
 
 
 
 
 
 

 

 

   
 
August 13, 2014 
 
 
ALL COUNTY INFORMATION NOTICE NO.  I-47-14 
 
 
TO: ALL COUNTY WELFARE DIRECTORS 
 ALL COUNTY CHILD CARE COORDINATORS 
 ALL WELFARE-TO-WORK COORDINATORS 
 
 
SUBJECT:  REVISED FAMILY FEE SCHEDULE 
 
 
REFERENCE: ASSEMBLY BILL 86, CHAPTER 48, STATUTES OF 2013; 

EDUCATION CODE SECTIONS 8273 AND 8447; MANUAL OF 
POLICY AND PROCEDURES 47-401.71; MANAGEMENT 
BULLETIN 14-03, THE CALIFORNIA DEPARTMENT OF 
EDUCATION, EARLY EDUCATION AND SUPPORT DIVISION 

 
 
The purpose of this notice is to inform County Welfare Departments (CWDs) that the 
family fee schedule for subsidized child care programs has been revised and became 
effective July 1, 2014.  Families with incomes that exceed 40 percent of the State 
Median Income (SMI), adjusted for family size, and families that have not received an 
exemption are required to pay a family fee for subsidized child care services. Families 
receiving California Work Opportunity and Responsibility to Kids (CalWORKs) are 
exempt from fees as long as they are receiving cash aid.    
  
The new family fee schedule was released in May 2014, by the California Department of 
Education (CDE) through Management Bulletin 14-03.  The new schedule requires 
families to be assessed either a flat monthly full-time fee or part-time fee, based on 
hours of child care certified for the month, income, and family size. Families with a 
certified need of less than 130 hours of child care per month will be assessed a part-
time fee while families with a certified need of 130 hours or more per month will be 
assessed a full-time fee.   
 
CWDs are encouraged to check the CDE website regularly for updated family fee 
schedules in order to accurately determine family fees for former recipients who receive 
CalWORKs Stage One child care.  This information can be found on the CDE website 
at:  

http://www.cde.ca.gov/sp/cd/ci/familyfeeschedjuly2014.asp 
 

REASON FOR THIS TRANSMITTAL 
s

[x] State Law Change 
[  ] Federal Law or Regulation 
 Change 
[  ] Court Order 
[  ] Clarification Requested by 
  One or More Counties 
[  ] Initiated by CDSS 

http://www.cde.ca.gov/sp/cd/ci/familyfeeschedjuly2014.asp
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BACKGROUND 
 
Assembly Bill (AB) 86 (Budget Act of 2013) required the Superintendent of Public 
Instruction to develop a new fee schedule that was simple and easy to implement. This 
new simplified fee schedule will help families better understand their potential monthly 
fee. The new family fee schedule will be based on the SMI data that was in use for the 
2007-08 fiscal year, adjusted for family size.  The family income eligibility limit is 70 
percent of the SMI for all subsidized child care programs to which this fee schedule 
applies. 
 
AB 86 requires the new family fee schedule to begin at income levels at which families 
currently begin paying fees and the revised fees will not exceed 10 percent of the 
family’s monthly income.  The Superintendent is required to submit the adjusted fee 
schedule to the Department of Finance for approval.   
 
NOTICE OF ACTION (NOA) 
  
The CalWORKs Stage One Child Care regulations Manual of Policies and Procedures 
(MPP) Section 47-420.3, specifies that CWDs shall notify the client whenever there is 
an approval, denial, change or discontinuance in the amount of subsidy paid by the 
county for child care. CWDs shall issue NOAs to these clients as soon as 
administratively feasible. 
 
CONTACT 
 
If you have any questions concerning this notice, please call the Child Care Programs 
Bureau at (916) 657-2144. 
 
Sincerely, 
 
Original Document Signed By: 
 
STAN CAGLE, Chief 
Child Care and Refugee Programs Branch 
 
Attachment 
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Revised Family Fee Schedule

Effective July 1, 2014

Flat Monthly Fee

Part-time Fee Full-time Fee
Family
Size

1 or 2

Family
Size

3

Family
Size

4

Family
Size

5

Family
Size

6

Family
Size

7

Family Size
8 or more

$ 21.00 $ 42.00 1,820 1,950 2,167 2,513 2,860 2,925 2,990

$ 27.00 $ 53.00 1,893 2,028 2,253 2,614 2,974 3,042 3,109

$ 32.00 $ 63.00 1,965 2,106 2,340 2,714 3,089 3,159 3,229

$ 37.00 $ 74.00 2,038 2,184 2,426 2,815 3,203 3,276 3,349

$ 42.00 $ 84.00 2,111 2,262 2,513 2,915 3,317 3,393 3,468

$ 48.00 $ 95.00 2,184 2,340 2,600 3,016 3,432 3,510 3,588

$ 56.00 $ 111.00 2,257 2,418 2,686 3,116 3,546 3,627 3,707

$ 64.00 $ 128.00 2,329 2,496 2,773 3,217 3,661 3,744 3,827

$ 73.00 $ 145.00 2,402 2,574 2,860 3,317 3,775 3,861 3,946

$ 81.00 $ 162.00 2,475 2,652 2,946 3,418 3,889 3,978 4,066

$ 90.00 $ 179.00 2,548 2,730 3,033 3,518 4,004 4,095 4,186

$ 98.00 $ 195.00 2,621 2,808 3,120 3,619 4,118 4,212 4,305

$ 106.00 $ 212.00 2,693 2,886 3,206 3,719 4,232 4,329 4,425

$ 115.00 $ 229.00 2,766 2,964 3,293 3,820 4,347 4,446 4,544

$ 123.00 $ 246.00 2,839 3,042 3,380 3,920 4,461 4,563 4,664

$ 132.00 $ 263.00 2,912 3,120 3,466 4,021 4,576 4,680 4,784

$ 140.00 $ 279.00 2,985 3,198 3,553 4,122 4,690 4,797 4,903

$ 148.00 $ 296.00 3,057 3,276 3,640 4,222 4,804 4,914 5,023

$ 157.00 $ 313.00 3,130 3,354 3,726 4,323 4,919 5,031 5,142

$ 160.00 $ 319.00 3,203 3,374 3,749 4,348 4,948 5,061 5,173

$ 163.00 $ 326.00 3,283 3,393 3,770 4,373 4,976 5,089 5,202

$ 166.00 $ 332.00 N/A 3,413 3,792 4,399 5,006 5,120 5,233

$ 169.00 $ 338.00 N/A 3,432 3,813 4,423 5,033 5,148 5,262

$ 173.00 $ 345.00 N/A 3,518 3,835 4,448 5,062 5,177 5,292

$ 177.00 $ 354.00 N/A N/A 3,856 4,473 5,090 5,206 5,322

$ 181.00 $ 362.00 N/A N/A 3,880 4,500 5,121 5,237 5,354

$ 187.00 $ 373.00 N/A N/A 3,908 4,534 5,159 5,276 5,394

Monthly Income Ceilings Family Size
1 or 2

Family Size
3

Family Size
4

Family
Size

5

Family
Size

6

Family
Size

7

Family Size
8 or more

Ceiling 3,283 3,518 3,908 4,534 5,159 5,276 5,394

Revised Family Fee Schedule Effective July 1, 2014  (PDF)

Questions:   Early Education and Support Division | 916-322-6233

http://www.cde.ca.gov/sp/cd/ci/familyfeeschedjuly2014.asp
http://www.cde.ca.gov/sp/cd/ci/documents/familyfeeschedjuly2014.pdf
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