STATE OF CALIFORMIA—HEALTH AND WELFARE AGENCY

DEPARTMENT OF SOCIAL SERVICES‘ .
44 P Street, Sacramento, CA 95814

April 2, 1993 REASON FOR THIS TRANSMITTAL

[ 1 8tate Law Change

i 1 Federal Law or Regulation
Change

{ 1 Court Order or Settlement
Agreement

[ ] Clarification Requested by
One or More Counties

{x] 1Initiated by 3DSS

ALL-COUNTY LETTER NO. 93-24

TO: ALL-COUNTY WELFARE DIRECTORS

SUBJECT: ALLOWABLE COSTS OF SERVICE THAT AFFECT IN-HOME
SUPPORTIVE SERVICES (IHSS) CONTRACTS
REFERENCE ACL #92-19

In accordance with Welfare and Institutions Code (WIC) Section
12303(a) and Manual of Policies and Procedures (MPP) Sections
10-205.2 and 10-205.3 et al., effective July 1, 1989, and each
year thereafter, the allowable cost of service is increased in
accordance with the California Consumer Price Index. Any
portion of a payment by a County on an IBHSS contract in excess
of 110 percent of the allowable cost of service shall not be
eligible for matching or reimbursement from State or Federal
funds.

The revised allowable cost of service for each County listed
below is effective July 1, 1993, <Counties that are currently
impacted are those which are bidding for new contracts, or are
renewing contracts, pursuant to WIC Section 12302.1, with
effective start dates of July 1, 1993 or thereafter. Contracts
that begin prior to July 1, 1993 or are in progress, are not
impacted by the new allowable cost of service until those
contracts expire and are rebid or renewed.

The methodology used to compute the revised allowable cost of
service is as follows: The July 1, 1992 allowable cost of
service was increased by 3.7 percent, the estimated California
Consumers Price Index between Fiscal Years 1992 and 1993.

In accordance with WIC Section 12303(a), a 10 percent allowable
increase was added to each County's allowable cost to arrive at a
maximum contract cost eligible for State reimbursement.

The maximum contract cost eligible for reimbursement is not to be
congidered a standard rate of payment. Counties are to continue
to encourage maximum competition among bidders and secure the
lowest price possible.

An example of the computed allowable cost of service is attached.




MPP Section 10-205.5 provides a process whereby Counties may
appeal to the Department for an adjustment to the allowable cost
determination. The appeal process requires Counties to initiate
an appeal by filing with the Department a written request for an
adjustment, no later than 15 working days from the mailing date
of this All-County Letter. The written appeal must provide
documentation that demonstrates extraordinary circumstances
affecting the operation of the program within the County, the
potential adverse impact of the allowable cost on continuity of
services, or the ability to provide efficient and effective
management of the program. The appeal must contain the cost
regquested and specific justification for the difference between
the allowable cost and the requested cost,

Once the written appeal has been received, the Department will
determine if additional information is necessary. The additional
information must be provided by Counties within 10 working days
of the date of the Department's notification to the County.
Failure of the County to provide additional information, within
the specified time period, may result in denial of the regquested
adijustment.

The FY 19%3-94 maximum allowable hourly costs, including the

10 percent allowable increase, eligible for State reimbursement
have been approved by the Department of Finance for each County
and are as follows:

Butte 5£10.16
Nevada $10.73
Riverside 812.29
San Diego $11.91
San Frangcisco $13.28
San Joaguin 513.86
San Mateo £12.65
Santa Barbara $12.58
Santa Clara $13.54
Santa Cruz 513.61
Stanislaus $10.51
Tehama 511.390

Ventura 511.04




Please address any appeals for adjustment of the allowable cost
to me at the following address:

Department of Social Services

744 P Street, Mail Station 17-18
Sacramento, CA 95814

E MIL£ER

Deputy Director

Adult Services Division
Attachment

co: CWDA




COUNTY

Butte

Nevada
Riverside
San Diego
San Francisco
San Joaquin
San Mateo
Santa Barbara
Santa Clara
Santa Cruz
Stanislaus
Tehama
Ventura

EXAMPLE:

Butte County

Attachment

COMPUTED

ALLOWABLE HOURLY

COST FY 92/93

$ 8.91
$ 9.40
$10.77
$10.44
$11.64
S 9,52
$11.09
$11.03
$11.87
$11.93
$ 9.21
$ 9.90
S 9.68

Allowable Cost of Service Fiscal Year 1992/93

Allowable Increase

{CPI Increase 3.70% x $8.91)

Allowable Cost of Service Fiscal Year 1993/94

WIC Section 12303(a)

10%

(10% x

Allowable Increase

$9.24)

Maximum Allowable Cost of Service with
10% Increase Piscal Year 1993/94

+

il




