county or, if the child is a regional center client, the regional
center catchment area, in which the facility home is physically located,
(Continued)

Authority Cited: Section 17730, Welfare and Institutions Code; and Sections 1530, 1530.5 and
1531, Health and Safety Code.; and Section 21 of Assembly Bill (AB) 1695
(Chapter 653, Statutes of 2001).

Reference: Sections 17732, 17732(a) and 17736(b), Welfare and Institutions Code and
Sections 1502(a), 1507, 1507.2, and 1507.5, and 1530.6, Health and Safety
Code.
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Renumber Section 87010.2 to new Section 89510.2 and amend to read:

8709510.2 Prohibition of Dual Licensure for Specialized Foster Family Homes 8709510.2

(a) A foster family home licensee caregiver shall not hold any day care, other residential or
health care facility home license for the same premises as the foster family home while
caring for children with special health care needs.

(1) Any foster family home licensee caregiver planning to care for a child with special
health care needs who holds any license as specified in (a) above shall surrender the
license prior to accepting a child with special health care needs.

Authority Cited: Section 17730, Welfare and Institutions Code; and Sections 1530, 1530.5 and
1531, Health and Safety Code.; and Section 21 of Assembly Bill (AB) 1695
(Chapter 653, Statutes of 2001).

Reference: Section 17732, Welfare and Institutions Code and Section 1531, Health and
Safety Code.
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Renumber Section 87065.1 to new Section 89565.1 and amend to read:

8709565.1 Personnel Caregiver Requirements for Specialized Foster Family Homes 8709565.1

(a) In addition to Section 8709465, the licensee caregiver and any other person who is
providing in-home health care to a child with special health care needs shall comply with
the following requirements:  (Continued)

(b) (Continued)

(2) (Continued)

(B) The presence of any health condition that would create a hazard to the licensee
caregiver, children or staff.

Authority Cited: Section 17730, Welfare and Institutions Code; and Section 1530, Health and
Safety Code.; and Section 21 of Assembly Bill (AB) 1695 (Chapter 653,
Statutes of 2001).

Reference: Section 17731(c), Welfare and Institutions Code and Sections 1531 and 1562,
Health and Safety Code.
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Renumber Section 87066 to new Section 89566 and amend to read:

8709566 Personnel Records for Specialized Foster Family Homes 8709566

(a) The licensee caregiver shall ensure that the personnel records of the licensee caregiver and
all persons subject to the requirements of Section 8709565.1(a) contain the following:

(1) For any training or additional training from which the licensee caregiver or other in-
home health care provider is exempt:

(A) Documentation that the child's individualized health care plan team has
determined that it is not necessary for the licensee caregiver or other in-home
health care provider to complete the specialized in-home health care training or
additional training.  (Continued)

(2) For any training or additional training from which the licensee caregiver or other in-
home health care provider is not exempt:

(A) Documentation, by a health care professional providing the training, that
he/she has successfully completed the specialized in-home health care training
specified in Section 8709565.1(a)(1).

(b) The licensee caregiver of a foster family home caring for children with special health care
needs shall ensure that employee records contain the following information:  (Continued)

(8) Termination date if no longer employed by the facility home.

(c) Records of health screenings and tests for tuberculosis required by Sections 8709565.1(b)
and (b)(1) shall be on file.  (Continued)

(e) All personnel records shall be retained for at least three (3) years following termination of
employment.

Authority Cited: Section 17730, Welfare and Institutions Code; and Sections 1530, 1530.5, and
1531, Health and Safety Code.; and Section 21 of Assembly Bill (AB) 1695
(Chapter 653, Statutes of 2001).

Reference: Section 17731, Welfare and Institutions Code and Sections 1501, 1501.1,
1507, 1507.2, and 1531, Health and Safety Code.
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Renumber Section 87069.1 to new Section 89569.1 and amend to read:

8709569.1 Individualized Health Care Plans for Specialized Foster Family Homes 8709569.1

(a) The licensee caregiver shall not accept a child with special health care needs unless the
licensee caregiver has obtained an individualized health care plan for the child.  The plan
shall include the following information:  (Continued)

(2) The appropriate number of hours of on-site supervision and monitoring, and the
appropriate number of hours of off-site supervision and monitoring, needed to be
provided by the monitor designated in Section 8709569.1(a)(1), above.  (Continued)

(5) Specific responsibilities of the licensee caregiver for the provision of specialized in-
home health care, including any required training and/or additional training.
(Continued)

(7) Identification of any psychological, emotional, behavioral, or medical problems that
will be identified in the child's nNeeds and sNervices pPlan or the medical
assessment specified in Section 8709469.  (Continued)

Authority Cited: Section 17730, Welfare and Institutions Code; and Sections 1530, 1530.5, and
1531, Health and Safety Code.; and Section 21 of Assembly Bill (AB) 1695
(Chapter 653, Statutes of 2001).

Reference: Section 17731(c), Welfare and Institutions Code.
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Renumber Section 87070.1 to new Section 89570.1 and amend to read:

8709570.1 Additional Children's Records for Specialized Foster Family Homes 8709570.1

(a) In addition to Section 8709370, the licensee caregiver shall ensure that records for each
child with special health care needs contain the following:  (Continued)

(2) A copy of the child's individualized health care plan as specified in Section
8709569.1.

(3) A copy of the written reassessment of the child's individualized health care plan as
specified in Section 8709569.1(b).

(b) The licensee caregiver of a specialized foster family home not exceeding the two-child
capacity limit shall ensure that each child's nNeeds and sServices pPlan contains the
following information in addition to the information required in Sections 8709468.2 and
87068.3:

(1) Documentation by the child's county social worker, regional center caseworker or
authorized representative that the needs of the child can be met by the facility home.

(A) New documentation shall be obtained for all children and placed in the
respective nNeeds and sServices pPlans each time there is an increase or
turnover in children and the home meets the conditions described in above
Section 8709570.1(b).

(c) If a third child is placed in a specialized foster family home, the licensee caregiver shall
ensure that:

(1) The nNeeds and sServices pPlan for the third child documents the determination
specified in Section 8709510.1(a)(1)(A).

(2) The nNeeds and sServices pPlan for each child in the home documents the
determinations specified in Sections 8709510.1(a)(1)(B) and (B)1.

(3) The individualized health care plan for each child with special health care needs
documents the determinations specified in Sections 8709510.1(a)(1)(C) and (C)1.
(Continued)

Authority Cited: Section 17730, Welfare and Institutions Code; and Sections 1530, 1530.5, and
1531, Health and Safety Code.; and Section 21 of Assembly Bill (AB) 1695
(Chapter 653, Statutes of 2001).

Reference: Sections 17710, 17731, and 17732(a), Welfare and Institutions Code and
Section 1531, Health and Safety Code.
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Renumber Section 87072.2 to new Section 89572.2 and amend to read:

8709572.2 Personal Rights for Children with Special Health Care Needs 8709572.2

(a) Except as specified in this section, Section 8709372(a)(8) shall not apply to children with
special health care needs.

(b) In addition to Section 8709372, but notwithstanding Section 8709372(a)(7)(c)(19), a child
with special health care needs has the right to be free from any restraining/postural support
device imposed for purposes of discipline or convenience, and not required to treat the
child's specific medical symptoms.  (Continued)

(2) Postural supports as specified in Sections 8009372(ac)(819)(A) and (A)1., half-
bedrails, and protective devices as specified in Section 8009372(ac)(819)(GF), may
be used if prescribed in the individualized health care plan.  The use of a postural
support or protective device and the method of application shall be specified in the
child's individualized health care plan and approved in writing by the child's
physician.

Authority Cited: Section 17730, Welfare and Institutions Code; and Section 1530, Health and
Safety Code.; Section 16001.9, Welfare and Institutions Code; and Section 21
of Assembly Bill (AB) 1695 (Chapter 653, Statutes of 2001).

Reference: Sections 16001.9, 17730 and 17736, Welfare and Institutions Code.
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Renumber Section 87087.1 to new Section 89587.1 and amend to read:

8709587.1 Additional Buildings and Grounds Requirements for Specialized 8709587.1
  Foster Family Homes  (Continued)

(b) Notwithstanding Section 8709387(a)(1), a bedroom used by a child with special health
care needs shall not be shared with another minor residing in the facility home if the child's
need for medical services or the child's medical condition would be incompatible with the
use and enjoyment of the bedroom by each minor.

(c) When required by the child's individualized health care plan, the licensee caregiver(s) or
other adult caring for the child shall sleep in a bedroom adjacent or in close proximity to
the child's room.

Authority Cited: Section 17730, Welfare and Institutions Code; and Sections 1530, 1530.5, and
1531, Health and Safety Code.; and Section 21 of Assembly Bill (AB) 1695
(Chapter 653, Statutes of 2001).

Reference: Section 17732, Welfare and Institutions Code.
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Repeal Section 87007.1:

87007.1 Certified License Pending Homes 87007.1

(a) Emergency placements of specific children without special health care needs shall be
permitted in a Certified License Pending Home when all of the following requirements
have been met:

(1) Placement in a licensed home is not immediately available, or does not meet the
child's service needs.

(2) The unlicensed home has been certified by a probation officer or social worker as
meeting the minimum standards for foster family homes.

(3) The unlicensed home has an application pending for a foster family home license.

(4) The licensing agency has not disapproved the application for a license nor has the
application been withdrawn.

(5) Placements are made pursuant to Welfare and Institutions Code Sections 362(b),
362.5(c) or 727(b).

(b) If the license application is denied by the licensing agency after placement of a child, such
denial shall constitute withdrawal of the certification and the child shall be immediately
removed from the home.

Authority Cited: Section 17730, Welfare and Institutions Code and Sections 1530 and 1530.5,
Health and Safety Code.

Reference: Section 1505, Health and Safety Code; and Sections 362, 362.5, 727 and
17710(i), 17736, and 17736(b), Welfare and Institutions Code.
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Repeal Section 87012:

87012 False Claims 87012

(a) (Renumbered to Section 89388(b))

(b) No licensee shall alter, or disseminate any alteration to any foster family home license.

Authority Cited: Sections 1530 and 1530.5, Health and Safety Code.

Reference: Sections 1501, 1508 and 1531, Health and Safety Code.
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Repeal Section 87022:

87022 Plan of Operation 87022

(a) At the time of application each applicant shall submit to the licensing agency a written,
definitive plan of operation.

(b) The plan and related materials shall contain the following:

(1) Statement of purposes, and program methods and goals.

(2) Statement of admission policies and procedures regarding acceptance of children.

(3) A copy of the admission agreement.

(4) A sketch of the building(s) to be occupied, including a floor plan which describes the
capacities of the buildings for the use intended, room dimensions, and a designation
of the rooms to be used for nonambulatory children if any.

(5) A sketch of the grounds showing buildings, driveways, fences, storage areas, pools,
gardens recreation areas and other space used by children.

(A) The sketch shall include the dimensions of all areas which  will be used by the
children.

(6) Transportation arrangements for children who do not have independent
arrangements.

(7) A statement whether or not the licensee will handle the children's money, personal
property, and/or valuables.  If money, personal property, and/or valuables will be
handled, the method for safeguarding shall be pursuant to Sections 87025 and 87026.

(8) Consultant and community resources to be utilized as part of the home's program.

(9) A statement of the facility policy concerning family visits and other communication
with clients, as specified in Health and Safety Code Section 1512.

(A) This policy shall be consistent with the child's services plan.

(B) To the extent that the visiting policy is consistent with the child's services plan,
this policy shall also be designed to encourage regular family involvement
with the client and shall provide ample opportunities for family participation in
activities at the facility as provided in Section 1512 of the Health and Safety
Code.
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(c) Any changes in the plan of operation which affect the services to children shall be subject
to licensing agency approval and shall be reported  as specified in Section 87061.

(d) The home shall operate in accordance with the terms specified in the plan of operation.

Authority Cited: Sections 1530 and 1530.5, Health and Safety Code.

Reference: Sections 1501, 1512, 1520 and 1531, Health and Safety Code.
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Repeal Section 87023:

87023 Disaster and Mass Casualty Plan 87023

(a) Each licensee shall have and maintain on file a current, written disaster and mass casualty
plan of action.

(b) The plan shall be subject to review by the licensing agency and shall include:

(1) Contingency plans for action during fires, floods, and earthquakes, including but not
limited to the following:

(A) Means of exiting.

(B) Transportation arrangements.

(C) Relocation sites which are equipped to provide safe temporary accommodation
for children.

(D) Arrangements for supervision of children during evacuation or relocation, and
for contact after relocation to ensure that relocation has been completed as
planned.

(E) Means of contacting local agencies, including but not limited to the fire
department, law enforcement agencies, and civil defense and other disaster
authorities.

(c) The licensee shall instruct all children, age and abilities permitting, and/or members of the
household in their duties and responsibilities under the plan.

(d) The licensee shall conduct disaster drills at least every six months.

(1) Completion of such drill shall not require the licensee to transport children away
from the home or to contact local agencies or other disaster authorities.

Authority Cited: Sections 1530 and 1530.5, Health and Safety Code.

Reference: Sections 1501, 1520 and 1531, Health and Safety Code.
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Repeal Section 87025:

87025 Bonding 87205

(a) The licensee shall submit an affidavit, on a form provided by the licensing agency, stating
whether he/she safeguards or will safeguard cash resources of children and the maximum
amount of cash resources to be safeguarded for all children or each child in any month.

(b) All licensees who are entrusted to care for and control children's cash resources shall file
or have on file with the department or licensing agency, a bond issued by a surety
company to the State of California as principal.

(c) The amount of the bond shall be according to the following schedule:

AMOUNT SAFEGUARDED PER MONTH BOND REQUIRED

$750 OR LESS $1,000
$751 to $1,500 $2,000
$1,501 to $2,500 $3,000

Every further increment of $1,000 or fraction thereof shall require an additional $1,000 on
the bond.

(d) The licensee shall submit a new affidavit and bond to the licensing agency prior to the
licensee safeguarding amounts of children's cash resources in excess of the current bond.

(e) Whenever the licensing agency determines that the amount of the bond is insufficient to
provide necessary protection to children's cash resources, or whenever the amount of any
bond is impaired by any recovery against the bond, the licensing agency shall have the
authority to require the licensee to file an additional bond in such amount as the licensing
agency determines to be necessary to protect the children's cash resources.

(f) The provisions of this section shall only apply if the licensee safeguards more than $50 per
child and more than $500 for all children in any month as specified in Health and Safety
Code Section 1560.

Authority Cited: Sections 1530 and 1530.5, Health and Safety Code.

Reference: Sections 1525.5, 1560 and 1561, Health and Safety Code.
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Repeal Section 87030:

87030 Provisional License 87030

(a) The licensing agency shall have the authority to issue a provisional license to an applicant,
pending action under Sections 87031 or 87040 on a completed application for an initial
license, if it determines that all of the following circumstances exist:

(1) The home has no serious deficiencies as defined in Section 87001s.(1).

(2) There is a change in home location and children currently in care are in need of
services from the same licensee at the new location.

(b) The capacity of a provisional license shall be limited to the number of children currently in
care or the capacity established for the specific home whichever is less.

(c) The licensing agency shall have the authority to  issue a provisional license for a maximum
of six months when it determines that full compliance with licensing regulations will be
achieved within that time period.

(d) The licensing agency shall have the authority to issue a provisional license for a maximum
of 12 months when it determines, at the time of application, that more than six months is
required to achieve full compliance with licensing regulations due to circumstances
beyond the control of the applicant.

(e) If, during the provisional licensing period, the licensing agency discovers any deficiencies
the department shall have the authority to institute administrative action or civil
proceedings, or to refer the case for criminal prosecution.

(f) A provisional license shall not be renewable and shall terminate on the date specified on
the license, or upon denial of the application, whichever is earlier.

Authority Cited: Sections 1530 and 1530.5, Health and Safety Code.

Reference: Section 1525.5, Health and Safety Code.
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Repeal Section 87036:

87036 Application/Renewal Processing Fee 87036

(a) (Renumbered to Section 89218(f).)

Authority Cited: Section 1530, Health and Safety Code.

Reference: Section 1524, Health and Safety Code.
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Repeal Section 87043:

87043 Licensee/Applicant Complaints 87043

HANDBOOK BEGINS HERE

(a) Each licensee/applicant shall have the right, without prejudice, to bring to the attention of
the department or the licensing agency, or both, any alleged misapplication or capricious
enforcement of regulations by any licensing representative, or any differences in opinion
between the licensee and any licensing representative concerning the proper application of
the regulations in this chapter.

HANDBOOK ENDS HERE

Authority Cited: Sections 1530 and 1530.5, Health and Safety Code.

Reference: Sections 1501 and 1531, Health and Safety Code.
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Repeal Article 5. (Title) and Section 87051:

Article 5.  ENFORCEMENT PROVISIONS

87051 Serious Deficiencies 87051

HANDBOOK BEGINS HERE

(a) (Renumbered to Handbook Section 89252(e)

HANDBOOK ENDS HERE

Authority Cited: Section 17730, Welfare and Institutions Code and Sections 1530 and 1530.5,
Health and Safety Code.

Reference: Sections 1501 and 1531, Health and Safety Code.
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Repeal Section 87053:

87053 Follow-up Visits Determine Compliance 87053

(a) (Renumbered to Section 89252(d)(6))

Authority Cited: Sections 1530 and 1530.5, Health and Safety Code.

Reference: Sections 1534 and 1553, Health and Safety Code.
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Repeal Section 87064:

87064 Licensee Duties And Responsibilities 87064

(a) The licensee shall be regularly present in the home when children are in the home full time.

(1) If all children are involved in out-of-home programs, such as school or day care, the
licensee shall be permitted to be regularly absent from the home during those hours.

(2) When the licensee  is absent from the home while children are present, he/she shall
provide for supervision of the children by a responsible adult unless otherwise agreed
to in advance by the licensing agency.

(b) The licensee shall be responsible for:

(1) Participating with the child in activities.

(2) Participating with agencies and other responsible persons in planning for the needs of
the child.

(3) Ensuring that the child is clean and providing the child with training in personal
cleanliness and hygiene.

(4) Protecting the child from home accidents.

(5) Making provisions for the child to attend available community treatment or training
programs when the child has needs which can be met by such programs.

(6) Participating in activities which increase the licensee's own understanding of, and
skill in, caring for children.

(A) All licensees providing care to a ventilator-dependent child shall maintain
documentation verifying completion of a hospital's discharge planning
program developed for the care of that child.

(7) Providing for and meeting service needs of the child as identified in the needs and
services plan required by Section 87068.2.

(8) Assisting the child in the development of goals and encouraging him/her to reach
those goals.

(9) Supervising the provision of basic services within the home.

(c) The licensee shall ensure supervision of children during the child's participation in or
presence at potentially dangerous activities.
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(1) Renumbered to Section 89387(f)

Authority Cited: Sections 1530 and 1530.5, Health and Safety Code.

Reference: Sections 1501, 1507.5 and 1531, Health and Safety Code.
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Repeal Section 87068:

87068 Admission Agreements 87068

(a) The licensee shall complete and maintain current individual written admission agreements
with each child's authorized representative.

(b) The licensee shall complete and maintain in the child's file a Telecommunications Device
Notification form (LIC 9158, 5/97) for each child whose needs and service plan indicates
that he/she is deaf, hearing-impaired, or otherwise disabled.

(c) Admission agreements shall specify the following:

(1) Basic services.

(2) Available optional services.

(3) Payment provisions including the following:

(A) Basic rate.

(B) Optional service rates.

(C) Payor.

(D) Due date.

(E) Frequency of payment.

(4) Modification conditions, including requirement for provision of at least 30 calendar
days prior written notice to the child's authorized representative of any basic rate
change.

(A) Agreements involving children whose care is funded at government-
prescribed rates shall specify that the effective date of government rate
changes shall be considered the effective date for basic service rate
modifications and that no prior notice is necessary.

(5) Refund conditions.

(6) Right of the licensing agency to perform the duties authorized in Section 87044(b)
and (c).

(7) Conditions under which the agreement may be terminated.
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(8) The facility's policy concerning family visits and other communications with the
child as specified in Health and Safety Code Section 1512.

(A) This policy shall be consistent with the child's services plan.

(d) Such agreements shall be dated and signed by the child's authorized representative and the
licensee no later than seven days following admission.

(e) Modifications to the original agreement shall be made whenever circumstances covered in
the agreement change, and shall be dated and signed by the persons specified in (c) above.

(f) The licensee shall retain the original copy of the agreement and shall provide copies to the
child's authorized representative.

(g) The licensee shall comply with all terms and conditions set forth in the admission
agreement.

Authority Cited: Sections 1530 and 1530.5, Health and Safety Code.

Reference: Sections 1501, 1512, 1524.7, and 1531, Health and Safety Code.



140

Repeal Section 87068.2:

87068.2 Needs and Services Plan 87068.2

(a) through (d)(1)  (Renumbered to Sections 89468(a) and (b))

Authority Cited: Sections 1530 and 1530.5, Health and Safety Code.

Reference: Sections 1501, 1507.5 and 1531, Health and Safety Code.
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Repeal Section 87068.3

87068.3 Modifications To Needs And Services Plan 87068.3

(a) The written needs and services plan shall be updated at least annually and:

(1) As frequently as necessary to ensure accuracy and to document determination of a
disability.

(2) As frequently as determined necessary by the child's authorized representative.

(b) If modifications to the plan identify unmet needs the following requirements shall be met:

(1) It shall be determined whether the licensee has the ability to meet the needs of the
child.

(A) If it is determined that the identified needs can be met by the licensee, a
written plan to meet the needs shall be developed and maintained in the home.

(B) If it is determined that the identified needs cannot bet met by the licensee, the
licensee shall give notice to the child's authorized representative to remove the
child from the home.

(c) The licensee shall permit participation of the child's authorized representative in
modification to the needs and services plan.

(1) Such participation shall be verified by his/her signature on the needs and services
plan.

Authority Cited: Sections 1530 and 1530.5, Health and Safety Code.

Reference: Sections 1501 and 1531, Health and Safety Code.
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Repeal Section 87070:

87070 Children's Records 87070

(a) The licensee shall maintain a separate, complete, and current record in the facility for each
child.

(b) Each record shall contain information including but not limited to the following:

(1) Name of the child.

(2) Birthdate and a copy of the child's birth certificate if available.

(3) Date of placement in the home.

(4) Name, address and telephone number of the placement agency.

(5) Name, address and telephone number of the authorized representative.

(6) Name, address and telephone number of person to be contacted in an  emergency
when the child's authorized representative cannot be contacted.

(7) Written consent which authorizes the licensee to obtain other ordinary medical and
dental care in an emergency if the authorized representative cannot be reached.

(8) Name, address and telephone number of the child's physician and dentist, and other
medical and mental health providers if any.

(9) Medical assessment, including ambulatory status, specified in Section 87069.

(10) A record of current medications, if any; prescribing physician; and instructions, if
any, regarding control and custody of medications.

(11) Name of all persons authorized to take the child from the home.

(12) Medical and dental history, if available, including immunization records and
physician's orders for any medically necessary diet.

(13) Religious preference and the name and address of clergyman or religious adviser, if
any.

(14) A copy of the child's needs and services plan and any modifications thereto specified
in Section 87068.2 and 87068.3.

(15) A record of the continuing health needs and services received while the child is in the
home, including but not limited to physical therapy and counseling.
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(16) Admission agreement.

(17) An account of the child's case resources, personal property, and valuables entrusted as
specified in Section 87026.

(c) All information and records obtained from or regarding children shall be confidential.

(1) The licensee shall be responsible for safeguarding  the confidentiality of record
contents.

(2) Except as specified in (d) below, or as otherwise authorized by law, the licensee shall
not reveal or make available confidential information.

(d) All children's records shall be subject to reproduction by the licensing agency upon demand
during normal business hours.

(1) A child's records shall also be open to inspection by the child's authorized
representative.

(e) The original or photographic reproductions of the child's records shall be  given to the
placement agency or the child's authorized representative when the child moves from the
home.

(f) The original or photographic reproduction of each child's records shall be retained for a
minimum of three years following termination of service to the child.

Authority Cited: Sections 1530 and 1530.5, Health and Safety Code.

Reference: Sections 1501 and 1531, Health and Safety Code.
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Repeal Section 87072:

87072 Personal Rights  87072

(a) Each child shall have personal rights which include but are not limited to the following:

(1) To be accorded dignity in his/her personal relationships with other persons in the
home.

(2) To be accorded safe, healthful and comfortable accommodations, furnishings and
equipment that are appropriate to his/her needs.

(3) To be free from corporal or unusual punishment, infliction of pain, humiliation,
intimidation, ridicule, coercion, threat, mental abuse, or other actions of a punitive
nature including but not limited to interference with the daily living functions of
eating, sleeping, or toileting, or withholding of shelter, clothing, or aids to physical
functioning.

(4) To be informed, and to have his/her authorized representative informed, by the
licensee of the provisions of law regarding complaints, including but not limited to
the address and telephone number of the complaint, receiving unit of the licensing
agency and of information regarding the  confidential registration of complaints.

(5) To be free to attend religious services or activities of his/her choice and to have visits
from the spiritual advisor of his/her choice.

(6) Not to be locked in any room, building or facility premises by day or night.

(A) The licensee shall not be prohibited by this provision from locking exterior
doors and windows or from establishing house rules for the protection of the
children so long as the  children can exit from the home.

(B) The licensee shall be permitted to utilize means other than those specified in
(A) above for securing exterior doors and windows only with prior approval
of the licensing agency.

(7) et seq. (Renumbered to Section 89372(c)(19) et seq. except (7)(D) which was
renumbered to Section 89220(b))

(8) To be free of the administration of medication  or chemical substances not authorized
by a physician.

(9) To be informed of the facility's policy concerning family visits and other
communication with the child as specified in Health and Safety Code Section 1512.
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(10) To have visitors as specified below by mutual agreement between the licensee and the
visitors, provided the rights of others are not infringed upon:

(A) Relatives, during waking hours, unless prohibited by court order or by the
child's authorized representative.

(B) Authorized representative.

(C) Other visitors unless prohibited by court order or by the child's authorized
representative.

(11) To wear his/her own clothes.

(12) To possess and control his/her own cash resources, unless otherwise agreed to in the
child's needs and services plan and by the child's authorized representative.

(13) To possess and use his/her own personal possessions, including toilet articles.

(14) To have access to individual storage space for his/her private use.

(15) To have access to telephones, both to make and receive confidential calls, provided
that such calls are not prohibited by court order or by the child's authorized
representative, or are not prohibited as a form of discipline.  However, such use shall
not infringe upon the rights of others, nor tie up the telephone during emergencies.

(A) The licensee shall be permitted to require reimbursement for long distance
calls from the child or his/her authorized representative.

(B) The licensee shall be permitted to prohibit the making of long distance calls
upon documentation that requested reimbursement for previous long distance
calls has not been received.

(C) Calls permitted to be prohibited as a form of discipline shall not include calls
to the child's authorized representative, placement agency, or parent(s).

(16) To have access to letter writing material and to send and receive unopened
correspondence unless prohibited by court order or by the child's authorized
representative.

(b) The licensee shall ensure that each child is accorded the personal rights specified in this
section.

(c) Each child, and his/her authorized representative, shall be personally advised and given at
admission a copy of the rights specified in (a)(1) through (16) above.

Authority Cited: Sections 1530 and 1530.5, Health and Safety Code.
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Reference: Sections 1501 and 1531, Health and Safety Code.
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Repeal Section 87072.1

87072.1 Discipline 87072.1

(a) Any form of discipline which violates a child's personal rights as specified in Section
87072 shall be prohibited.

Authority Cited: Sections 1530 and 1530.5, Health and Safety Code.

Reference: Sections 1501 and 1531, Health and Safety Code.
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Repeal Section 87074:

87074 Transportation 87074

(a) Only drivers licensed for the type of vehicle operated shall be permitted to transport
children.

(b) The manufacturer's rated seating capacity of vehicles shall not be exceeded.

(c) Motor vehicles provided by the licensee shall be maintained in a safe operating condition.

(d) When transporting children in a private motor vehicle, the licensee shall secure the
children as specified below:

(1) Infants shall be secured in a car seat designed for infants.

(2) All children between two and four years of age and all children who weigh less than
40 pounds, or who have disabilities which prevent them from sitting unassisted, shall
be secured in a car seat or harness designed for such children.

(3) Children over four years of age and who weigh over 40 pounds who are able to sit
unassisted shall be secured in the vehicle's regular seat belt/harness.

Authority Cited: Sections 1530 and 1530.5, Health and Safety Code.

Reference: Sections 1501 and 1531, Health and Safety Code.
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Repeal the following subsections from Section 87075:

87075 Health Related Services 87075

(a) The licensee shall make arrangements for the care of a child who is injured or becomes ill,
including isolation, if necessary, and provisions for first aid and emergency medical or
dental care.

(b) When a child shows signs of serious illness or injury, the licensee shall have the nature of
the illness or injury determined by a physician as quickly as possible.

(c) Whenever a child is exposed to a serious communicable disease, or has any illness or
injury which requires medical treatment or for which the cause is unknown, the licensee
shall ensure that the child's immediate medical needs are met.

(1) The licensee shall maintain current documentation to ensure that the amount of in-
home medical services provided to a ventilator-dependent child is sufficient to meet
that child's medical needs.

(2) As soon as the child's immediate needs are met the licensee shall notify the child's
authorized representative.

(d) (Renumbered to Section 89475(c))

(e) If a child is unable to determine and/or communicate his/her need for a prescription or
nonprescription PRN medication, the licensee may assist the child without contacting the
child's physician prior to each dose provided that all of the following requirements are met:

(1) The child's physician has recommended or prescribed the PRN medication and
provided instructions for use in at least the level of detail specified in Section
87075(f).

(2) The date, time, and content of the physician contact required in Section 87075(e)(1)
shall be documented and maintained in the child's file.

(3) The date and time each PRN medication dosage was taken, the exact symptoms for
which it was given, the dosage taken and the child's response shall be documented
and maintained in the child's record.

(4) The medication is given according to the physician's directions.

(f) For every prescription and nonprescription PRN medication for which the licensee
provides assistance, there shall be a signed, dated written order from a physician on a
prescription blank, maintained in the child's file, and a label on the medication.  Both the
physician's order and the label shall contain at least all of the following information.
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(1) The name of the child.

(2) The name of the medication.

(3) The specific symptoms which indicate the need for the use of the medication.

(4) The exact dosage.

(5) The minimum number of hours between doses.

(6) The maximum number of doses allowed in each 24-hour period.

(7) In addition to the information listed in Sections 87075(f)(1) through (6), the
physician's order shall include:

(A) Instructions regarding the time or circumstance (if any) when it should be
discontinued.

(B) An indication of when the physician should be contacted for a medication
reevaluation.

(g) (Renumbered to Section 89475(b)

(h) The home shall maintain first aid supplies readily available in  a central location in the
home.

(1) If the supplies consist of a preassembled kit, the kit shall be a general type approved
by the American Red Cross, or the supplies shall include at least the following:

(A) A current edition of a first aid manual approved by the American Red Cross,
the American Medical Association or a state or federal health agency.

(B) Sterile first aid dressings.

(C) Bandages or roller bandages.

(D) Adhesive tape.

(E) Scissors.

(F) Tweezers.

(G) Thermometers.

(H) Antiseptic solution.

(i) (Renumbered to Section 89475(a))
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(j) There shall be at least one person capable of and responsible for communicating with
emergency personnel in the home at all times.  The following information shall be readily
available:

(1) The name, address and telephone number of each child's physician and dentist.

(2) The name, address and telephone number of each emergency agency, including but
not limited to the fire department, crisis center or paramedical unit.  There shall be at
least one medical resource available at all times.

(3) The name and telephone number of an ambulance service.

(k) When a child requires a ventilation or prosthetic device, vision aid or hearing aid, the
licensee shall be familiar with the use of these devices and aids, and shall assist the child
with their utilization as needed.

(1) The licensee shall maintain documentation verifying that in-home medical services
required by a ventilator-dependent child are evaluated by a registered nurse employed
by a licensed in-home health agency.

(2) The licensee shall maintain documentation verifying that the attending nurse
providing nursing services to a ventilator-dependent child has successfully completed
the hospital's discharge planning program developed for that specific child.

(l) The licensee shall centrally store medications under the following circumstances:

(1) The preservation of medicines requires refrigeration.

(2) Any medication is determined by the physician to be hazardous if kept in the personal
possession of the child for whom it was prescribed.

(3) Because of physical arrangements and the condition or the habits of persons in the
home, the medications are determined by either the licensee or by the licensing
agency to be a safety hazard.

(m) The following requirements shall apply to medications which are centrally stored:

(1) Medicines shall be kept in a safe and locked place that is not accessible to persons
other than those responsible for the supervision of the medication.

(2) Each container shall carry all of the information specified in (7)(A) through (G)
below.

(3) All medications shall be labeled and maintained in compliance with label instructions
and state and federal laws.
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(4) No person other than the dispensing pharmacist shall alter a prescription label.

(5) Each child's medication shall be stored in its originally received container.

(6) No medications shall be transferred between containers.

(7) The licensee shall ensure the maintenance, for each child, of a record of prescription
medications which is retained for at least one year and includes the following:

(A) The name of the child for whom prescribed.

(B) The name of the prescribing physician.

(C) The drug name, strength and quantity.

(D) The date filled.

(E) The prescription number and the name of the issuing pharmacy.

(F) Expiration date.

(G) Number of refills.

(H) Instructions, if any, regarding control and custody of the medication.

(n) The licensee shall destroy prescription medications which are not taken with the child upon
termination of services, or which are for any other reason not to be retained.

Authority Cited: Sections 1530 and 1530.5, Health and Safety Code.

Reference: Sections 1501, 1507, 1507.5, 1530.6 and 1531, Health and Safety Code; and
Business and Professions Code Section 2727(a).
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Repeal Section 87076:

87076 Food Service 87076

(a) The licensee shall provide at least three meals per day for the children and shall meet the
following requirements:

(1) The meals shall be of the quality and in the quantity necessary to meet the needs of
the children.  Each meal shall meet at least one-third the services recommended the
USDA Basic Food Group Plan - Daily Food Guide for the age group served.  All
food shall be selected, stored, prepared and served in a safe and healthful manner.

(A) If a child is out of the home during a normal mealtime, the licensee shall
ensure that alternate arrangements are made for the child to receive a meal.

HANDBOOK BEGINS HERE

(B) Whenever children in placement eat at the home it is expected that they will
have their meals with family members.

(C) USDA BASIC FOOD GROUP PLAN DAILY FOOD GUIDE

FOODS TO INCLUDE SERVING    RECOMMENDED NUMBER OF
DAILY SIZE SERVINGS FOR EACH AGE GROUP

PRE- SCHOOL- TEEN- ADULT PREG- OLDER
SCHOOL AGE AGER NANT ADULT
CHILD CHILD NURS-

ING

MILK & MILK PRODUCTS

Milk 8 oz.
Yogurt 8 oz.
Cheese 2 oz.   2 2 - 3 3 - 4     2 3 or      2
 Cottage 1 & 1/2 C. or more more
Ice Cream 2 C.
 Tofu 8 oz.

MEAT & ALTERNATES

Beef, pork, lamb,
 fowl, fish 3 oz.
 small serv. 1&1/2 oz.
Alternates for Meat Eq. to 2 sm. 1 -2 2 - 3     2 2 or      2
2-3 oz. or more more

Beans, peas, and
 lentils 1-1&1/2 C.
Peanut butter 4-6 Tbsp.
Eggs 2-3
Cheese 2-3 oz.
 Cottage 1/2-3/4 C.
Canned fish 1/2-3/4 C.
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Nuts 2/3-1 C.
Tofu 6-9 oz.
Wheat germ 1/2-3/4 C.
Sunflower, pumpkin,
 sesame seeds 1/2-3/4 C.

Deep Green and/or
 Yellow Vegetables 1/2 C   1 1 or     1 1 or      1
  Small serving 1/4-1/3 C 1 sm. more more

Other Vegetables,
 Juices and Fruits 1/2 C 2 Sm 2 2 or 2 2 or 2
  Small serving 1/4-1/3 C more more

High Vitamin  C
 Fruits and/or 1/2 C 1 Sm 1 1 or 1 1 or 1
  Juices, Sm. serv. 1/4-1/3 C more more

Breads & Cereals
 (whole gr. or
 enriched) bread 1 slice

Dry Cereal 3/4 C
 Cooked cereal,
 rice, noodles 1/2 C
crackers 4 4 Sm 3-4 4 or 4 4 or 3-4
tortilla 1 med more more
 small serv = 1/2
  of the serv
  sizes for breads
  & cereals

OTHER FOODS:  Inc. fats, AS APPROPRIATE TO ENERGY NEEDS
 sweets, desserts, etc.

FLUIDS:  Inc. water AS APPROPRIATE TO NEEDS

MISCELLANEOUS:  Iodized salt, fiber, AS APPROPRIATE TO NEEDS
 vitamin supplement, etc.

* Count cheese as one serving of milk or meat, not both.
Adapted from the OREGON DIET MANUAL, fifth edition, 1975, State of Oregon Department of Human Resources.

HANDBOOK ENDS HERE

(2) Not more than 15 hours shall elapse between the third meal of one day and first meal
of the following day.

(3) There shall always be fresh perishable and nonperishable food in the home in a
quantity to meet the needs of the next three meals and the between meals snacks.

(4) Between meal nourishment or snacks shall be provided to all children as needed.

(5) If the licensee has been informed, or has observed, that the child has an allergy to
any food, the licensee shall not serve such food to the child.
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(A) If there is doubt about whether a child has an allergy, the licensee shall seek
medical verification.

(6) Modified diets prescribed by a child's physician as a medical necessity shall be
provided.

(A) The licensee shall obtain and follow instructions from the physician or
dietician on the preparation of the modified diet.

(7) All foods shall be of good quality.  Commercial foods shall be approved by
appropriate federal, state and local authorities.  All foods shall be kept free of
contamination.  Food in damaged containers shall not be accepted, used or retained.

(8) Where indicated, food shall be cut, chopped or ground to meet individual needs.

(9) Powdered milk shall not be used as a beverage but shall be allowed in cooking and
baking.  Raw milk as defined in Division 15 of the California Food and Agricultural
Code shall not be used.  Milk shall be pasteurized.

(10) Except when written approval by the licensing agency, meat, poultry and meat food
products shall be inspected by state or federal authorities.  Written evidence of such
inspection shall be available for all products not obtained from commercial markets.

(11) All foods or beverages capable of supporting rapid and progressive growth of micro-
organisms which can cause food infections or food intoxications shall be stored in
covered containers at 45 degrees F (7.2 degrees C) or less.

(12) Pesticides and other toxic substances shall not be stored in food storerooms, kitchen
areas, or areas where kitchen equipment or utensils are stored.

(13) Soaps, detergents, cleaning compounds or similar substances shall be stored in areas
separate from food supplies.

(14) All kitchen areas shall be kept clean, free of litter and rubbish, and measures shall be
taken to keep all such areas free of rodents, insects and other vermin.

(15) All food shall be protected against contamination.  Contaminated food shall be
discarded immediately.

(16) All equipment, fixed or mobile, and dishes and utensils, shall be kept clean and
maintained in a safe condition.

(17) All dishes and utensils used for eating and drinking and in the preparation of food
and drink, shall be cleaned and sanitized after each usage.
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(A) In homes using mechanical dishwashers, the dishwasher shall reach a
temperature of 165 degrees F (74 degrees C) during the washing and/or drying
cycle to ensure that dishes and utensils are cleaned and sanitized.

(B) In homes not using mechanical dishwashers, dishes and utensils shall be
cleaned and sanitized by an alternative comparable method.

(18) Equipment of appropriate size and type shall be provided for the storage, preparation
and service of food and shall be well-maintained.

(19) Tableware and tables, dishes, and utensils shall be provided in the quantity necessary
to serve the children.

(20) Adaptive devices shall be provided for self-help in eating as needed by children.

(b) The licensing agency shall have the authority to require the home to provide written
information, including menus, regarding the foods purchased and used over a given period
when it is necessary to determine if the licensee is in compliance with the food services
requirements in these regulations.

(1) The licensing agency shall specify in writing what written information is required
from the licensee.

(c) Infants younger than seven months shall be held during bottle-feeding.

Authority Cited: Sections 1530 and 1530.5, Health and Safety Code.

Reference: Sections 1501 and 1531, Health and Safety Code.
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Repeal Section 87088:

87088 Fixtures, Furniture, Equipment, and Supplies 87088

(a) (Renumbered to Section 89387(h).)

(b) (Renumbered to Section 89387(a)(5).)

(c) (Renumbered to Section 89387(a)(7).)

(d) (Renumbered to Section 89387(i).)

(e) (Renumbered to Section 89387(j).)

(f) (Renumbered to Section 89387(k).)

(g) The licensee shall maintain all window screens in good repair and free of insects, dirt and
other debris.

(h) (Renumbered to Section 89387(l).)

(i) (Renumbered to Section 89387(m).)

(j) (Renumbered to Section 89387(n).)

(k) The licensee shall provide toys, games, books, and recreational and educational materials
for the children's needs, based upon their ages, and mental and physical development.

(l) (Renumbered to Section 89387(a)(6).)

(m) (Renumbered to Section 89387(o).)

Authority Cited: Sections 1530 and 1530.5, Health and Safety Code.

Reference: Sections 1501 and 1531, Health and Safety Code.


