
STATE OF CALIFORNIA - HEALTH AND HUMAN SERVICES AGENCY GRAY DAVIS, Governor

DEPARTMENT OF SOCIAL SERVICES
744 P Street, Sacramento, California 95814

January 8, 2003

ALL-COUNTY INFORMATION NOTICE NO.  I-02-03

TO: ALL COUNTY WELFARE DIRECTORS
IHSS PROGRAM MANAGERS

SUBJECT: STATE PARTICIPATION OF IN-HOME SUPPORTIVE SERVICES
INDIVIDUAL PROVIDER WAGES AND BENEFITS

REFERENCE: WELFARE AND INSTITUTION CODE SECTION 12306.1 (D)(3)

This All-County Information Notice (ACIN) provides counties with State wage sharing
information for In-Home Supportive Services (IHSS) individual providers.

Individual Provider Wages Under Public Authority (PA)/Nonprofit Consortium
(NPC)

Effective July 1, 2002, the State will share in the cost of individual provider wages and
individual health benefits in PA/NPC counties up to ten dollars and ten cents ($10.10)
per hour, provided that wages have reached at least seven dollars and fifty cents
($7.50) per hour.  The amount between $7.50 and $10.10 (up to $2.60) may be applied
to wages, individual health benefits, or both.

If provider wages have not reached at least seven dollars and fifty cents ($7.50) per
hour, the state will only share in the cost of the actual provider wages plus individual
health benefits up to sixty cents ($0.60) per hour.

Individual Provider Wages Under Other than PA/NPC

The State will continue to share in the cost of individual provider wages up to 5.31
percent above State minimum wage in counties without a PA/NPC.  With a State
minimum wage of six dollars and seventy-five cents ($6.75) per hour, the maximum
provider wages the State will share in is seven dollars and eleven cents ($7.11) per
hour.  The State does not share in individual health benefits in this mode.
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Counties must submit changes to the PA/NPC rate using the SOC 449, In-Home Supportive
Services Program Public Authority/Nonprofit Consortium Rate form.  State share participation
in a rate increase is subject to California Department of Social Services (CDSS) approval and
must be provided for in the annual State Budget Act or appropriated by statute.  Changes to
the PA/NPC rate do not become effective until the first of the month following approval by the
CDSS.

If you have any questions regarding this letter, please contact Alan Stolmack, Chief,
Adult Programs Branch at (916) 229-4582.

Sincerely,

Original Document Signed By
Donna L. Mandelstam on 1/8/03

DONNA L. MANDELSTAM
Deputy Director
Disability and Adult Programs Division


