STATE OF CALIFORNIA—HEALTH AND WELFARE‘AGENCY

DEPARTMENT OF SOCIAL SERVICES
744 P Street, Sacramento, CA

95814

June 14, 1990

ALL-COUNTY INFORMATION NOTICE NO. T1-42-90

TO: ALL-COUNTY WELFARE DIRECTORS

SUBJECT: INCOME ELIGIBILITY TABLE FOR THE OUT-OF-HOME CARE FOR

ADULTS PROGRAM

This letter is to provide you with an updated income eligibility
table for determining eligibility for the Out-of-Home Care for
fdults Program (OHC-A)., The table covers Fiscal Year {(FY) g0/91
and should be used starting July 1, 1980.

MPP Section 30-002(e)(1)(A) defines income eligible persons as
those persons whose gross annual family income does not exceed

80 percent of the median family income for California for a
family of four, adjusted for consideration of family size, A
hasic family unit resides in the same household, and consists of
one or more children, if any, and adults who are related by
blood, marriage including common~law, or adoption, The following
are considered one-person families: (1) each unrelated adult
residing with another; (2) each related adult, other than
spouses, residing with another; (3) each child residing with
nonlegally responsible relatives; (4) each child living under the
care of unrelated persons; and (5) an emancipated minor.

FY 90/91

California's maximum four-person family income for services
eligibility is $31,681 (B0 percent of the median income for
California for a family of four). The median income for FY 90/981
is $39,601 for a family of four and was calculated by applying
the California Necessities Index (CNI) cumulatively to the median
income figure provided in the 1981/82 Comprehensive Annual
Services Program Plan (CASPP).

1~person family - ( 52% of $31,681) - $16,474 - $1,373 morithly
2-person family - ( 68% of $31,681) $21,543 $1,795 monthly
3~person family - ( 84% of $31,681) $26,612 $2,218 monthly
Y-person family - (100% of $31,681) $31,681 $2,5640 monthly
5-person family - {(116% of $31,681) $36,750 $3,062 monthly
6-person family - (132% of $31,681) $41,819 $3, 485 monthly
For each additional family member above six persons, add three

percentage points to the percentage for a family of six.



Any questions regarding this matter should be addressed to the
Adult Services Bureau at (916) 322-6320 or ATSS 492-6320.

LOREN D. SUTER
Deputy Director
Adult and Family Services

ca:l CWDA




