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CalWORKs 60-Month Time Limit

CalWORKs 60-MONTH TIME LIMIT ON AID

Beginning January 1, 1998, an adult (parent, aided
stepparent, and/or caretaker relative) can only receive
60 months (5 years) of cash aid from the California
Work Opportunity and Responsibility to Kids
(CalWORKS) program. This includes cash aid received
from California or other states’ Federal Temporary
. Assistance for Needy Families (TANF) Program.

© The 60-month time limit does NOT apply to:

e Children

e Child Care

*  Medi-Cal Benefits

*  Food Stamp Benefits

* Aid that was received from California or other
states under the Aid to Families with Dependent
Children (AFDC) Program before 1/1/98.

FACTS YOU SHOULD KNOW ABOUT THE CalWORKs 60-MONTH TIME LIMIT

Time Limit Exemptions -“Clock Stoppers”

A month on cash aid does not count toward your CalWORKs 60-month time limit if at any time during that month you
are:

. Disabled (You must have medical proof of a disability that is expected to last at least 30 days.)
. 60 years or older.

. Caring for an ill or incapacitated person living in your home, which impairs you from working or participating in
welfare-to-work activities.

. Caring for a dependent child of the court or a child at risk of placement in foster care, which impairs you from work-
ing or participating in welfare-to-work activities.

. A victim of domestic abuse and the county has waived the 60-month time limit.

. Eligible for, or participating in, or exempt from Cal-Learn or another teen parent program approved by the California
Department of Social Services. (This exemption does not apply if you are age 19, eligible to volunteer to
participate but you choose not to participate in Cal-Learn.)

. Living in Indian Country, as defined by federal law, or an Alaskan native village, in which at least 50 percent of the
adults are unemployed.

More “Clock Stoppers” to the CalWORKs 60-Month Time Limit

A month does not count if:

. You did not receive CalWORKSs cash aid because your cash grant was less than $10 or you were sanctioned, or for
any other reason.

. Your cash grant is fully repaid by child support collection.

. You are only receiving supportive services such as child care, transportation, and case management.

For more information regarding time limits, see back page.
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CalWORKs 60-Month Time Limit

Time Limit Exceptions -“Time Extenders”

When you have been aided for 60 months, you may get more cash aid, if you and all parents, aided stepparents, and/or
caretaker relatives in the home are in one of the following situations:

. Caring for an ill or incapacitated person living in your home, which impairs you from working or participating in
welfare-to-work activities.

. 60 years or older

. Caring for a dependent child of the court, or a child at risk of placement in foster care, which impairs you from
working or participating in welfare-to-work activities.

. Evaluated by the county and are found to be unable to work or take part in welfare-to-work activities. This exception
only applies when the adult has a history of cooperating with welfare-to-work rules.

. Not in the assistance unit (AU) for any reason other than reaching the 60-month time limit.
. Disabled and receiving certain types of disability benefits (State Disability Insurance, Workers Compensation

Temporary Disability Insurance, In-Home Supportive Services, or State Supplementary Program benefits). This
exception only applies if the disability impairs you from working or participating in welfare-to-work activities.

CalWORKs 60-Month Time Limit Waiver for Extending Aid

If you are a victim of domestic abuse and the county determined that your condition or situation impairs your
ability to work or to participate in welfare-to-work activities, the county may waive the 60-month time limit, and you can
get more than 60 months of aid.

Request for Exemption or Extender

If you have a condition that qualifies as an exemption or extender, contact your worker to request the exemption/
extender. You may also contact your worker to find out how many months of aid you used.

Choosing to Leave Cash Aid

If your family is receiving a monthly cash grant that is a small amount, you may choose to decline the grant and leave
cash aid so that the months will not count toward your CalWORKSs 60-month time limit. This will save you some months
for cash aid in the future. You should contact your worker to find out more information about leaving cash aid and if it will
be beneficial to you.

Diversion

There are special time limit rules for diversion, which some applicants choose to get instead of on-going aid. The month
that you get the diversion payment counts as one month toward the CalWORKs 60-month time limit, unless you
reapply and get cash aid during the diversion period. In that case, you may choose to have
all the months in the diversion period counted toward the 60-month time limit, or to repay the diversion payment by
reducing your monthly cash grant.

RULES FOR OTHER STATES

Other states have different rules for the 60-month limit. If you have received TANF aid in another state - or if you plan
to move to another state - you must contact that state to find out about the time limit requirements.
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Limite de tiempo de 60 meses para CalWORKs

LIMITE DE 60 MESES PARA LA ASISTENCIA DE CalWORKs

Empezando el 1° de enero de 1998, un adulto
(padre/madre, padrastro/madrastra que recibe
asistencia, y/o persona encargada del cuidado continuo
de un familiar) solamente puede recibir asistencia
monetaria bajo el Programa de California de
Oportunidades de Trabajo y Responsabilidad hacia los
Nifios (CalWORKSs) durante 60 meses (5 afios). Esto
incluye a la asistencia monetaria que recibio de
California u otros estados bajo el Programa de
— " Asistencia Temporal para Familias Necesitadas (TANF).

El limite de 60 meses NO aplica a:

* Nifios

* Cuidado de nifios

» Beneficios del Programa de Asistencia Médica de
California (Medi-Cal)

* Beneficios del Programa de Estampillas para Comida

e Asistencia que se recibié de California u otros
estados bajo el Programa de Asistencia para
Familias con Nifios Necesitados (AFDC) antes del 1°
de enero de 1998.

INFORMACION QUE USTED DEBE SABER
ACERCA DEL LIMITE DE 60 MESES PARA CalWORKs

Excenciones al limite de tiempo -“Las que paran el reloj”

Un mes en el cual recibe asistencia monetaria no cuenta en el limite de 60 meses si en cualquier momento durante
ese mes, usted:

« Esta incapacitado (tiene que tener pruebas médicas de una incapacidad que se espera que va a durar al menos 30 dias).
e Tiene 60 afios de edad 0 mas.

» Esta cuidando a una persona enferma o incapacitada/discapacitada que vive en su hogar y esto le impide trabajar o
participar en actividades del programa que ayuda a las personas que reciben asistencia publica a obtener un
empleo, es decir un programa de “welfare to work”.

e Esta cuidando a un menor dependiente de la corte 0 un menor en riesgo de ser colocado bajo cuidado de crianza
temporal, y esto le impide trabajar o participar en actividades del programa que ayuda a las personas que reciben
asistencia publica a obtener un empleo, es decir un programa de “welfare to work”.

* Es una victima de abuso doméstico y el Condado decide que hay un buen motivo para descartar el limite de tiempo.

» Es elegible, esta participando, o esta exento de participar en Cal-Learn (un programa de California para la educacion
de los padres adolescentes que reciben asistencia monetaria) u otro programa aprobado por el Departamento de
Servicios Sociales de California para padres adolescentes. (Esta exencion no aplica si usted tiene 19 afios de edad
y es elegible para que voluntariamente participe en Cal-Learn pero decide no hacerlo.)

e Esta viviendo en territorio indio, como lo define la ley federal, o en un pueblo nativo de Alaska, en el cual por lo
menos 50 por ciento de los adultos que viven en el territorio indio o en el pueblo no tienen trabajo.

Mas situaciones que “paran el reloj” que marca el limite de tiempo de 60 meses para CalWORKs

Un mes no cuenta si:

e Usted no recibi6 asistencia monetaria de CalWORKs porque su pago mensual fue menos de $10 o porque usted
recibié una sancién, o por cualquier otra razén.

e Su pago mensual se reembolsa completamente con el cobro de mantenimiento de hijos.

e Usted solamente esta recibiendo servicios de apoyo tales como cuidado de nifios, transporte, y administracion de su caso.

Para mas informacion acerca del limite de tiempo, vea la siguiente pagina.
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Limite de tiempo de 60 meses para CalWORKs

Excepciones al limite de tiempo - “Alargadores de tiempo”

Cuando ya haya recibido asistencia durante 60 meses, es posible que reciba mas asistencia monetaria, si usted y
todos los padres, padrastros/madrastras, y/o personas encargadas del cuidado continuo de un familiar en el hogar se
encuentran en una de las siguientes situaciones:

. Esta cuidando a una persona enferma o incapacitada/discapacitada que vive en su hogar y esto le impide trabajar
0 participar en actividades del programa que ayuda a las personas que reciben asistencia publica a obtener un
empleo, es decir un programa de “welfare to work”.

. Tiene 60 afios de edad o mas.

. Esta cuidando a un menor dependiente de la corte, 0 a un menor bajo el riesgo de ser colocado bajo cuidado de
crianza temporal, y esto le impide trabajar o participar en actividades de “welfare to work”.

. Ha sido evaluado por el Condado y se ha descubierto que no puede trabajar o participar en actividades de “welfare
to work”. Esta excepcion solamente aplica cuando el adulto tiene un historial de cooperar con las reglas de
“welfare to work”.

. El adulto no esta incluido en la unidad de asistencia (AU, por sus siglas en inglés) por algin motivo que no sea el
alcanzar el limite de 60 meses.

. Estd incapacitado/discapacitado y esta recibiendo ciertas clases de beneficios por incapacidad/discapacidad
(Seguro del Estado contra Incapacidad, Seguro por Incapacidad Temporal de la Compensacion por Lesiones de
Trabajo, Servicios de Casa y Cuidado Personal, o beneficios del Programa de Pagos Suplementarios del Estado).
Esta excepcion solamente aplica si la incapacidad/discapacidad le impide trabajar o participar en actividades de
“welfare to work”.

Exencion al limite de tiempo de 60 meses para CalWORKS para continuar la asistencia

Si usted es una victima de abuso doméstico y el Condado ha determinado que su condicién o situacién le impide o
afecta su habilidad para trabajar o para participar en actividades de “welfare to work”, el Condado puede descartar el
limite de 60 meses y su asistencia puede continuar.

Solicitud para una exencion al limite de tiempo de 60 meses o para extender el limite

Si usted tiene una condicion que califica para una exencién o para extender el limite, comuniquese con el trabajador
encargado de su caso para solicitar una exencion o una extension del limite. También puede comunicarse con el
trabajador encargado de su caso para saber cuantos meses de asistencia ha usado.

Opcidn de dejar la asistencia monetaria

Si su familia esta recibiendo un pago mensual el cual es una cantidad pequefa, usted puede elegir el no recibir el pago
mensual y dejar la asistencia monetaria para que los meses no cuenten en contra del limite de 60 meses de
CalWORKs. Esto le ahorrard algunos meses para asistencia monetaria en el futuro. Debe comunicarse con el
trabajador encargado de su caso para obtener mas informacion acerca de como dejar la asistencia monetaria y si esto
seria de beneficio para usted.

Pago alternativo (diversion)

Existen reglas especiales relacionadas al limite de tiempo para pagos alternativos, los cuales algunos salicitantes eligen en
vez de asistencia continua. El mes en el cual se hace el pago alternativo cuenta como un mes para el limite de 60 meses
de CalWORKs a menos que usted vuelva a solicitar y reciba asistencia monetaria en el periodo del pago alternativo. En
ese caso, usted puede decidir que todos los meses en el periodo del pago alternativo cuenten para el limite de 60 meses, o
puede reembolsar el pago alternativo por medio de una reduccion en su pago mensual.

REGLAS PARA OTROS ESTADOS

Otros estados tienen reglas diferentes para el limite de 60 meses. Si usted ha recibido Asistencia Temporal para
Familias Necesitadas (TANF) en otro estado, o si tiene planes de mudarse a otro estado, tiene que ponerse en
contacto con ese estado para obtener informacion acerca de los requisitos del limite de tiempo.

CW 2184 (SP) (11/02)
Page 2 of 2



	change 1: 03-007
	box 1: Off
	box 2: Off
	box 3: Off
	form 1: CW 2184 English and Spanish (11/02)  CalWORKs 60-Month Time Limit
	box 4: Off
	box 5: Yes
	order unit 1: Master Only
	box 6: Off
	box 7: Off
	box 8: Yes
	box 9: Off
	date 2: 11/02
	estimated price 1: 
	replaces 1: 4/02
	box 10: Yes
	box 11: Off
	box 12: Yes
	box 13: Off
	box 14: Off
	box 15: Off
	box 16: Off
	box 17: Yes
	box 18: Off
	box 19: Yes
	effective 1: 11/02
	acl 1: 
	box 20: Off
	box 21: Yes
	other 1: 
	other 2: ACIN I-90-02
	other 3: 
Print form:  8 1/2 x 11, 2 sided.



Check on the Internet to see if forms are available at www.dss.cahwnet.gov.

For camera-ready copies of English and Spanish forms, please call the Forms Management Unit (FMU) at (916) 657-1907, or by electronic mail at:  fmudss@dss.ca.gov.

Contact Language Services for other languages at (916) 445-6778. or by electronic mail at LTS@dss.ca.gov.
	other 7: Attached is a Reproducible Copy
	date 1: January 10, 2003
	other 10: 


