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SOCIAL SECURITY

Social Security benefits are available to individual
providers who are 18 years old or older and not the
parent of the employer/recipient. The benefits are
available if you become totally disabled or retire
and meet certain eligibility requirements. There is a
deduction from your paycheck for Social Security
(FICA). The benefits include monthly retirement or
disability payments to you or your dependents. You
should contact your local Social Security
Administration Office for information and/or to
apply for Social Security. The telephone number
and address of this office are listed in the white
pages of your telephone book under “United States
Government, Social Security Administration.”

MEDICARE TAX

Medicare is the health and medical benefits
received as part of the total Social Security benefits
package. In the past, the Medicare tax deduction
was a part of the Social Security (FICA) tax
deduction. Federal law now requires that the tax
and the amount deducted be reported separately.
Questions regarding the Medicare tax should be
directed to the Social Security Administration.

STATE DISABILITY 
INSURANCE (SDI)

State Disability Insurance benefits are available to
you if you become disabled and are prevented from
doing your regular work and you meet certain
eligibility requirements. There is a deduction from
your paycheck for SDI. State Disability Insurance
benefits are available for a maximum of 52 weeks.
You should contact your local California
Employment Development Department (EDD)
office for information and/or to apply for State
Disability Insurance. The telephone number and
address of this office are listed in the white pages
of your telephone book under “California State of,
Employment Development Department.”

If you are the parent, spouse or child of the person
you are providing services to you may choose to
participate in the SDI program by applying for Elective
State Disability Insurance. The forms for Elective SDI
coverage are available from the county social
services worker. If you want this optional coverage,
the cost will be deducted from your paycheck. All
other Individual Providers are automatically covered
for SDI if they have IHSS quarterly wages in excess
of $750.

UNEMPLOYMENT 
INSURANCE (Ul)

Unemployment Insurance (Ul) benefits may be
available to you if you are not the parent or spouse of
your employer/recipient and become unemployed,
able and available to work and you meet certain
eligibility requirements. There is no deduction from
your paycheck for Ul. Unemployment Insurance
benefits are available for a maximum of 26 weeks.You
should contact your local California Employment
Development Department office for information
and/or to apply for Unemployment Insurance. The
telephone number and address of this office are listed
in the white pages of your telephone book under
“California State of, Employment Development
Department.”

WORKERS’
COMPENSATION

Workers’ Compensation benefits are available to you
if you are injured on the job or become ill due to your
job, and you meet certain eligibility requirements.
There is no deduction from your paycheck for
Workers’ Compensation. If you are injured on the job,
you should seek medical attention immediately and
then notify your employer/recipient's county social
services worker. Claim forms to apply for Workers’
Compensation are available from the county social
services worker and should be returned to the County
Welfare Department when completed. For more
information about Workers’ Compensation, you
may call an Information and Assistance Officer at
1-800-736-7401.

INCOME TAX WITHHOLDING

You may have state and federal income tax
withheld from your paycheck if you apply and you
meet certain eligibility requirements. Income tax
withholding for individual providers is strictly
voluntary. If you wish to have state and federal
income tax withheld from your paycheck please
complete the Income Tax Withholding Form (W-4)
and mail it to your county welfare department. If you
do not have state and/or federal income tax
withheld from your paycheck, you are still required
to file a tax return at the end of the year and
possibly pay taxes on your earnings. You should
contact your employer/recipient's county social
service worker if you require additional W-4s, need
to change your withholding, or need to determine
the status of your withholding.

You should contact your local California Franchise
Tax Board (FTB) office for information about state
income tax withholding. The telephone number and
address of this office are listed in the white pages
of your telephone book under “California, State of,
Franchise Tax Board.” You should contact your
local Internal Revenue Service (IRS) office for
information about federal income tax withholding.
The telephone number and address of this office
are listed in the white pages of your telephone book
under “United States Government, Internal
Revenue Service.”

EARNED INCOME
CREDIT (EIC)

You may be eligible for the Earned Income Credit
(EIC). To find out about EIC and if you are eligible,
carefully read the instructions for completing a form
W-5 (Earned Income Credit Advance Payment
Certificate). If you are eligible for EIC you can
choose to get the credit in advance with your pay
instead of waiting until you file your tax retum. You
should contact your local Internal Revenue Service
office or your tax consultant for information about EIC.



WELCOME TO YOUR JOB AS
AN IN-HOME SUPPORTIVE
SERVICES (IHSS) 
INDIVIDUAL PROVIDER

This notice briefly describes benefits
that may be available to you and your
income tax responsibilities. Please
read this pamphlet carefully. Also,
remember that your employer is the
IHSS recipient that hired you, not the
State of California nor the County
Welfare Department (CWD). The
State of California issues this
pamphlet and your paychecks on
behalf of your employer and the CWD
handles all the paper work.

Please contact the CWD whenever
you have any questions about your
paycheck or timesheet. Always sign
and date your timesheet after the pay
period ends (not before), also have
your employer sign and date it, then
mail your timesheet to the CWD
address that appears in the lower
right-hand corner of the timesheet to
avoid any delay in receiving your
paycheck. Remember: always keep
the CWD notified of any change to
your address and/or telephone
number.

My County Service Worker is:

Name  _________________________

_______________________________

Address  _______________________

_______________________________

_______________________________

Phone: ________________________

_______________________________

County of:

For information about IHSS 
call the local 

county welfare department

STATE OF CALIFORNIA

HEALTH AND HUMAN SERVICES AGENCY

DEPARTMENT OF SOCIAL SERVICES

PUB 104 (12/06)

IN-HOME
SUPPORTIVE
SERVICES

INDIVIDUAL
PROVIDER
BENEFITS
AND
SERVICES
INFORMATION



BIENVENIDO A SU EMPLEO COMO
PROVEEDOR INDIVIDUAL DE
SERVICIOS DE CASA Y CUIDADO
PERSONAL (IHSS)

Este folleto describe brevemente los
beneficios que pudieran estar a su
disposición y su responsabilidad de pagar
impuestos en relación a sus ingresos.  Por
favor, lea este folleto cuidadosamente.
También recuerde que la persona que le
emplea a usted es la persona que recibe
los beneficios de IHSS; su empleador no
es el Estado de California ni el
departamento de bienestar público del
condado (CWD). El Estado de California
publica este folleto y expide sus cheques
de pago a nombre de su empleador, y el
CWD se encarga de todo el papeleo. 

Por favor, comuníquese con el CWD
cada vez que tenga una pregunta sobre
su cheque de pago o su reporte de horas
trabajadas.  Siempre firme y ponga la
fecha en su reporte de horas trabajadas
después de que se termine el período de
pago (no antes).  También asegúrese de
que su empleador firme y ponga la fecha
en el reporte de sus horas trabajadas.
Luego envíelo a la dirección del CWD
que aparece en la esquina infer ior
derecha del reporte de horas trabajadas.
De esta manera, se evitarán retrasos en
la entrega de su cheque de pago.
Recuerde:  siempre avísele al CWD de
cualquier cambio en su dirección y/o
número de teléfono.

Mi trabajador de servicios del
condado es:

Nombre: ________________________

_______________________________

Dirección: _______________________

_______________________________

_______________________________

Teléfono: ________________________

Condado de:

SERVICIOS DE
CASA Y 
CUIDADO
PERSONAL

INFORMACIÓN
SOBRE BENEFICIOS
Y SERVICIOS PARA
EL PROVEEDOR 
INDIVIDUAL DE 
SERVICIOS

Para obtener información sobre IHSS,
llame al departamento de bienestar
público del condado en su localidad

STATE OF CALIFORNIA
(ESTADO DE CALIFORNIA)

HEALTH AND HUMAN SERVICES AGENCY
(SECRETARÍA DE SALUD Y SERVICIOS HUMANOS)

DEPARTMENT OF SOCIAL SERVICES
(DEPARTAMENTO DE SERVICIOS SOCIALES)

PUB 104 (SP) (12/06)



SEGURO SOCIAL
Los beneficios del Seguro Social están a la
disposición de los proveedores individuales que
tienen 18 años de edad o más y que no son los
padres del empleador/beneficiario.  Los beneficios
están a su disposición si usted resulta totalmente
incapacitado o se jubila y si también reúne ciertos
requisitos de elegibilidad.  Se hace una deducción
de su cheque de pago para el Seguro Social
(FICA). Los beneficios incluyen pagos mensuales
de jubilación o incapacidad para usted o las
personas que dependen de usted.  Para obtener
información y/o para solicitar Seguro Social, debe
comunicarse con la oficina de la Administración
del Seguro Social.  La dirección y el número de
teléfono de esta oficina aparecen en las páginas
blancas de la guía telefónica bajo “United States
Government, Social Security Administration.”

IMPUESTOS DE MEDICARE
Los beneficios de Medicare son los beneficios
médicos y los de la salud que se reciben como
parte del paquete total de beneficios del Seguro
Social.  En el pasado, la deducción de Medicare
era parte de la deducción de Seguro Social (FICA).
Ahora las leyes federales requieren que se reporten
separadamente los impuestos y la cantidad que se
deduce.  Las preguntas relativas a los impuestos
de Medicare deben hacerse directamente a la
Administración del Seguro Social.

SEGURO DEL ESTADO CONTRA
INCAPACIDAD (SDI)

Los beneficios del Seguro del Estado contra
Incapacidad (SDI) están a la disposición si usted
resulta incapacitado y no puede hacer su trabajo
normal y si reúne ciertos requisitos de elegibilidad.
Se hace una deducción de su cheque de pago
para SDI. Los beneficios del Seguro del Estado
contra Incapacidad están a la disposición por un
máximo de 52 semanas.  Para obtener
información y/o solicitar beneficios del Seguro del
Estado contra Incapacidad, debe comunicarse con
la oficina local del Departamento del Desarrollo del
Empleo (EDD).  La dirección y el número de
teléfono de esta oficina aparecen en las páginas
blancas de la guía telefónica bajo “California, State
of, Employment Development Department.”

Si usted es el padre/madre, esposo/esposa, o
hijo/hija de la persona para la cual usted está
proporcionando servicios, es posible que quiera

participar en el programa de SDI solicitando
Seguro Opcional del Estado contra Incapacidad.
Su trabajador de servicios sociales del condado
tiene a la disposición los formularios necesarios
para solicitar esta cobertura.  Si usted quiere esta
cobertura opcional, se deducirá el costo de su
cheque de pago.  Se cubren automáticamente
para SDI a todos los otros proveedores
individuales si reciben salarios trimestrales de
IHSS en exceso de $750 dólares.

SEGURO CONTRA
DESEMPLEO (UI)

Es posible que los beneficios del Seguro contra
Desempleo (UI) estén a la disposición si usted no
es el padre/madre, esposo/esposa, o hijo/hija del
empleador/beneficiario y si se queda sin empleo,
puede y está dispuesto a trabajar, y reúne ciertos
requisitos de elegibilidad. No se hace ninguna
deducción de su cheque de pago para UI.  Los
beneficios del Seguro contra Desempleo están a
la disposición por un máximo de 26 semanas.
Para obtener información y/o para solicitar
beneficios del Seguro contra Desempleo, debe
comunicarse con la of icina local del
Departamento del Desarrollo del Empleo (EDD).
El número de teléfono y la dirección de esta
oficina aparecen en las páginas blancas de la
guía telefónica bajo “Cali fornia, State of,
Employment Development Department.”

COMPENSACIÓN POR
LESIONES DE TRABAJO

Los beneficios de Compensación por Lesiones de
Trabajo están a la disposición si usted resulta
lesionado mientras está trabajando o se enferma
debido a su trabajo y si reúne ciertos requisitos de
elegibilidad. No se hace ninguna deducción de su
cheque de pago para Compensación por Lesiones
de Trabajo. Si usted resulta lesionado en su trabajo,
debe obtener atención médica inmediatamente y
luego notificar al trabajador de servicios sociales del
condado de su empleador/beneficiario. El trabajador
de servicios sociales del condado tiene a la
disposición formularios para solicitar beneficios de
Compensación por Lesiones de Trabajo. Cuando
hayan sido completados, estos formularios se deben
enviar al departamento de bienestar público del
condado.  Para obtener más información sobre los
beneficios de Compensación por Lesiones de
Trabajo, usted puede l lamar a un oficial de
información y asistencia al 1 (800) 736-7401.

RETENCIÓN DE IMPUESTOS
SOBRE LOS INGRESOS

Es posible que se retengan los impuestos
federales y estatales sobre los ingresos ganados
de su cheque de pago si usted lo solicita y si
reúne ciertos requisitos de elegibilidad.  La
retención de impuestos sobre los ingresos
ganados es estrictamente voluntaria para los
proveedores individuales. Si desea que se
retengan de su cheque de pago los impuestos
federales y estatales, por favor complete el
formulario para la retención de impuestos sobre
los ingresos (W-4) y envíelo al departamento de
bienestar público del condado.  Si no se deducen
los impuestos federales y estatales de su cheque
de pago, usted todavía tiene la obligación de
presentar una declaración de impuestos al fin del
año y posiblemente pagar impuestos sobre sus
ingresos ganados.  Debe comunicarse con el
trabajador de servicios sociales del condado de su
empleador/beneficiario, si necesita formularios
adicionales, si necesita cambiar su retención, o
para verificar el estado de su retención.

Para obtener información sobre la retención de los
impuestos estatales, debe comunicarse con la
oficina local del Departamento de Impuestos del
Estado (California Franchise Tax Board - FTB).
El número de teléfono y la dirección de esta
oficina aparecen en las páginas blancas de la guía
telefónica bajo “California, State of, Franchise Tax
Board.”  Para información sobre la retención de los
impuestos federales, debe comunicarse con la
oficina local del Departamento de Impuestos
Federales (Internal Revenue Service - IRS) en las
páginas blancas de la guía telefónica bajo “United
States Government, Internal Revenue Service.”

CRÉDITO POR
INGRESOS GANADOS (EIC)

Es posible que usted reúna los requisitos para
recibir un Crédito (en los impuestos) por Ingresos
Ganados (EIC). Para informarse sobre el EIC y
para ver si usted reúne los requisitos, lea
cuidadosamente las instrucciones para completar el
formulario W-5 (Earned Income Credit Advance
Payment Certificate).  Si reúne los requisitos para
recibir un EIC, usted puede elegir recibir el crédito
por adelantado con su pago en vez de esperar
hasta que presente su declaración de impuestos.
Para informarse sobre el EIC, debe comunicarse
con la oficina local del Departamento de Impuestos
Federales (Internal Revenue Service) o su
consultante de impuestos.


