GEANE OF CALITORNIA  HEALTH AND WELFARE AGENCY

DEPARTMENT OF SOCIAL SERVICES
744 P Street, Sacramento, CA 958714

May 22, 1989
ALL-COUNTY INFORMATION NOTICE NO, I-31-89

TC: ALL COUNTY WELFARE DIRECTORS

SUBJECT: INCOME ELIGIBILITY TABLE FOR THE OUT-OF~HOME CARE FOR
ADULTS PROGRAM

This letter is to provide you with an updated income eligibility
table for determining eligibility for the Out-of Home Care for
fdulis Program (OHC-A), The table covers Fiscal Year {(FY) 89/90
and should be used starting July 1, 1989,

MPP Section 30-002(h){(1) defines income eligible persons as those
persons whose gross annual family income does not exceed B0% of
the median family income for California for a family of four,
adjusted according to family size. A basic family unit resides
in the same household, and consists of one or more children, if
any, and adults who are related by blood, marriage including
common~-law, or adoption, The following are considered one-person
families: {1) each unrelated adult residing with

another; (2) each related adult, other than spouses, residing
with anothers; {3) each child residing with nonlegally responsible
relatives; {(4) each child living under the care of unrelated
persons; and {5) an emancipated minor,

FY 89-90

California's maximum four-person family income for services
eligibility is $30,281 (80% of the median income for California
for a family of four). The median income for FY 89/90 is $37,852
for a family of four and was calculated by applying the
California Necessities Index (CNI) cumulatively to the median
income figure provided in the 1981/82 Comprehensive Annual
Services Program Plan (CASPP).

1-person family - ( 52% of $30,281) - $15,746 =~ $1,312 monthly
2-person family - ( 68% of $30,281) - $20,591 - $1,716 monthly
3-person family ( 84% of $30,281) - $25,436 « $2,120 monthly
J-person family (100% of $30,281) - $30,281 - $2,523 monthly
S-person family (116% of $30,281) - $35,126 ~ $2,927 monthly
6-person family (132% of $30,281) - $39,971 - $3,331 monthly

H

I

For each additional family member above six persons, add three
percentage points to the percentage for a family of six.




Any questions regarding this matter should be addressed to your
Adult and Family services Operations Consultant at (916) 324-8763
or ATSS #45H4-8763. '

LOREN D. SUTER
Deputy Director
Adult and Family Services

ce: County Welfare Directors Association




