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ALL COUNTY LETTER NO. 16-83

TO: ALL COUNTY WELFARE DIRECTORS
ALL COUNTY WELFARE TO WORK COORDINATORS
ALL COUNTY CALWORKS PROGRAM SPECIALISTS
ALL COUNTY REFUGEE COORDINATORS
ALL COUNTY CAL-LEARN COORDINATORS
ALL TRIBAL TANF ADMINISTRATORS
ALL COUNTY CONSORTIUM PROJECT MANAGERS

SUBJECT: CALIFORNIA HIGH SCHOOL EXIT EXAMINATION SUSPENSION
AND CHANGES TO THE CALIFORNIA WORK OPPORTUNITY
AND RESPONSIBILITY TO KIDS (CalWORKs) CAL-LEARN
PROGRAM

REFERENCES: SENATE BILL (SB) 725 (CHAPTER 225, STATUTES OF 2015
AND SB 172 (CHAPTER 572, STATUTES OF 2015)

The purpose of this letter is to provide clarification regarding the suspension of the
California High School Exit Examination (CAHSEE) as a condition for receiving a
diploma of graduation and the CalWORKs Cal-Learn Program.

Background

Beginning with the 2003-2004 school year, and each year thereafter, Assembly

Bill (AB) 1609 (Chapter 716, Statutes of 2001) required each student completing

grade 12 to successfully pass the CAHSEE as a condition of graduation from high
school. AB 1609, Section 3, Section 60859(a), also granted the State Board of
Education an option to delay the date upon which students completing grade 12 would
be required to pass the CAHSEE to a date other than the 2003-2004 school year.
Students in California public schools were required to pass the CAHSEE to demonstrate
competency in grade-level skills in reading, writing, and mathematics in order to earn a
high school diploma beginning with the 2005-2006 school year.
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SB 725 (Chapter 225, Statutes of 2015) suspended passage of the CAHSEE as a
condition for receiving a diploma of graduation or a condition of graduation from high
school for a student who has met all other high school graduation requirements in
school year 2014-2015. Local educational agencies (LEA’s) were instructed to
immediately begin issuing diplomas to eligible students.

SB 172 (Chapter 572, Statutes of 2015) was signed by the Governor on

October 7, 2015. Effective January 1, 2016, this bill extended the suspension of the
CAHSEE as a condition of graduation from high school for the 2015-2016, 2016-17, and
2017-2018 school years. SB 172 also requires LEAs to grant a diploma to any student
who completed grade 12 in the 2003-2004 school year, or a subsequent school year,
and met all applicable graduation requirements other than passage of the CAHSEE.

SB 172 does not require LEAs to identify and contact students who may be eligible to
receive their diploma, although student outreach is encouraged. It is unknown what
requirement for students may occur after suspension ends in the 2017-2018 school year
that will impact current and/or former students.

The Cal-Learn Program

The Cal-Learn Program was created to aid pregnant and parenting teens in acquiring
high school diplomas or equivalents and rewarding them with supplements for
satisfactory progress and bonuses upon verification of graduation. Pregnant and
parenting teens receiving CalWORKS services are required to participate in the Cal-
Learn Program to obtain their high school diploma or its equivalent, unless exempt, per
Manual of Policies and Procedures (MPP) Section 42.763.1.

Satisfactory progress bonuses of $100 are issued to the assistance unit (AU) when a
Cal-Learn participant’s report card reflects satisfactory progress. Upon graduation, or
its equivalent, a $500 bonus is issued in the name of the teen parent. County Welfare
Departments (CWDs) must verify the required documentation has been submitted to
earn a high school diploma or its equivalent prior to granting the bonus per

MPP Section 42-769.1.

Implementation

For current Cal-Learn pregnant and/or parenting teens, the CAHSEE is no longer a
graduation requirement. Therefore, when a student submits documentation to their case
manager showing graduation from high school or its equivalent and graduation has
been verified with the high school, the case manager shall provide the $500 bonus.

If a previous Cal-Learn teen contacts a county office and provides their diploma as
documentation showing graduation from high school or its equivalent, other than
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passing the CAHSEE, they are deemed to have graduated. The CWD should issue a
$500 bonus to the teen if otherwise eligible at the time of graduation. The diploma
must have been earned during the period in which the student was an active Cal-Learn
participant.

Examples of Former Cal-Learn Teens:

Example #1: Marie contacts her former CWD and indicates that she was in the
Cal-Learn program in 2007. She states that she did not graduate and receive a $500
bonus at that time as she did not pass the CAHSEE. She provides documentation from
her former school showing that she now meets all current graduation requirements from
high school and requests a retroactive bonus for graduating. The CWD should verify
her documentation and if eligible, issue a $500 bonus.

Example #2: Michelle becomes aware of Senate Bill legislation that suspended the
CAHSEE as part of California’s high school graduation requirements. She visits her
old high school and obtains documentation showing that she has met all graduation
requirements as of June 2014, other than passing the CAHSEE. The CWD contacts
the school and verifies her graduation requirements were met. Prior to issuing the
bonus, the CWD looks into Michelle’s case and finds that she discontinued out of Cal-
Learn in May 2014. Since Michelle was not in the Cal-Learn program during the month
she graduated in June 2014, she is not eligible to receive a $500 bonus.

Cal Learn Data Reporting

If you have any program policy questions regarding this letter, please contact your
CalWORKSs county consultant directly or call the CalWORKs Employment Bureau at
(916) 657-2128.

Sincerely,
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KAREN DICKERSON, Chief
CalWORKs Employment and Eligibility Branch



