STATE OF CALIFORMIA—HEALTH AND WELFARE AGENCY

DEPARTMENT OF SOCIAL SERVICES
744 P Street, Sacramento, CAR 95814

May 12, 1994

REASON FOR THIS TRANSMITTAL

ALI~COUNTY LETTER NO. 94-37

[ ] State Law Change
[ ] Pederal Law or Regulation
: Change

TCO: ALL~COUNTY WELFARE DIRECTORS [ ] Court Order or Settlement
Agreement

[X] Clarification Requested by
One or More Counties

[X] Initiated by CDSS

SUBJECT: ALICWABLE COSTS QF SERVICE THAT AFFECT IN-HOME
SUPPCRTIVE SERVICES (IHSS) CONTRACTS
REFERENCE AT, #93-24

In accordance with Welfare and Institutions Code (WIC) Section 12303(a) and
Manual of Policies and Procedures (MPP) Sections 10-205.2 and 10-205.3 et al.,
effective July 1, 1989, and each year thereafter, the allowable cost cf service is
increased in accordance with the California Consumer Price Index. Any portion of
a payment by a County on an IHSS contract in excess of 110 percent of the
allowable cost of service shall not be eligible for matching or reimbursement from
State or Federal funds.

The revised allowable cost of service for each County listed below is
effective July 1, 1994. Counties that are currently impacted are those which are
bidding for new contracts, or are renewing contracts, pursuant to WIC Section
12302.1, with effective start dates of July 1, 1994 or thereafter. Contracts that
begin prior to July 1, 1994 or are in progress, are not impacted by the new
allowable cost of service until those contracts expire and are rebid or renewed.

The methodology used to campute the revised allowable cost of service is as
follows: The July 1, 1993 allowable cost of service was increased by 3.7 percent,
the estimated California Consumers Price Index between Fiscal Years 1993 and 1994.

In accordance with WIC Section 12303(a), a 10 percent allowable increase was
added to each County's allowable cost fo arrive at a maximmm contract cost

eligible-for-State reimbursement.

The maximmm contract cost eligible for reimbursement is not to be considered
a standard rate of payment. Counties are to continue to encourage maximm
campetition among bidders and secure the lowest price possible.

An example of the computed allowable cost of service is attached.




CDSS MPP Section 10-205.5 provides a process whereby Counties may appeal to
the Department for an adjustment to the allowable cost determination. The appeal
process requires Counties to initiate an appeal by filing with the Department a
written request for an adjustment, no later than 15 working days from the mailing
date of this All-County lLetter. The written appeal must provide documentation
that demonstrates extraordinary circumstances affecting the operation of the
program within the County, the potential adverse impact of the allowable cost on
continuity of services, or the ability to provide efficient and effective
management of the program. The appeal mist contain the cost requested and
specific justification for the difference between the allowable cost and the
requested cost.

Once the written appeal has been received, the Department will determine if
additional information is necessary. The additional information mist be provided
by Counties within 10 working days of the date of the Department's notification to
the County. Failure of the County to provide additional information, within the
specified time period, may result in denial of the requested adjustment.

The FY 1994-95 maximum allowable hourly costs, including the 10 percent
allowable increase, eligible for State reimbursement have been approved by the
Department of Finance for each County and are as follows:

Butte $10.54
Nevada $11.12
Riverside $12.74
San Diego $12.35
San Francisco $13.77
San Joaquin $11.26
San Mateo $13.12
Santa Barbatra, $13.05
Santa Clara $14.05
Santa Cruz $14.11
Stanislaus $10.89
Tehama $11.72

Ventura $£11.45




Please address any appeals for adjustment of the allowable cost to me at the
following address:

Department of Social Services
744 P Street, Mail Station 17-01
Sacramento, CA 95814

4&% —

Deputy Director
Adult Services Division

Attachment

c: CWDA




Attachment

COMPUTED
COUNTY ATIOWARLE HOURLY
COST FY 93/94
Butte $ 9.24
Nevada $ 9.75
Riverside $11.17
San Diego $10.83
San Francisco $12.07
San Joaguin $ 9.87
San Mateo $11.50
Santa Barbara $§11.44
Santa Clara 812.31
Santa Cruz $12.37
Stanislaus $ 9.55
Tehama $10.27
Ventura : $10.04
EXAMPIE: Butte County
Allowable Cost of Service Fiscal Year 1993/94 $ 9.24
Allowable Increase (CPI Increase 3.70% x $9.24) + .34
Allowable Cost of Service Fiscal Year 1994/95 = $ 9.58

WIC Section 12303(a) 10% Allowable Increase
(10% x $9.58) + .96

Maximm Allowable Cost of Service with
10% Increase Fiscal Year 1994/95 = $10.54




