
 
 
 
 
 
 

 

 

   
 
 
  
 March 30, 2010 

 
 
ALL COUNTY INFORMATION NOTICE NO. I-18-10 
 
 
TO: ALL COUNTY WELFARE DIRECTORS 
 ALL COUNTY CHILD CARE COORDINATORS 
 ALL COUNTY WELFARE TO WORK COORDINATORS 
 ALL CONSORTIA MANAGERS 
 STAGE ONE ALTERNATIVE PAYMENT PROGRAM PROVIDERS 
 

 
SUBJECT: REVISED CHILD CARE SERVICES NOTICE OF ACTION (NA 832) IN 

THE CALIFORNIA WORK OPPORTUNITY AND RESPONSIBILITY TO 
KIDS (CalWORKs) PROGRAM 

 
 
REFERENCE:  ALL COUNTY LETTER 08-04 
 
 
The purpose of this notice is to transmit the revised Notice of Action for Child Care 
Services (NA 832) and to provide instructions on how to complete the form.  The 
California Department of Social Services (CDSS) revised the NA 832 form based on 
feedback and recommendations from the California Welfare Directors’ Association 
(CWDA) and welfare advocates.  The joint effort was undertaken to improve the form for 
ease of use and understanding for both the County Welfare Departments (CWDs) and 
the California Work Opportunity and Responsibility to Kids (CalWORKs) families.   
 
In addition to transmitting the revised NA 832, this letter is intended to serve as a 
reminder to CWDs that they must provide a written notice of action to a client whenever 
approvals, denials, discontinuances or other changes are made to the client’s child care 
subsidy authorization or payment.  The written notification must comply with the 
CalWORKs child care regulation at Manual of Policies and Procedures (MPP) Section 
47-420, as well as adequate and timely noticing provisions at MPP Section 22-001,  
22-071, and 22-072.  Under no circumstance is verbal notification to the client 
acceptable as the sole form of notification to clients regarding actions taken on child 
care services or payments.  
 
 
 

REASON FOR THIS TRANSMITTAL 

[  ] State Law Change 
[  ] Federal Law or Regulation 
 Change 
[  ] Court Order 
[X] Clarification Requested by 
  One or More Counties 
[  ] Initiated by CDSS 
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Summary of Changes 
The changes to the NA 832 form were made to enhance client comprehension and 
readability; clarify the Trustline requirements for provider reimbursement through  
wording and forms design changes; simplify the form by reformatting and eliminating 
unnecessary words and phrases; improve the flow and continuity of information 
described on the NA 832; and increase the effectiveness and efficiency of the child care 
services request process.   
 
Form Implementation 
CWDs shall begin using the revised NA 832 as soon as administratively feasible.  
However, CWDs may choose to exhaust their hard copy stock of the earlier version 
before transitioning to the revised form. 
 
Instructions for Completion  
The instructions for the NA 832 are as follows: 
 
CHILD CARE SERVICES: 

 First box is checked if the approved activities are longer than 30 days.  Enter the 
start date and the end date. 

 Second box is checked if the approved activities are less than 30 days. 
 

CHILD CARE REIMBURSEMENT: 

 First box is checked if the recipient has chosen a provider who has already been 
Trustline (TL) registered or who is exempt from TL. 

o If the first box is checked, the table must be filled out for each eligible 
child. (If there are more than four children, a second page may be printed.) 

 
 Fill out the table for each child: 

o Child Name: Enter the first and last name of the child. 
o Provider Name: Enter the first and last name of the provider or the name 

of the licensed facility. 
o Child Care Hours: Enter description of child care need.  

Example:  
8 hours per day for 1 week  
6 hours per day M-F 
8 hours for 3 days per week 

o Rate: Enter the reimbursement rate and specify whether this is 
hourly/daily/monthly etc. 

o Payment limit: Enter the maximum reimbursement amount for the child. 
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 Second box is checked if the recipient’s license-exempt provider is required to 
be TL registered. 

 Third box must be checked if the second box is checked in order to enter the 
provider’s name.  

 
Translations and Camera-Ready Copies 
Camera-ready copies of all child care program forms will be available as soon as 
possible from CDSS in Spanish, Chinese, Vietnamese, Cambodian, and Russian.   
Asian and Russian translations may be ordered from the CDSS Language Services 
Bureau at (916) 651-8876.  Spanish forms can be obtained from the department's Forms 
Management Office by emailing fmudss@dss.ca.gov.  Many of the translated forms can 
also be retrieved via the Internet by accessing the CDSS website at:   

 
http://www.dss.cahwnet.gov/cdssweb/FormsandPu_274.htm. 

 
 

If you have any questions regarding this notice, please contact  
Ms. McCaulie Feusahrens, Child Care Policy Analyst, at (916) 657-2144. 
 
Sincerely, 
 
Original Document Signed By: 
 
VENUS GARTH, Chief 
Child Care and Refugee Programs Branch 
 
Attachment 

 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

 



CHILD CARE SERVICES

■■ As of ________ until __________, the county has approved
your need for child care services.  

■■ If this box is checked, your approved activity/program is less
than 30 days.  Your child care will end on ___________.  You
will not receive another notice informing you when child care
services will end.

For child care reimbursement/payment information please go to the
next section below.

CHILD CARE REIMBURSEMENT/PAYMENT

■■ You have chosen an eligible child care provider
(licensed/license-exempt) who is Trustline (TL) registered or
who is exempt from TL.

The county may reimburse child care services provided only
for the hours and days you attend your approved
activity/program as follows:

Child Name: Child Name:

Provider Name: Provider Name:

Child Care Hours: Child Care Hours:

Rate: Rate:

Payment Limit: Payment Limit:

Child Name: Child Name:

Provider Name: Provider Name:

Child Care Hours: Child Care Hours:

Rate: Rate:

Payment Limit: Payment Limit:

The child care rate type and payment limit listed on this notice are
figured based on the information you have provided and what your
child care provider charges or the most we can pay based on your
area’s child care costs, whichever is less.

■■ You have selected a license-exempt provider who is not
eligible for the reimbursement of child care services provided
until he or she becomes registered with TL.

■■ Your provider, ________________ (name), must apply for TL
registration, Health and Safety Certification, and complete the
TL process by passing the background check and being
placed on the TL registry to be eligible for reimbursement.
[See forms CCP 4 and CCP 7]

REMINDERS

You must tell us before you change child care providers (except in
an emergency) or we may not be able to approve and reimburse
the new provider for child services provided.

If you choose child care in your home (in-home care), you are the
employer and are responsible for social security tax, state
insurance, and unemployment taxes. 

If you do not choose in-home child care, the provider is responsible
for reporting income and payment of any federal or state income
taxes.

For more information contact your local child care resource and
referral program at (800) 543-7793.

NOTICE
As of February 1, 2008, license-exempt child care providers who
are required to be TL registered, are entitled to receive retroactive
reimbursement for up to 120 calendar days from the date child
care services were requested and provided, whichever is later, if
the provider subsequently becomes TL registered.

NOTES

STATE OF CALIFORNIA
HEALTH AND HUMAN SERVICES AGENCY
CALIFORNIA DEPARTMENT OF SOCIAL SERVICES

COUNTY OFNOTICE OF ACTION
CHILD CARE SERVICES

Notice Date :
Case

Name :

Number :
Worker

Name :

Number :

Telephone:

Address :

Questions? Ask your Worker.(ADDRESSEE)

State Hearing: If you think this action is wrong, you can
ask for a hearing. The back of this page tells how.

NA 832 (3/10) RECOMMENDED Page 1 of ____

Rules:  These rules apply.  You may review them at your welfare
office:  CalWORKs MPP Sections 47-260, 47-430, 47-620, 
47-630; Education Code Sections: 8350-8353, 8357;  Welfare &
Institutions Code Sections 11322.9, 11323.6, 11323.8, and 11324.



If you ask for a hearing before an action on Cash Aid,
Medi-Cal, Food Stamps, or Child Care takes place: 
• Your Cash Aid or Medi-Cal will stay the same while you wait for a

hearing.
• Your Child Care Services may stay the same while you wait for a

hearing.
• Your Food Stamps will stay the same until the hearing or the end

of your certification period, whichever is earlier.

If the hearing decision says we are right, you will owe us for any
extra Cash Aid, Food Stamps or Child Care Services you got.
To let us lower or stop your benefits before the hearing, check below:

Yes, lower or stop:  ■■  Cash Aid     ■■  Food Stamps     ■■  Child Care

While You Wait for a Hearing Decision for: 

Welfare to Work:

You do not have to take part in the activities.

You may receive child care payments for employment and for
activities approved by the county before this notice.

If we told you your other supportive services payments will stop, you
will not get any more payments, even if you go to your activity. 

If we told you we will pay your other supportive services, they will be
paid in the amount and in the way we told you in this notice.

• To get those supportive services, you must go to the activity the
county told you to attend.

• If the amount of supportive services the county pays while you
wait for a hearing decision is not enough to allow you to
participate, you can stop going to the activity. 

Cal-Learn:

• You cannot participate in the Cal-Learn Program if we told you
we cannot serve you.

• We will only pay for Cal-Learn supportive services for an
approved activity.

OTHER INFORMATION
Medi-Cal Managed Care Plan Members: The action on this notice may stop
you from getting services from your managed care health plan.  You may wish
to contact your health plan membership services if you have questions.

Child and/or Medical Support: The local child support agency will help
collect support at no cost even if you are not on cash aid.  If they now collect
support for you, they will keep doing so unless you tell them in writing to stop.
They will send you current support money collected but will keep past due
money collected that is owed to the county. 

Family Planning: Your welfare office will give you information when you ask
for it.

Hearing File:  If you ask for a hearing, the State Hearing Division will set up a
file.  You have the right to see this file before your hearing and to get a copy of
the county's written position on your case at least two days before the hearing.
The state may give your hearing file to the Welfare Department and the U.S.
Departments of Health and Human Services and Agriculture. (W&I Code
Sections 10850 and 10950.) 

TO ASK FOR A HEARING:
• Fill out this page.  
• Make a copy of the front and back of this page for your records.

If you ask, your worker will get you a copy of this page.
• Send or take this page to:

OR
• Call toll free: 1-800-952-5253 or for hearing or speech impaired

who use TDD, 1-800-952-8349.

To Get Help: You can ask about your hearing rights or for a legal
aid referral at the toll-free state phone numbers listed above. You
may get free legal help at your local legal aid or welfare rights office.

If you do not want to go to the hearing alone, you can bring a
friend or someone with you.

HEARING REQUEST 
I want a hearing due to an action by the Welfare Department
of ________________________________ County about my:

! Cash Aid ! Food Stamps ! Medi-Cal

! Other (list)___________________________________________

Here's Why: ____________________________________________

_______________________________________________________

_______________________________________________________

_______________________________________________________

_______________________________________________________

_______________________________________________________

! If you need more space, check here and add a page.

! I need the state to provide me with an interpreter at no cost to me.
(A relative or friend cannot interpret for you at the hearing.) 

My language or dialect is: ____________________________

NAME OF PERSON WHOSE BENEFITS WERE DENIED, CHANGED OR STOPPED

BIRTH DATE PHONE NUMBER

STREET ADDRESS

CITY STATE ZIP CODE

SIGNATURE DATE

NAME OF PERSON COMPLETING THIS FORM PHONE NUMBER

! I want the person named below to represent me at this
hearing.  I give my permission for this person to see my
records or go to the hearing for me.  (This person can be a
friend or relative but cannot interpret for you.) 

NAME PHONE NUMBER

STREET ADDRESS

CITY STATE ZIP CODE 

NA BACK 9 (REPLACES NA BACK 8 AND EP 5)  REQUIRED FORM - NO SUBSTITUTE PERMITTED

YOUR HEARING RIGHTS
You have the right to ask for a hearing if you disagree with
any county action. You have only 90 days to ask for a
hearing. The 90 days started the day after the county gave or
mailed you this notice.
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