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ALL COUNTY LETTER NO.  08-04 
 
 
 
 
TO:   ALL COUNTY WELFARE DIRECTORS 
   ALL COUNTY CHILD CARE COORDINATORS 
   ALL COUNTY WELFARE TO WORK COORDINATORS 
   STAGE ONE ALTERNATIVE PAYMENT PROGRAM PROVIDERS 
 
SUBJECT: NEW REGULATIONS FOR TRUSTLINE REGISTRY AND 

REQUIREMENTS FOR LICENSE-EXEMPT CHILD CARE 
PROVIDERS 

 
REFERENCE:  HEALTH AND SAFETY CODE (HSC) SECTION 1596.67 (a) 
 

ALL COUNTY LETTER (ACL) 98-08, DATED  
FEBRUARY 18, 1998, CHILD CARE PROVIDERS EXEMPT FROM 
HEALTH AND SAFETY CERTIFICATION AND TRUSTLINE 
REQUIREMENTS 

 
 ACL 98-52, DATED JULY 9, 1998, REGULATIONS FOR 

TRUSTLINE REGISTRY AND HEALTH AND SAFETY 
REQUIREMENTS FOR LICENSE-EXEMPT CHILD CARE 
PROVIDERS 

 
MANUAL OF POLICY AND PROCEDURES (MPP) SECTIONS  
47-110, 47-260, 47-301, 47-430, 47-601, 47-602, 47-620 and  
47-630 

 
The purpose of this letter is to inform counties of the new Trustline requirements and to 
provide the necessary forms related to these requirements.  Health and Safety Code 
section 1596.67 (a) currently requires certain providers who receive compensation 
under Stage One of the California Work Opportunity and Responsibility to Kids 
(CalWORKs) Child Care program to be Trustline registered in order to receive 
compensation.  On November 28, 2007, the Office of Administrative Law (OAL) 
approved the regulation changes to require Trustline registration before payments can 
be made.   
 

REASON FOR THIS TRANSMITTAL 

[  ] State Law Change 
[X] Federal Law or Regulation 
 Change 
[  ] Court Order 
[  ] Clarification Requested by 
  One or More Counties 
[  ] Initiated by CDSS 
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These new regulation changes bring current practices in line with statutory 
requirements, support program improvements, and place the safety of California’s 
children as the Department’s highest priority. 
 
Effective February 1, 2008, in order to be reimbursed for child care services using 
CalWORKs Stage One child care funds, license-exempt child care providers must 
complete the Trustline registration process before child care payments may be issued.  
In order to support the opportunities for CalWORKs families to comply with their welfare 
to work plans and facilitate a continuum of child care services, the new regulations allow 
for a 120-day retroactive payment period.  This means that a provider who becomes 
Trustline registered may be retroactively paid for his/her services from the time services 
were both requested and provided through the date he/she is Trustline registered.  The 
total amount of retroactive time that will be paid will not exceed 120 days.  To ensure 
these new requirements do not disrupt recipients’ ability to participate in the welfare-to-
work program, counties may need to assist participants in finding alternative child care 
if/when their chosen provider does not clear within the retroactive timeframe.   
 
In addition, current statute authorizes only aunts, uncles, and grandparents by blood, 
marriage, or court decree, of the child(ren) in care to be exempt from both the Health 
and Safety Self-Certification requirements and the Trustline registration process.  
Therefore, great grandparents, great aunts, and great uncles will no longer be exempt 
from the Trustline registration process and the Health and Safety Self-Certification 
requirements.  However, great grandparents, great aunts, and great uncles that are 
currently either providing care or in the application process before February 1, 2008, are 
exempt from the Trustline registration process and the Health and Safety Self-
Certification requirements.  If the family changes child care providers and/or if the 
provider serves children of no relation on or after February 1, 2008, the provider must 
meet both the Trustline registration and the Health and Safety Self-Certification 
requirements before payments will be made. 
 
In addition to the great grandparents, great aunts, and great uncles, license-exempt 
providers who submit a completed Trustline application on or before January 31, 2008, 
fall under the current regulations.  Therefore, these providers can be paid while their 
Trustline application is in process.  Again, if the family changes child care providers on 
or after February 1, 2008, the provider must meet both the Trustline registration and the 
Health and Safety Self-Certification requirements before payments will be made.   
 
The attached forms have been modified to reflect the new Trustline registration 
requirements and Health and Safety Self-Certification exemptions.  Both the Declaration 
of Exemption from Trustline Registration and Health and Safety Self-Certification (CCP 
1) and the Health and Safety Self-Certification (for license-exempt providers) (CCP 4) 
delete the reference to great grandparents, great aunts, and great uncles.  The 
CalWORKs Stage One Child Care Request Form and Payment Rules (CCP 7) add the 
120 day retroactive payment period language. Finally, the Notice of Actions (NA 832, 
NA 833, NA 834 and NA 835) include the retroactive timeframe language and 
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incorporate the new regulations into the rules section.   
 
Camera-ready copies of all child care program forms are available from the California 
Department of Social Services (CDSS) in Spanish, Chinese, Vietnamese, Cambodian, 
and Russian.  Asian and Russian translations may be ordered from the CDSS 
Language Services Bureau at (916) 654-1282.  Spanish forms can be obtained from the 
Department's Forms Management Office by calling (916) 657-1907.  Many of the 
translated forms can also be retrieved via the Internet by accessing the CDSS website 
at http://www.dss.cahwnet.gov/cdssweb/FormsandPu_271.htm 
 
In addition to this ACL, an All County Information Notice (ACIN) as well as a educational 
brochure will be developed to be distributed to all County Welfare Directors, County 
Child Care Coordinators, and Stage One Alternative Payment Program Providers.  The 
ACIN will address frequently asked questions and answers relating to the Trustline 
implementation that may help counties with the transition.  The brochure will encompass 
information regarding Trustline that may be distributed to CalWORKs families or their 
child care providers to help them understand the new reqirements for child care 
payments. 
 
If you have any questions regarding this letter, please call Ms. McCaulie Reich, Policy 
Analyst, at (916) 657-2144. 

 
 
Sincerely, 
 
Original Document Signed By: 
 
 
CHARR LEE METSKER 
Deputy Director 
Welfare to Work Division 
 
Attachments 

 
 

c: CWDA 
  
 
 
 
 
 
 
 



STATE OF CALIFORNIA - HEALTH AND HUMAN SERVICES AGENCY CALIFORNIA DEPARTMENT OF SOCIAL SERVICES

DECLARATION OF EXEMPTION FROM TRUSTLINE REGISTRATION
AND HEALTH AND SAFETY SELF-CERTIFICATION

1. Name of Provider __________________________________ Provider’s Date of Birth ______/_______/_______

Address___________________________________________City______________________State_____Zip __________________

Phone (      ) _______________________________

The State of California requires providers to prove they are 18 years of age or older. A copy of the provider’s drivers
license or other proof of age must be attached.

2. LIST THE NAME AND ADDRESS OF THE FAMILY YOU ARE WORKING FOR.

Name of Parent/Guardian___________________________________________ Phone (     ) __________________

Address_______________________________ City _______________ State _____________ Zip ________________

3. CHILD CARE WILL BE PROVIDED IN (CHECK ONE): ■■ Child’s Home ■■ Provider’s Home

I declare under penalty of perjury under the laws of the United States of America and the State of  
California that I am by blood, marriage or court decree the ___________________________________________________,

(AUNT, UNCLE, GRANDMOTHER/FATHER)

of _______________________________, _____________________________, ________________________________,
NAME OF CHILD NAME OF CHILD NAME OF CHILD

________________________________, _____________________________, ________________________________,
NAME OF CHILD NAME OF CHILD NAME OF CHILD

________________________________, ______________________________ for whom I am providing child care.
NAME OF CHILD NAME OF CHILD

SIGNATURE OF PROVIDER

SIGNATURE OF PARENT/GUARDIAN

DATE

DATE

CCP 1 (1/08) (RECOMMENDED)

I declare that I am the parent/guardian of the child(ren) listed on this form, that I have read the declaration of
my child care provider and that I agree with the declaration regarding the provider’s relationship to my child(ren).

I understand that I must return this form promptly to the County Welfare Department, Alternative Payment Program or other
Payment Agency

I understand that because I am an aunt, uncle, or grandmother/father, I am exempt from the requirement to apply for
TrustLine registration and the requirement to complete the Health & Safety Self Certification.

I understand that giving wrong or incomplete information can result in legal prosecution with penalties of fine and 
imprisonment or both.

COUNTY USE ONLY
CASE NAME

CLIENT CASE NUMBER

WORKER NAME

WORKER NUMBER

INSTRUCTIONS:
If you are the aunt, uncle, grandmother/father, of a child(ren) for whom you are
providing child care and you are exempt from licensure, please complete this form
and indicate in the spaces below the name(s) of the child(ren) and your relationship
to the child(ren).

COUNTY OR APP USE ONLY

Return this form by:_____________________ to:



PART A GENERAL INFORMATION:

1. Name of Provider __________________________________ Provider’s Date of Birth ______/_______/_______

Address___________________________________________City______________________State_____Zip __________________

Phone (      )________________________________

The State of California requires providers to prove they are 18 years of age or older. A copy of the provider’s drivers license or other
proof of age must be attached.

2. LIST THE NAME AND ADDRESS OF THE FAMILY YOU ARE WORKING FOR.

Name of Parent/Guardian_________________________________________________Phone (        ) ________________________

Address_______________________________________________City____________________State______Zip________________

3. CHILD CARE WILL BE PROVIDED IN (CHECK ONE):         ■■  Child’s Home      ■■  Provider’s Home

PART B BASIC HEALTH AND SAFETY SELF-CERTIFICATION REQUIREMENTS:

The home in which the care is provided must be a safe and healthful place for children. Basic health and safety standards are listed
below. It is the on-going responsibility of the parent and the provider to see that these basic standards are met.

The parent and the provider must put their initials to the left of each statement to certify that the home where child care is provided
meets basic health and safety standards.

Parent’s Provider’s
Initials Initials

1. __________ ________ The home where child care is provided must have working smoke detectors and fire extinguishers
that meet standards set by the State Fire Marshal.

2. __________ ________ The child care provider shall refrain from using corporal punishment.

3. __________ ________ The child care provider must allow unlimited parental access to the children while in their care.

4. __________ ________ The child care provider must be free of communicable diseases; be physically and mentally capable
of caring for children; and show proof to the parent that he/she was tested in the last 12 months and is
free of active tuberculosis.

5. __________ ________ The home where child care is provided has yard and play areas that have been checked and are safe
for children.  Children are protected from dangers such as pools, hot tubs, electrical outlets, stairs,
poisonous materials, medications, guns or amunition etc.

Information about health and safety and other basic child care training is available from the local Child Care Resource And Referral
Program and other community agencies such as the American Red Cross, Community Colleges, Fire Departments, etc.

The parent and provider are encouraged to use the Health & Safety Information checklist to ensure that the home where care is to be
provided is safe for children.

CCP 4 (1/08)  REQUIRED (SUBSTITUTES PERMITTED) Page 1 of 2

STATE OF CALIFORNIA - HEALTH AND HUMAN SERVICES AGENCY CALIFORNIA DEPARTMENT OF SOCIAL SERVICES

COUNTY USE ONLY
CASE NAME

CLIENT CASE NUMBER

WORKER NAME

WORKER NUMBER

HEALTH AND SAFETY SELF-CERTIFICATION 
( For license-exempt providers)

INSTRUCTIONS:  As a license-exempt child care provider who is serving a family that
gets help to pay for their child care costs, you must complete this form. After you have
completed the form, return it promptly to the County Welfare Department, Alternative
Payment Program or other payment agency. Providers who are the aunt, uncle,
grandmother/father, of the child(ren) in care must complete a Declaration of Exemption
(CCP 1).



PART C OTHER INFORMATION

1. PROVIDE THE ADDRESSES AND TELEPHONE NUMBER OF TWO LOCAL CHARACTER REFERENCES OTHER THAN THE
PARENT.  These references should be contacted by the parent of the children to prove good character and ability to provide
child care.

Name ______________________________________________ Name ____________________________________________

Address ____________________________________________ Address __________________________________________

City/State ___________________________________________ City/State _________________________________________

Phone (    ) ________________________________________ Phone (    ) ______________________________________

2. LIST ALL OTHER ADULTS LIVING IN THE HOME WHERE CARE IS PROVIDED AND THE RELATIONSHIP TO THE PROVIDER
OR CHILD.

Name ________________________________ Related to ■■ child ■■ provider Relationship _________________

Name ________________________________ Related to ■■ child ■■ provider Relationship _________________

Name ________________________________ Related to ■■ child ■■ provider Relationship _________________

Name ________________________________ Related to ■■ child ■■ provider Relationship _________________

3. IN THE SPACE BELOW, THE PROVIDER SHOULD DESCRIBE HIS/HER ABILITY TO PROVIDE CHILD CARE BY LISTING
HIS/HER EXPERIENCE AND OTHER QUALIFICATIONS:

________________________________________________________________________________________________________

________________________________________________________________________________________________________

ADDITIONAL IMPORTANT INFORMATION:

• If you, THE PARENT/GUARDIAN, choose child care in your home (in-home care), you are the employer and are
responsible for social security tax and state worker’s compensation insurance.  You may also be responsible for
unemployment taxes.

• PARENT/GUARDIAN is not required to withhold federal or state income taxes from the child care provider’s 
earnings. The PROVIDER IS RESPONSIBLE FOR REPORTING INCOME AND PAYMENT OF ANY FEDERAL OR
STATE INCOME TAXES.

• FOR MORE INFORMATION ABOUT YOUR RESPONSIBILITIES AS AN EMPLOYER, CONTACT YOUR LOCAL
OFFICE OF THE EMPLOYMENT DEVELOPMENT DEPARTMENT OR LOCAL CHILD CARE RESOURCE AND
REFERRAL PROGRAM. For general information about child care you may call toll free at  (800-KIDS R WE) 
(800-543-7793).

PART D PROVIDER/PARENT STATEMENTS

1. PROVIDER’S STATEMENT: All information provided and contained on this form is true and correct to the best of my knowledge.  If
care occurs in my home, I certify that my home meets health and safety requirements listed in Part B.  I understand that health and
safety training information is available from the local Child Care Resource and Referral program and other community agencies.  
I understand that I am not an employee of the County Welfare Department, Alternative Payment Program or other payment agency.

Signature of Provider__________________________________________________ Date ________________________________

2. PARENT’S STATEMENT: I have interviewed and approved this child care provider. I understand the statements provided on this
form. I understand it is my responsibility to make sure that the child care provided to my child(ren) and the place where care is
provided is safe. I also understand that the County Welfare Department, Alternative Payment Program or other payment agency did
not and will not check the safety of the child care provided by this provider and they did not and will not check to see that the
information contained on this form is correct.  I take full responsibility for the child care provided by this provider.

Signature of Parent/Guardian __________________________________________ Date__________________________________

COUNTY OR APP USE ONLY

Return this form by:______________________ to:

Page 2 of 2CCP 4 (1/08) REQUIRED - SUBSTITUTES PERMITTED



STATE OF CALIFORNIA - HEALTH AND HUMAN SERVICES AGENCY CALIFORNIA DEPARTMENT OF SOCIAL SERVICES

CalWORKs STAGE ONE CHILD CARE REQUEST FORM
AND PAYMENT RULES

If you are a California Work Opportunity and Responsibility to Kids (CalWORKs) recipient and you are employed
or attending a welfare-to-work activity, you may be eligible for paid child care.  Child care payments to a licensed
child care facility or a license-exempt provider who is also exempt from Trustline registration in Stage One cannot
go back more than 30 calendar days from the date you request paid child care from your worker.  In order to
receive paid child care in Stage One, you must be determined eligible and your provider has to meet certain
requirements.  

As of February 1, 2008, a licensed-exempt provider who is required to be Trustline registered must be registered
before payment can be made.  License-exempt child care providers who are Trustline registered shall be entitled
to receive retroactive payment for up to 120 calendar days from the date child care services were requested and
provided if the provider subsequently becomes Trustline registered.

If you are seeking child care for your 11 or 12 year old, the preferred placement is in an After School Education
and Safety Program.  Information and site location for these programs is available on the internet at:
http://www.cde.ca.gov/ls/ba/as and http://www.cde.ca.gov/ls/ba/cp or you may telephone the Child Care Resource
and Referral Agency listed below.

You must sign and return this form to your worker.  You may also use this form to request child care if you need
it at this time.

Please check one of the following:

� I need paid child care assistance at this time so that I can go to work or attend my welfare-to-work activity.

� I do not need paid child care at this time.  I understand that I must request paid child care from my worker if I need it
in the future. 

� I certify that an After School Education and Safety Program will meet all ■ or part  ■ of my child care needs for my
11 or 12 year old child.

I understand that as a CalWORKs recipient, paid child care is available to me to work and attend my welfare-to-work 
activity.  If I need assistance to find and/or choose a child care provider, I can contact the local Child Care Resource and
Referral agency listed below:

Name:_____________________________________________________________ Telephone: ( _____ )_____________

Address:_________________________________________________________________________________________

I understand that I must inform my worker as soon as I have a need for paid child care.  I understand that CalWORKs will
help me pay for child care only after I request paid child care.  My worker’s telephone number is: (____) _____________ .

I understand that after I ask for help paying for child care, I will have to give my worker certain information to see whether
or not I am eligible.  I understand that I need to request paid child care within 30 calendar days from the first day I received
services from my provider.  This way, my child care provider can be paid for the services s/he provides to me.

I understand that I have chosen a child care provider that is required to be registered with Trustline in order to receive any
payment.  This provider is not eligible for payment if they do not obtain Trustline registration.

I understand that my child care provider has to meet certain requirements in order to get paid, and I must pay for any child
care services I receive if my child care provider does not meet these requirements.

I have read this notice or have had it read to me, and I understand that if I have any questions or need additional 
information regarding this notice, I can ask my worker.

CASE NAME

SIGNATURE

WORKER NAME

CASE NO.

DATE

PHONE

CCP 7 (1/08) REQUIRED FORM, SUBSTITUTE PERMITTED



As of ______________ until ______________, the county has
approved your child care.

Your child care payment limit is figured on this notice, and is based
on the information you gave us. The most we will pay for each
eligible child is:
Child’s Name: Provider’s Name Payment Limit:

______________ ______________ $ _____________

______________ ______________ $ _____________

______________ ______________ $ _____________

The rate is what your child care provider charges or the most we
can pay based on your area’s child care costs, which ever is less.

Child care payment will be paid to your provider.

■■ Because your approved activity/program is less than 30 days,
you will not get another notice telling you when your payments
end.

■■ You have chosen a provider __________________who is not
licensed and must apply for Trustline registration and Health
and Safety certification.  (See forms CCP 4 and CCP 7)

This provider is not eligible for payment until they are registered
with Trustline.  As of February 1, 2008, license-exempt child care
providers who are required to be Trustline registered shall be
entitled to receive retroactive payment for up to 120 calendar days
from the date child care services were requested and provided if
the provider subsequently becomes Trustline registered.

The county will only pay child care for the hours and days you are
attending your approved activity/program.

YOU MUST TELL US BEFORE YOU CHANGE CHILD CARE
PROVIDERS EXCEPT IN AN EMERGENCY OR WE MAY NOT
BE ABLE TO APPROVE AND PAY THE NEW PROVIDER.

If you have selected a new provider that is required to register with
Trustline, this provider is not eligible for payment until they are
registered with Trustline.

Child(ren): ____________________________________________

$ _______ rate

X ________ hours ■■ days ■■ weeks ■■ month

= $ _______ per _____________

Provider name: ________________________________________

Child(ren): ____________________________________________

$ _______ rate

X ________ hours ■■ days ■■ weeks ■■ month

= $ _______ per _____________

Provider name: ________________________________________

Child(ren): ____________________________________________

$ _______ rate

X ________ hours ■■ days ■■ weeks ■■ month

= $ _______ per _____________

Provider name: ________________________________________

STATE OF CALIFORNIA
HEALTH AND HUMAN SERVICES AGENCY
CALIFORNIA DEPARTMENT OF SOCIAL SERVICES

COUNTY OFNOTICE OF ACTION
CHILD CARE APPROVAL

Notice Date :
Case

Name :

Number :
Worker

Name :

Number :

Telephone:

Address :

Questions? Ask your Worker.(ADDRESSEE)

State Hearing: If you think this action is wrong, you can
ask for a hearing. The back of this page tells how.

Rules: These rules apply. You may review them at your welfare
office: CalWORKs MPP Sections 47-260, 47-430.2, 47-620.32;
Education Code Sections: 8350-8353, 8357.
Welfare & Institutions Code Sections 11322.9, 11323.6, 11323.8
and 11324.

NA 832 (1/08) RECOMMENDED Page 1 of ____

Name



If you ask for a hearing before an action on Cash Aid,
Medi-Cal, Food Stamps, or Child Care takes place: 
• Your Cash Aid or Medi-Cal will stay the same while you wait for a

hearing.
• Your Child Care Services may stay the same while you wait for a

hearing.
• Your Food Stamps will stay the same until the hearing or the end

of your certification period, whichever is earlier.

If the hearing decision says we are right, you will owe us for any
extra Cash Aid, Food Stamps or Child Care Services you got.
To let us lower or stop your benefits before the hearing, check below:

Yes, lower or stop:  ■■  Cash Aid     ■■  Food Stamps     ■■  Child Care

While You Wait for a Hearing Decision for: 

Welfare to Work:

You do not have to take part in the activities.

You may receive child care payments for employment and for
activities approved by the county before this notice.

If we told you your other supportive services payments will stop, you
will not get any more payments, even if you go to your activity. 

If we told you we will pay your other supportive services, they will be
paid in the amount and in the way we told you in this notice.

• To get those supportive services, you must go to the activity the
county told you to attend.

• If the amount of supportive services the county pays while you
wait for a hearing decision is not enough to allow you to
participate, you can stop going to the activity. 

Cal-Learn:

• You cannot participate in the Cal-Learn Program if we told you
we cannot serve you.

• We will only pay for Cal-Learn supportive services for an
approved activity.

OTHER INFORMATION
Medi-Cal Managed Care Plan Members: The action on this notice may stop
you from getting services from your managed care health plan.  You may wish
to contact your health plan membership services if you have questions.

Child and/or Medical Support: The local child support agency will help
collect support at no cost even if you are not on cash aid.  If they now collect
support for you, they will keep doing so unless you tell them in writing to stop.
They will send you current support money collected but will keep past due
money collected that is owed to the county. 

Family Planning: Your welfare office will give you information when you ask
for it.

Hearing File:  If you ask for a hearing, the State Hearing Division will set up a
file.  You have the right to see this file before your hearing and to get a copy of
the county's written position on your case at least two days before the hearing.
The state may give your hearing file to the Welfare Department and the U.S.
Departments of Health and Human Services and Agriculture. (W&I Code
Sections 10850 and 10950.) 

TO ASK FOR A HEARING:
• Fill out this page.  
• Make a copy of the front and back of this page for your records.

If you ask, your worker will get you a copy of this page.
• Send or take this page to:

OR
• Call toll free: 1-800-952-5253 or for hearing or speech impaired

who use TDD, 1-800-952-8349.

To Get Help: You can ask about your hearing rights or for a legal
aid referral at the toll-free state phone numbers listed above. You
may get free legal help at your local legal aid or welfare rights office.

If you do not want to go to the hearing alone, you can bring a
friend or someone with you.

HEARING REQUEST 
I want a hearing due to an action by the Welfare Department
of ________________________________ County about my:

! Cash Aid ! Food Stamps ! Medi-Cal

! Other (list)___________________________________________

Here's Why: ____________________________________________

_______________________________________________________

_______________________________________________________

_______________________________________________________

_______________________________________________________

_______________________________________________________

! If you need more space, check here and add a page.

! I need the state to provide me with an interpreter at no cost to me.
(A relative or friend cannot interpret for you at the hearing.) 

My language or dialect is: ____________________________

NAME OF PERSON WHOSE BENEFITS WERE DENIED, CHANGED OR STOPPED

BIRTH DATE PHONE NUMBER

STREET ADDRESS

CITY STATE ZIP CODE

SIGNATURE DATE

NAME OF PERSON COMPLETING THIS FORM PHONE NUMBER

! I want the person named below to represent me at this
hearing.  I give my permission for this person to see my
records or go to the hearing for me.  (This person can be a
friend or relative but cannot interpret for you.) 

NAME PHONE NUMBER

STREET ADDRESS

CITY STATE ZIP CODE 

NA BACK 9 (REPLACES NA BACK 8 AND EP 5)  REQUIRED FORM - NO SUBSTITUTE PERMITTED

YOUR HEARING RIGHTS
You have the right to ask for a hearing if you disagree with
any county action. You have only 90 days to ask for a
hearing. The 90 days started the day after the county gave or
mailed you this notice.



YOU MUST TELL US BEFORE YOU CHANGE CHILD CARE
PROVIDERS EXCEPT IN AN EMERGENCY OR WE MAY NOT
BE ABLE TO APPROVE AND PAY THE NEW PROVIDER.

Child(ren): ____________________________________________

$ _______ rate

X ________ hours ■■ days ■■ weeks ■■ month

= $ _______ per _____________

Provider name: ________________________________________

Child(ren): ____________________________________________

$ _______ rate

X ________ hours ■■ days ■■ weeks ■■ month

= $ _______ per _____________

Provider name: ________________________________________

Child(ren): ____________________________________________

$ _______ rate

X ________ hours ■■ days ■■ weeks ■■ month

= $ _______ per _____________

Provider name: ________________________________________

Child care for children not listed here stays the same.

The rate is what your child care provider charges or the most we
can pay based on your area’s child care costs, whichever is less.

As of _______________ until ____________________:

■■ The county has changed the payment amount for child care
from $_________ per _______ to $_________ per ________.

■■ The county has changed your payment method for  
■■ Cal-Learn ■■ CalWorks child care from __________ to
_______________.

■■ Your child care provider has changed. Your ■■ Cal-Learn 
■■ CalWorks child care at __________ has been paid through
____________. Payment for ____________ starts after that
date.

HERE’S WHY:

■■ Your child care rate changed
■■ Your child care provider changed.
■■ Your child’s age has changed.
■■ Your child care hours changed.
■■ The State of California changed payment limits.
■■ You asked for this change.
■■ Other:

Your new child care payment amount is figured on this notice.

The county will only pay child care for the hours and days you are
attending your approved activity/program.  The county will only pay
for child care services to providers that are registered with Trustline
or are exempt from Trustline registration.

If you have selected a new provider the is required to register with
Trustline, this provider is not eligible for payment until they are
registered with Trustline.  As of February 1, 2008, license-exempt
child care providers who are required to be Trustline registered
shall be entitled to receive retroactive payment for up to 120
calendar days from the date child care services were requested
and provided if the provider subsequently becomes Trustline
registered.

STATE OF CALIFORNIA
HEALTH AND HUMAN SERVICES AGENCY
CALIFORNIA DEPARTMENT OF SOCIAL SERVICES

COUNTY OFNOTICE OF ACTION
CHILD CARE CHANGE

Notice Date :
Case

Name :

Number :
Worker

Name :

Number :

Telephone:

Address :

Questions? Ask your Worker.(ADDRESSEE)

State Hearing: If you think this action is wrong, you can
ask for a hearing. The back of this page tells how.

Rules: These rules apply. You may review them at your welfare
office:  CalWORKs MPP Sections 47-260, 47-430.2, 47-620.32;
Welfare and Institutions Code Sections 11322.9, 11323.6,
11323.4, 11323.8.
Education Code Sections 8350-8353, 8357

NA 833 (1/08) RECOMMENDED Page 1 of ____



If you ask for a hearing before an action on Cash Aid,
Medi-Cal, Food Stamps, or Child Care takes place: 
• Your Cash Aid or Medi-Cal will stay the same while you wait for a

hearing.
• Your Child Care Services may stay the same while you wait for a

hearing.
• Your Food Stamps will stay the same until the hearing or the end

of your certification period, whichever is earlier.

If the hearing decision says we are right, you will owe us for any
extra Cash Aid, Food Stamps or Child Care Services you got.
To let us lower or stop your benefits before the hearing, check below:

Yes, lower or stop:  ■■  Cash Aid     ■■  Food Stamps     ■■  Child Care

While You Wait for a Hearing Decision for: 

Welfare to Work:

You do not have to take part in the activities.

You may receive child care payments for employment and for
activities approved by the county before this notice.

If we told you your other supportive services payments will stop, you
will not get any more payments, even if you go to your activity. 

If we told you we will pay your other supportive services, they will be
paid in the amount and in the way we told you in this notice.

• To get those supportive services, you must go to the activity the
county told you to attend.

• If the amount of supportive services the county pays while you
wait for a hearing decision is not enough to allow you to
participate, you can stop going to the activity. 

Cal-Learn:

• You cannot participate in the Cal-Learn Program if we told you
we cannot serve you.

• We will only pay for Cal-Learn supportive services for an
approved activity.

OTHER INFORMATION
Medi-Cal Managed Care Plan Members: The action on this notice may stop
you from getting services from your managed care health plan.  You may wish
to contact your health plan membership services if you have questions.

Child and/or Medical Support: The local child support agency will help
collect support at no cost even if you are not on cash aid.  If they now collect
support for you, they will keep doing so unless you tell them in writing to stop.
They will send you current support money collected but will keep past due
money collected that is owed to the county. 

Family Planning: Your welfare office will give you information when you ask
for it.

Hearing File:  If you ask for a hearing, the State Hearing Division will set up a
file.  You have the right to see this file before your hearing and to get a copy of
the county's written position on your case at least two days before the hearing.
The state may give your hearing file to the Welfare Department and the U.S.
Departments of Health and Human Services and Agriculture. (W&I Code
Sections 10850 and 10950.) 

TO ASK FOR A HEARING:
• Fill out this page.  
• Make a copy of the front and back of this page for your records.

If you ask, your worker will get you a copy of this page.
• Send or take this page to:

OR
• Call toll free: 1-800-952-5253 or for hearing or speech impaired

who use TDD, 1-800-952-8349.

To Get Help: You can ask about your hearing rights or for a legal
aid referral at the toll-free state phone numbers listed above. You
may get free legal help at your local legal aid or welfare rights office.

If you do not want to go to the hearing alone, you can bring a
friend or someone with you.

HEARING REQUEST 
I want a hearing due to an action by the Welfare Department
of ________________________________ County about my:

! Cash Aid ! Food Stamps ! Medi-Cal

! Other (list)___________________________________________

Here's Why: ____________________________________________

_______________________________________________________

_______________________________________________________

_______________________________________________________

_______________________________________________________

_______________________________________________________

! If you need more space, check here and add a page.

! I need the state to provide me with an interpreter at no cost to me.
(A relative or friend cannot interpret for you at the hearing.) 

My language or dialect is: ____________________________

NAME OF PERSON WHOSE BENEFITS WERE DENIED, CHANGED OR STOPPED

BIRTH DATE PHONE NUMBER

STREET ADDRESS

CITY STATE ZIP CODE

SIGNATURE DATE

NAME OF PERSON COMPLETING THIS FORM PHONE NUMBER

! I want the person named below to represent me at this
hearing.  I give my permission for this person to see my
records or go to the hearing for me.  (This person can be a
friend or relative but cannot interpret for you.) 

NAME PHONE NUMBER

STREET ADDRESS

CITY STATE ZIP CODE 

NA BACK 9 (REPLACES NA BACK 8 AND EP 5)  REQUIRED FORM - NO SUBSTITUTE PERMITTED

YOUR HEARING RIGHTS
You have the right to ask for a hearing if you disagree with
any county action. You have only 90 days to ask for a
hearing. The 90 days started the day after the county gave or
mailed you this notice.



As of ______________:

■■ Your child care payment to _____________ for
_____________ will not be paid.

■■ Your request to raise your child care payment limit  is denied.
■■ Payment for your child care for your child, ___________, is

denied.

HERE’S WHY:

■■ You are not in an approved activity/program.

■■ You are already getting the most the county can pay based on
your area’s child care costs.

■■ The child care you asked for is not needed to attend your
approved activity/program.

■■ You did not cooperate with CalWORKs program.

■■ Your child ___________________ is ____ or more years old,
which is over the age we can pay for and is not disabled or
under court supervision.

■■ You have not given us proof that show your aided child,
___________, has a physical or mental condition that needs
special care.

■■ The child care provider is your child’s parent, legal guardian,
or a member of your CalWORKs/Cal-Learn assistance unit.

■■ Your license-exempt child care provider had his/her application
for Trustline denied, or closed, or their current registration has
been revoked.

■■ You did not complete/qualify for the Health and Safety
certification.

■■ Other:

You can also call your worker/case manager if you think this notice
is wrong.

STATE OF CALIFORNIA
HEALTH AND HUMAN SERVICES AGENCY
CALIFORNIA DEPARTMENT OF SOCIAL SERVICES

COUNTY OFNOTICE OF ACTION
CHILD CARE DENIAL

Notice Date :
Case

Name :

Number :
Worker

Name :

Number :

Telephone:

Address :

Questions? Ask your Worker.(ADDRESSEE)

Month

Provider

State Hearing: If you think this action is wrong, you can
ask for a hearing. The back of this page tells how.

Rules: These rules apply. You may review them at your welfare
office:  CalWORKs MPP Sections47-260, 47-430.2, 47-620.32;
Education Code Sections 8350-8353, 8357.  Welfare &
Institutions Code Sections 11322.9, 11323.6, 11323.4 and
11323.8

NA 834 (1/08) RECOMMENDED Page 1 of ____



If you ask for a hearing before an action on Cash Aid,
Medi-Cal, Food Stamps, or Child Care takes place: 
• Your Cash Aid or Medi-Cal will stay the same while you wait for a

hearing.
• Your Child Care Services may stay the same while you wait for a

hearing.
• Your Food Stamps will stay the same until the hearing or the end

of your certification period, whichever is earlier.

If the hearing decision says we are right, you will owe us for any
extra Cash Aid, Food Stamps or Child Care Services you got.
To let us lower or stop your benefits before the hearing, check below:

Yes, lower or stop:  ■■  Cash Aid     ■■  Food Stamps     ■■  Child Care

While You Wait for a Hearing Decision for: 

Welfare to Work:

You do not have to take part in the activities.

You may receive child care payments for employment and for
activities approved by the county before this notice.

If we told you your other supportive services payments will stop, you
will not get any more payments, even if you go to your activity. 

If we told you we will pay your other supportive services, they will be
paid in the amount and in the way we told you in this notice.

• To get those supportive services, you must go to the activity the
county told you to attend.

• If the amount of supportive services the county pays while you
wait for a hearing decision is not enough to allow you to
participate, you can stop going to the activity. 

Cal-Learn:

• You cannot participate in the Cal-Learn Program if we told you
we cannot serve you.

• We will only pay for Cal-Learn supportive services for an
approved activity.

OTHER INFORMATION
Medi-Cal Managed Care Plan Members: The action on this notice may stop
you from getting services from your managed care health plan.  You may wish
to contact your health plan membership services if you have questions.

Child and/or Medical Support: The local child support agency will help
collect support at no cost even if you are not on cash aid.  If they now collect
support for you, they will keep doing so unless you tell them in writing to stop.
They will send you current support money collected but will keep past due
money collected that is owed to the county. 

Family Planning: Your welfare office will give you information when you ask
for it.

Hearing File:  If you ask for a hearing, the State Hearing Division will set up a
file.  You have the right to see this file before your hearing and to get a copy of
the county's written position on your case at least two days before the hearing.
The state may give your hearing file to the Welfare Department and the U.S.
Departments of Health and Human Services and Agriculture. (W&I Code
Sections 10850 and 10950.) 

TO ASK FOR A HEARING:
• Fill out this page.  
• Make a copy of the front and back of this page for your records.

If you ask, your worker will get you a copy of this page.
• Send or take this page to:

OR
• Call toll free: 1-800-952-5253 or for hearing or speech impaired

who use TDD, 1-800-952-8349.

To Get Help: You can ask about your hearing rights or for a legal
aid referral at the toll-free state phone numbers listed above. You
may get free legal help at your local legal aid or welfare rights office.

If you do not want to go to the hearing alone, you can bring a
friend or someone with you.

HEARING REQUEST 
I want a hearing due to an action by the Welfare Department
of ________________________________ County about my:

! Cash Aid ! Food Stamps ! Medi-Cal

! Other (list)___________________________________________

Here's Why: ____________________________________________

_______________________________________________________

_______________________________________________________

_______________________________________________________

_______________________________________________________

_______________________________________________________

! If you need more space, check here and add a page.

! I need the state to provide me with an interpreter at no cost to me.
(A relative or friend cannot interpret for you at the hearing.) 

My language or dialect is: ____________________________

NAME OF PERSON WHOSE BENEFITS WERE DENIED, CHANGED OR STOPPED

BIRTH DATE PHONE NUMBER

STREET ADDRESS

CITY STATE ZIP CODE

SIGNATURE DATE

NAME OF PERSON COMPLETING THIS FORM PHONE NUMBER

! I want the person named below to represent me at this
hearing.  I give my permission for this person to see my
records or go to the hearing for me.  (This person can be a
friend or relative but cannot interpret for you.) 

NAME PHONE NUMBER

STREET ADDRESS

CITY STATE ZIP CODE 

NA BACK 9 (REPLACES NA BACK 8 AND EP 5)  REQUIRED FORM - NO SUBSTITUTE PERMITTED

YOUR HEARING RIGHTS
You have the right to ask for a hearing if you disagree with
any county action. You have only 90 days to ask for a
hearing. The 90 days started the day after the county gave or
mailed you this notice.



As of _______________: 
Your child care payment(s) will stop.

HERE’S WHY:

■■ You are no longer attending an approved activity/program.

■■ You moved out of this county.

■■ You do not have to go to the approved county
activity/program right now.

■■ You did not cooperate with the CalWORKs program

■■ You went off cash aid.

■■ You asked that your child care payments be stopped.

■■ Your child _______________ is ____ or more years old, which
is over the age we can pay for and is not disabled or under
court supervision.

■■ Your child(ren) no longer need(s) child care.

■■ Your child care provider is your child’s parent, legal guardian,
or a member of your CalWORKs assistance unit.

■■ Your license-exempt child care provider ______________had
his/her application for Trustline,  denied, or closed, or their
current registration has been revoked.

■■ Your income has exceeded the 75% percentile of the State
median income.

■■ You have used the 24 months of child care you get when you
leave cash aid.  The date you left cash aid was ___________.

■■ Other

You can also call your worker/case manager if you think this notice
is wrong.

STATE OF CALIFORNIA
HEALTH AND HUMAN SERVICES AGENCY
CALIFORNIA DEPARTMENT OF SOCIAL SERVICES

COUNTY OFNOTICE OF ACTION
CHILD CARE DISCONTINUANCE

Notice Date :
Case

Name :

Number :
Worker

Name :

Number :

Telephone:

Address :

Questions? Ask your Worker.(ADDRESSEE)

State Hearing: If you think this action is wrong, you can
ask for a hearing. The back of this page tells how.

Rules: These rules apply. You may review them at your welfare
office:  CalWORKs MPP Sections 47-260, 47-430.2, 47-620.32;
Education Code Sections 8350-8353, 8357.  Welfare &
Institutions Code Section 11322.9, 11323.6, 11323.4, and 11323.8

NA 835 (1/08) RECOMMENDED Page 1 of ____

Name

Date



If you ask for a hearing before an action on Cash Aid,
Medi-Cal, Food Stamps, or Child Care takes place: 
• Your Cash Aid or Medi-Cal will stay the same while you wait for a

hearing.
• Your Child Care Services may stay the same while you wait for a

hearing.
• Your Food Stamps will stay the same until the hearing or the end

of your certification period, whichever is earlier.

If the hearing decision says we are right, you will owe us for any
extra Cash Aid, Food Stamps or Child Care Services you got.
To let us lower or stop your benefits before the hearing, check below:

Yes, lower or stop:  ■■  Cash Aid     ■■  Food Stamps     ■■  Child Care

While You Wait for a Hearing Decision for: 

Welfare to Work:

You do not have to take part in the activities.

You may receive child care payments for employment and for
activities approved by the county before this notice.

If we told you your other supportive services payments will stop, you
will not get any more payments, even if you go to your activity. 

If we told you we will pay your other supportive services, they will be
paid in the amount and in the way we told you in this notice.

• To get those supportive services, you must go to the activity the
county told you to attend.

• If the amount of supportive services the county pays while you
wait for a hearing decision is not enough to allow you to
participate, you can stop going to the activity. 

Cal-Learn:

• You cannot participate in the Cal-Learn Program if we told you
we cannot serve you.

• We will only pay for Cal-Learn supportive services for an
approved activity.

OTHER INFORMATION
Medi-Cal Managed Care Plan Members: The action on this notice may stop
you from getting services from your managed care health plan.  You may wish
to contact your health plan membership services if you have questions.

Child and/or Medical Support: The local child support agency will help
collect support at no cost even if you are not on cash aid.  If they now collect
support for you, they will keep doing so unless you tell them in writing to stop.
They will send you current support money collected but will keep past due
money collected that is owed to the county. 

Family Planning: Your welfare office will give you information when you ask
for it.

Hearing File:  If you ask for a hearing, the State Hearing Division will set up a
file.  You have the right to see this file before your hearing and to get a copy of
the county's written position on your case at least two days before the hearing.
The state may give your hearing file to the Welfare Department and the U.S.
Departments of Health and Human Services and Agriculture. (W&I Code
Sections 10850 and 10950.) 

TO ASK FOR A HEARING:
• Fill out this page.  
• Make a copy of the front and back of this page for your records.

If you ask, your worker will get you a copy of this page.
• Send or take this page to:

OR
• Call toll free: 1-800-952-5253 or for hearing or speech impaired

who use TDD, 1-800-952-8349.

To Get Help: You can ask about your hearing rights or for a legal
aid referral at the toll-free state phone numbers listed above. You
may get free legal help at your local legal aid or welfare rights office.

If you do not want to go to the hearing alone, you can bring a
friend or someone with you.

HEARING REQUEST 
I want a hearing due to an action by the Welfare Department
of ________________________________ County about my:

! Cash Aid ! Food Stamps ! Medi-Cal

! Other (list)___________________________________________

Here's Why: ____________________________________________

_______________________________________________________

_______________________________________________________

_______________________________________________________

_______________________________________________________

_______________________________________________________

! If you need more space, check here and add a page.

! I need the state to provide me with an interpreter at no cost to me.
(A relative or friend cannot interpret for you at the hearing.) 

My language or dialect is: ____________________________

NAME OF PERSON WHOSE BENEFITS WERE DENIED, CHANGED OR STOPPED

BIRTH DATE PHONE NUMBER

STREET ADDRESS

CITY STATE ZIP CODE

SIGNATURE DATE

NAME OF PERSON COMPLETING THIS FORM PHONE NUMBER

! I want the person named below to represent me at this
hearing.  I give my permission for this person to see my
records or go to the hearing for me.  (This person can be a
friend or relative but cannot interpret for you.) 

NAME PHONE NUMBER

STREET ADDRESS

CITY STATE ZIP CODE 

NA BACK 9 (REPLACES NA BACK 8 AND EP 5)  REQUIRED FORM - NO SUBSTITUTE PERMITTED

YOUR HEARING RIGHTS
You have the right to ask for a hearing if you disagree with
any county action. You have only 90 days to ask for a
hearing. The 90 days started the day after the county gave or
mailed you this notice.
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