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[  ] State Law Change 
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[  ] Initiated by CDSS 
 

March 15, 2010 
 
 
 
ALL COUNTY LETTER (ACL) NO. 10-15 
 
 
TO: ALL COUNTY WELFARE DIRECTORS 
 ALL CHIEF PROBATION OFFICERS 
 ALL LOCAL MENTAL HEALTH DIRECTORS  
 ALL COUNTY ADOPTION AGENCIES 
 ALL ADOPTION DISTRICT OFFICES 
 ALL GROUP HOME PROVIDERS 
 ALL FOSTER FAMILY AGENCIES 
 KARUK TRIBE 
 
 
SUBJECT:   CALIFORNIA ALLIANCE OF CHILD AND FAMILY SERVICES v.  
 CLIFF ALLENBY, et.al.  
 
 
REFERENCE:   WELFARE AND INSTITUTIONS CODE SECTIONS 11453(A) 

WELFARE AND INSTITUTIONS CODE SECTION 11460(C)(2)(A)(I) 
AND (II) 

 WELFARE AND INSTITUTIONS CODE 11462 
 SENATE BILL 370 (CHAPTER 1294, STATUTES OF 1989) 
 
 
The purpose of this ACL is to provide counties information and instructions on the 
impact of the court order issued on February 23, 2010, in the case of the 
California Alliance of Child and Family Services v. Cliff Allenby, et.al.  The District Court 
ordered the California Department of Social Services (CDSS) to adjust the group home 
rates paid under the California’s Rate Classification Level (RCL) system to reflect the 
California Necessities Index (CNI) increases from 1990-91 through 2009-10.  The 
cumulative increase for that period was determined by the Court to be 76.25 percent.  
Effective immediately and retroactive to December 14, 2009, counties shall pay the 
rates reflected in the chart below for both federally eligible and non-federally eligible 
children in group home placements.  The CDSS shall amend this schedule annually to 
reflect changes in the CNI. 
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GROUP HOMES 
 
 

GROUP HOMES 
Standardized Schedule of Rates Effective December 14, 2009 

RCL Point Ranges Standard Rate 

1 Under 60 $2,085 
2 60-89   2,605 
3 90-119   3,125 
4 120-149   3,643 
5 150-179   4,159 
6 180-209  4,681 
7 210-239   5,199 
8 240-269   5,719 
9 270-299   6,237 

10 300-329   6,757 
11 330-359   7,274 
12 360-389   7,795 
13 390-419   8,319 
14 420 & Up   8,835 

 
 
OUT-OF-STATE GROUP HOMES 
 
For California group home placements made out of state, the rate to be paid shall be 
the rate established by the rate-setting authority of the other state.  The level of state 
participation shall not exceed the current fiscal year’s RCL 14 as reflected in the above 
schedule of rates and subject to subsequent annual CNI augmentation.  (See Welfare 
and Institutions [W&IC], section 11460(c)(2)(A)(i) and (ii).)   
 
The county is responsible for ensuring that the out-of-state facility is licensed or 
approved as required by the state in which it is located and certified in accordance with 
California’s licensing standards as set by the CDSS Community Care Licensing 
Division.  The county is also responsible for determining if any non-allowable costs are 
included in the rate and ensuring that only allowable costs are claimed for federal or 
state Aid to Families with Dependent Children–Foster Care reimbursement.  Allowable 
costs are defined as food, clothing, shelter, daily supervision, school supplies, a child’s 
personal incidentals, liability insurance with respect to a child, and reasonable travel to 
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the child’s home for visitation.  For group homes placements, allowable costs also 
include reasonable administration and operational activities to include social work 
activities that are not otherwise considered daily supervision or administration activities. 
 
FINANCIAL AUDIT REPORT REQUIREMENT 
 
As a reminder, a non-profit corporation is responsible for reporting any change in the 
annual combined federal revenue, in accordance with the Manual of Policies and 
Procedures section 11-405.213(b)(4), if the combined federal revenue exceeds the 
federal threshold, currently set at $500,000.  Also, the non-profit corporation is required 
to report the change in federal revenue to CDSS within three months from the end of 
the fiscal year and submit a Financial Audit Report (FAR) and audited cost data within 
nine months of the end of a corporation’s fiscal year.  Therefore, the impact of the 
increased rates for many providers will likely result in increased federal revenues which 
will require a change from submitting a FAR on a triennial basis to submitting a FAR on 
an annual basis. 
 
INQUIRIES 
 
County staff should contact the Foster Care Rates Policy Unit, Foster Care Rates 
Bureau, with questions regarding foster care group home rates, at (916) 324-4873.  The 
Group Home providers with questions regarding this ACL should contact their Foster 
Care Rates Consultant at (916) 324-4857.  Questions regarding FARs should be 
directed to the Financial Unit, Program and Financial Audits Bureau, at (916)324-1717.  
Any questions pertaining to the Wraparound Program should contact the Wraparound 
Consultant in the Integrated Services Unit, at (916) 651-6600. 
 
Sincerely, 
 
Original Document Signed By: 
 
GREGORY E. ROSE 
Deputy Director 
Children and Family Services Division   
 


