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DEPARTMENT OF SOCIAL SERVICES 
744 P Street, Sacramento, CA 95814    
 
 
 

April 21, 2008 
 
 

 ALL COUNTY INFORMATION NOTICE NO. I-24-08  
 
 

TO: ALL COUNTY WELFARE DIRECTORS 
 ALL COUNTY FOOD STAMP COORDINATORS 

      FOOD STAMP EMPLOYMENT AND TRAINING 
 COORDINATORS 

  
 
     SUBJECT:   APPROVAL OF ABLE-BODIED ADULT WITHOUT DEPENDENTS (ABAWD)        
                         WAIVER FOR 2008-2009  

 
REFERENCE: WELFARE AND INSTITUTIONS CODE SECTION 18926 
 
This is to inform counties that the United States Department of Agriculture Food and 
Nutrition Service (FNS) has approved a one-year waiver from the ABAWD work 
requirement for 52 counties within California.  The waiver will begin May 1, 2008, and 
end April 30, 2009.   
 
County eligibility for the ABAWD waiver was determined by using the unemployment rate  
for the northern and central regions of California.  Fifty-one northern and central California 
counties qualify for the waiver based on a collective average unemployment rate of at least  
20 percent above the national average during November 2005 through October 2007.   
The fifty-one counties are:    
 

Alameda   Alpine    Amador   Butte    
Calaveras   Colusa   Contra Costa  Del Norte   
El Dorado   Fresno   Glenn    Humboldt   
Inyo    Kern    Kings    Lake    
Lassen   Madera   Marin    Mariposa  
Mendocino   Merced   Modoc   Mono    
Monterey   Napa    Nevada   Placer  
Plumas   Sacramento   San Benito   San Francisco 
San Joaquin   San Luis Obispo  San Mateo   Santa Barbara 
Santa Clara   Santa Cruz   Shasta   Sierra 
Siskiyou   Solano   Sonoma   Stanislaus  
Sutter    Tehama   Trinity   Tulare   
Tuolumne   Yolo    Yuba 

 
 

  REASON FOR THIS TRANSMITTAL 
 
  [   ] State Law Change 
  [   ] Federal Law or Regulation  

    Change 
  [   ] Court Order or Settlement 

    Agreement 
  [  ] Clarification Requested by One
                   or More Counties 
  [ X] Initiated by CDSS 
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In addition, Imperial County qualifies for the waiver based on having an average 
unemployment rate of at least 20 percent above the national average during  
November 2005 through October 2007. 
 
Waiver Implementation and ABAWD Policies 
 
Waiver counties are reminded of the following procedures, which are also contained in  
ACIN I-07-08: 
 
• The county must inform the ABAWD residing in the county that they are not  

 subject to the ABAWD work requirement for those months they reside in the county 
 while the waiver is in effect.  [Refer to the suggested language enclosed with this  

 letter] 
 
•        The county must continue to track and report the status of any ABAWD residing in  

 a waiver county.  The status of the ABAWD must be entered as “exempt” on the     
Medi-Cal Eligibility Data System until April 30, 2009, or until the end of the 
ABAWD’s 36-month period, whichever is earlier. 

  
•   The county must not establish a 36-month calendar for a new ABAWD applicant  

during the waiver period or restart the 36-month calendar for any ABAWD whose 
36-month period ends while the waiver is in effect.   

 
• The county must continue to apply Food Stamp Employment and Training (FSET) 

program sanction requirements at Manual of Policies and Procedures (MPP) 
section 63-407 and voluntary quit sanction requirements at MPP section 63-408.  
This is because the ABAWD waiver has no effect on FSET participation 
requirements or program sanction rules.  Persons under food stamp sanction shall 
not be approved until the sanction has been completed or they qualify for one of the 
work registration exemptions at  
MPP Section 63-407.21.    

 
• Individuals, who were previously discontinued for failure to meet the ABAWD work 

requirement, and subsequently reapply for non-Assistance food stamps in a waiver 
county, shall be approved for benefits, if otherwise eligible.  Such persons are not 
subject to the ABAWD work requirement so long as they live in a county where it is 
waived.  FSET and voluntary quit sanctions do not stop when an individual moves 
to a county under a waiver. 

 
• As appropriate, all counties, including waiver counties, must continue to report 

work registrant, ABAWD, and FSET data on the STAT 47 and 48 reporting forms. 
For purposes of completing the STAT report forms and FSET plan handbook, 
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persons who do not meet one of the ABAWD exemptions at MPP  
sections 63-410.31 or .32 are still considered an ABAWD even while 
residing in a county under a waiver.   

 
Counties that are not eligible for the ABAWD waiver or opt out of the waiver can 
exempt a portion of their ABAWD population using the 15 percent ABAWD exemption. 
These exemptions allow counties to grant food stamps for additional months to an 
ABAWD who has used their three out of 36-months and whose circumstances make it 
difficult to satisfy the work requirement.   
 
Counties are given the flexibility to set criteria used in granting the 15 percent 
exemption as well as the number of months the exemption will be granted.  Illiteracy, 
living in remote areas, an inability to speak, read, or write English, seasonal 
employment, social and emotional barriers, and temporary employment of less than 20 
hours per week are examples of criteria that counties have established in determining if 
an ABAWD will receive the 15 percent exemption. 
 
If you have any questions concerning this letter, please contact Robert Nevins at  
(916) 654-1408. 
 
Sincerely, 
 
Original Document Signed By: 
 
RICHTON YEE, Chief 
Food Stamp Branch 

 
 
     



 

 

Enclosure 
 
 

Suggested Language for Notices to ABAWDs Regarding  
Waiver of the ABAWD Work Requirement 

  
 
 
I. Non-FSET Counties: 
 

Starting May 1, 2008, you will not need to meet the Able-Bodied Adults without 
Dependents (ABAWD) work rule to get food stamps in this county.  The ABAWD work 
rule said you could only get food stamps for three out of 36 months unless you worked or 
took part in training for 20 hours a week, or took part in workfare.   

 
Here’s Why: 

 
The county’s or region’s unemployment rate was 20 percent above the national average, 
and the federal government excused this county from the ABAWD work rule.  If you move 
to another county during this time, you may have to meet the ABAWD work rule.  You will 
get another notice if you must meet the ABAWD work rule.     

 
II. FSET Counties: 
 

Starting May 1, 2008, you will not need to meet the Able-Bodied Adults without 
Dependents (ABAWD) work rule to get food stamps in this county.  The ABAWD work 
rule said you could only get food stamps for three out of 36 months unless you worked or 
took part in training for 20 hours a week, or took part in workfare.   
 
You may still need to take part in a food stamp training program or workfare project we 
send you to.  We will contact you if you need to do this.   

 
Here’s Why: 

 
The county’s or region’s unemployment rate was 20 percent above the national average, 
and the federal government excused this county from the ABAWD work rule.  If you move 
to another county during this time, you may have to meet the ABAWD work rule.  You will 
get another notice if you must meet the ABAWD work rule.  

 


