
 
 
 
 
 
 

 

 

  

 
October 6, 2008 
 
 
 
ALL COUNTY LETTER NO. 08-45 
 
 
TO: ALL COUNTY WELFARE DIRECTORS 
 ALL CDSS ADOPTIONS DISTRICT OFFICES 
 ALL DELEGATED COUNTY ADOPTION AGENCIES 
 ALL ADOPTION SERVICE PROVIDERS 
 ALL LICENSED PRIVATE ADOPTION AGENCIES 
 ALL COUNTY CLERKS 
 ACADEMY OF CALIFORNIA ADOPTION LAWYERS 
 
 
SUBJECT: INCREASED FEES AND RELATED STATUTORY CHANGES IN THE 

INDEPENDENT ADOPTIONS PROGRAM 
 
 
The purpose of this All County Letter is to notify you of several amended Family Code 
Sections that affect the Independent Adoptions Program (IAP).  The budget includes 
program fee increases and several law changes:   
 
1) The main statutory change is the date the required investigation must be submitted 

to the court by the Department or delegated county adoption agency.   Currently, the 
required investigation must be submitted to the court within180 days after the filing 
of the petition.  The changes in statute now require the 180 days to begin when the 
Department or delegated county adoption agency had received a copy of the filed 
petition and 50 percent of the adoption investigation fee.  The changes do not affect 
the required interview with the petitioners (including a health and safety check of the 
child) within the 45 day period.  This requirement has remained the same to ensure 
the safety of the child.  In addition, submission of the final report to the court by the 
Department or delegated county adoption agency is no longer required unless, or 
until, all fees have been paid. 
 

2) Another major change is the increase of the full fee from $2,950 to $4,500.  For 
petitioners who have a valid preplacement evaluation, the fee will be $1,550.  A valid 
preplacement evaluation must meet the investigation requirements pursuant to Title 
22 California Code of Regulation Section 35089 and must be dated within one 
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year of the filing of the petition.  If a preplacement evaluation is older than one year 
but less than three years old, the evaluation may be updated.  A licensed adoption 
agency may complete an update of the outdated evaluation by following the format 
for an abbreviated assessment pursuant to Title 22 California Code of Regulations 
Section 35183(b), and the update must include information pursuant to Sections 
35183(c) through (f), as necessary. 
 

3) The fee waiver is eliminated.  However, petitioners who meet the “very low income” 
limits according to the income limits published by the Department of Housing and 
Community Development, will be allowed to apply for a reduced fee with at least a 
minimum payment of $500.  The income limits can be found at the following website 
http://www.hcd.ca.gov/hpd/hrc/rep/state/incNote.html. 

 
Furthermore, the Department and delegated county adoption agencies have 
developed guidelines that take into consideration a family’s income as well as any 
assets in determining the fee reduction.  Prior to filing a petition with the court, 
petitioners may contact the Department at (916) 651-8089 to determine whether 
they may qualify for a fee reduction. 

 
The Department has developed a Fact Sheet (attached) that has been distributed 
throughout California to inform the public about the fee increases regarding petitions 
filed on and after October 1, 2008.  The Fact Sheet gives details of the following 
statutory changes that affect the IAP. 
 
Effective October 1, 2008, changes to the Family Code include: 
 

1) Section 8807 – This section permits the 180 days to begin after 50 percent of the 
fee has been paid to the Department or delegated county adoption agency.  It 
also allows the full report to the court to be submitted after the remainder of the 
balance has been paid. 
 

2) Section 8808 – This section permits the Department or delegated county 
adoption agency to interview all persons from whom a consent is required as 
soon as 50 percent of the fee has been paid.  It also indicates that 50 percent of 
the fee must be sent to the Department or delegated county adoption agency 
along with the copy of the petition filed with the court. 
 

3) Section 8810 – This section requires 50 percent of payment to be paid at the 
time the adoption petition is filed and the remaining balance to be paid on a date 
determined by the Department or delegated county adoption agency.  This 
section also changes the fees paid.  The full fee has been raised to $4,500 and  
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the fee for petitioners who have a valid preplacement evaluation is $1,550.  This 
section has also eliminated any fee waivers and has required that a reduction of 
the fee be no less than $500.  The Department was authorized to develop 
guidelines in regard to fee reduction based on income and/or assets.  In  
addition, the income limits used to determine a fee reduction has been changed 
to “very low income” limits. 
 

4) Section 8820 – This section provides that birth parent(s) or petitioner(s) may file 
an appeal if the Department or delegated county adoption agency fails or refuses 
to accept the consent of the birth parents after the 180-day period or extension 
has passed or, where the consent of the department or delegated county 
adoption agency is required, it fails or refuses to file or give its consent when the 
fee has been paid. 

 
Finally, the IAP will be revisited during the 2009 legislative budget subcommittee 
hearings requiring the Department to provide an update regarding the degree to which 
fee collections have improved as a result of the statutory changes and the impact the 
fee increase on the number of independent adoptions.  The Department will be 
collecting data from the seven California Department of Social Services’ district offices 
and the three delegated county adoption agencies (Alameda, Los Angeles, and San 
Diego), in order to meet this request. 
 
If you have any questions regarding this letter, please contact Myrna Hernandez, 
Program Consultant, Adoptions Services Bureau, at (916) 651-8103. 
 
Sincerely, 
 
Original Document Signed By: 
 
GREGORY E. ROSE 
Deputy Director 
Children and Family Services Division 
 
Attachment 
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If you have any questions, please contact the CDSS Adoptions District Office or the 
delegated county adoption agency (Alameda, Los Angeles, or San Diego) in your area 
for more information.  You may also check CDSS’ website at www.childsworld.ca.gov.  

IMPORTANT NOTICE 
 

 
CHANGES FOR ALL INDEPENDENT ADOPTION PETITIONS FILED IN CALIFORNIA ON 

OR AFTER OCTOBER 1, 2008: 
 
  The California Department of Social Services (CDSS) or delegated county adoption agency 

(Alameda, Los Angeles, San Diego) is required to investigate all Independent Adoption 
Petitions and submit a final report to the court with its findings within 180 calendar days, as 
long as full payment has been received. 

 
  After the petition is filed with the court, the petitioner must mail a copy and 50% of the fee to one 

of the seven CDSS District Offices or to one of the three delegated county adoption agencies. 
 

 The 180-day time-frame will begin once CDSS or the delegated county adoption agency 
has received a copy of the filed petition and 50% of the fee. 

 
  The fee for the cost of the investigation of an Independent Adoption petition is $4,500. 
 
  The fee for the cost of the investigation of an Independent Adoption petition for a family with a 

completed, approved pre-placement evaluation is $1,550.   The pre-placement evaluation must 
meet the requirements of Family Code Section 8811.5.  

 
  The remaining 50% of the fee must be paid no later than the date determined by the CDSS or 

the delegated county adoption agency.  The CDSS or delegated county adoption agency 
cannot file the final court report until the remainder of the fee is paid. 

 
  The fee for all Independent Adoption investigations is non-refundable. 
 
  Requests for fee waivers will no longer be accepted. 
 
  The fee may be reduced in some cases where the prospective adoptive parent(s) is at or 

below the very low income limits according to the income limits published by the Department 
of Housing and Community Development (http://www.hcd.ca.gov/hpd/hrc/rep/state/incNote.html), 
and making the required payment would be detrimental to the welfare of an adopted child.  
However, in no case will the fee be reduced to less than $500.  Prior to filing a petition with the 
court, petitioners may contact CDSS at (916) 651-8089 to determine if they may qualify for a 
fee reduction.  

 
  Adopting families may be eligible for a tax credit for qualifying expenses paid to adopt an 

eligible child (http://www.irs.gov/taxtopics).  Please consult your tax advisor. 
 
  Certain criminal offenses will now require the CDSS or delegated county adoption agency to 

recommend denial of the petition.  Petitioners with a history of criminal offenses should check 
the CDSS website to verify whether any offense listed will prevent them from receiving a 
favorable recommendation. 
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