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SUBJECT: WELCH v. ANDERSON COURT ORDER IMPLEMENTATION

REFERENCES: ACL 9%4-58, 94-60, 94-68

On August 30, 1994, the Superior Court ruled that the
California Department of Social Services (CDSS} did not have a
stay of its preliminary injunction of August 19, 1994. The Court
specifically ordered that counties are to rescind the September
1994 2.3 percent reduction in the AFDC Maximum Aid Payment (MAP),
which was enacted by a two-thirds vote of the California State
Legislature and which is included in the Assistance Payments
Demonstration Project, an approved Federal Demonstration Project.

The Court also mandates us to instruct you to pay back any
portion of the 2.3 percent already imposed. The court has
ordered counties that make two payments to clients in one month
to pay back benefits by September 15, 1994. Counties that pay
only once a month are to pay back benefits by October 1, 1994,
Counties are instructed to take all necessary steps to ensure
that these requirements are met.

CDSS has appealed the preliminary injunction to the
California Supreme Court.

This letter transmits the TEMP 2076, a poster required by
the court as part of the Welch v. Anderson court case. The court
case requires that Temp 2076 be posted in county welfare offices
from September 1, 1994 through September 30, 1994. Counties are
to make enough copies to post one in each county welfare office.

You may modify the poster to meet county specific needs.
Without prior approval, you may designate a county contact and/or
eliminate the paragraph regarding supplemental check issuance
that is not county appropriate.




If you have any questionsg, please contact:
Mr. Vince Toolan at (916) 654-1808 or CALNET 464-1808 or
Ms. Elizabeth Allred at (916) 657-3350 or CALNET 464-3350.

Sincerely,

o ”,fé/ ) //,-

MICHAEL C. GENEST
Deputy Director
Welfare Programs Division

Attachment
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WELFARE MAY OWE YOU MONEY

On September 1, 1994, a change in state law lowered your cash aid.
A court said that the county cannot lower your cash aid now.

If your county sends out checks once a month, you will get another
check by October 1, 1994, for the money we kept in September.

If your county sends out two checks a month, you will get a check
by September 15, 1994, for the money we kept in September.

IMPORTANT

In the future, the court may say the county was right to lower your
cash aid. If the court does, you may have to pay the county back.

ES POSIBLE QUE EL DEPARTAMENTO DE
BIENESTAR LE DEBA DINERO

El 1° de septiembre de 1994, un cambio en la ley estatal redujo su
asistencia monetaria. Una corte indico que el condado no puede
reducir su asistencia monetaria ahora.

Si su condado envia los cheques una vez al mes, usted recibira otro
cheque a mas tardar el 12 de octubre de 1994, para reembolsarle el
dinero que no le dimos en septiembre. |

 Si su condado envia dos cheques al mes, usted recibira un cheque
a mas tardar el 15 de septiembre de 1994, para reembolsarie el
dinero que no le dimos en septiembre.

IMPORTANTE

En el futuro, es posible que la corte indique que el condado tenia la
razon al reducir su asistencia monetaria. Si es asi, es posible que
usted tenga que devolverle el dinero al condado.
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