
Your
rights
under California
Welfare Programs
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… for people applying for
or receiving public aid in
California

Tell us if you need help
because of a disability

Ask for a free interpreter
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Your righTs
all people and organizations providing public
assistance must respect your rights. ey can help
you understand and apply for benefits and services. 



44



55

You hAve A righT To…
1. understand what is happening with your

application and aid.
2. get written and oral explanations about your

application and aid.
3. get a receipt for any documents you turn in.
4. see your case record.
5. see state and county laws and regulations.
6. ask a judge to review any county decision about

your eligibility, benefits, or services.
7. not face discrimination in receiving program

benefits or services.
8. file a complaint about discrimination.
9. get extra help from county staff to make sure you

get your benefits if you have a disability or
impairment that makes it hard to understand the
program rules.

10. have your information kept confidential.
11. Be treated with courtesy and respect.
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if You Are hAving Problems wiTh Your Aid
or services:
1. Keep records of all your information, documents,

and contacts with the county.
2. get a receipt when you turn anything in.
3. You can bring someone with you to a meeting

with your worker.
4. Complain. ere are 4 ways to do this:
n Informal: You can ask to speak to a supervisor to 

talk about problems with a worker or to go 
over the rules and the proposed action on your 
aid or services.

n State Hearing: ask for a state hearing if there is a 
problem with your aid or services.  You must
ask for a hearing within 90 days of the county's
action. You may be able to file after 90 days if
you have a good reason, like illness or a
disability.

n Discrimination complaint: if you feel that the 
county has discriminated against you, you can 
make a discrimination complaint to the
County’s Civil rights Coordinator or to the
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state Civil rights Bureau, and to the federal
government. You must do this within 180 days
of the discrimination. for more on this, see the
section beginning “Prohibited discrimination.” 
if the discrimination also affects your benefits or
services, you must also ask for a state hearing if 
you wish to challenge the county’s decision on 
your benefits or services.

n Grievance: You can file a complaint with the 
county if they have a grievance procedure.  is 
does not protect your benefits in the way that 
asking for a state hearing does.

sTATe heArings
n You can ask for a state hearing any time you

disagree with a county’s action on your benefits
or services.

n You can also ask for a state hearing if the county
is not giving you benefits or services which you
think you should get.

n a state hearing is heard by a state administrative
law Judge.  e county will have someone at the
hearing to explain why they took their action.  
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n a state hearing is not a court hearing. You do
have the right to have a representative with you.
ere are free legal services in every county. ey
are listed on the back of your county notices. You
can bring witnesses. You have the right to a free
interpreter. ask the county how to get one.
•    if your problem is with general assistance or

general relief, you must ask for a county
hearing.  

•    if your problem is with social security
benefits, you must contact the social security
administration.

conTinuing Your Aid or services Pending
A sTATe heAring
e county must give you a notice at least 10 days
before any action to change your aid or services takes
place. if you ask for a hearing before the action takes
place, you can get “aid paid pending” your hearing.
is means your aid stays the same until you get a
hearing decision. 

You musT ask for a hearing on any new
notice you get, if you disagree.
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how To requesT A sTATe heAring

1. Phone: ask for a state hearing by contacting
the Ca department of social services at
(800) 743-8525 or (800) 952-5253

2. fill out the back of your notice of action (noa)
or send a written request to: 
Cdss, state hearing division
744 P street m.s. 09-17-37 
sacramento, Ca 95814 

ProhibiTed discriminATion
under state law, welfare agencies may not provide
you aid, benefits or services that is different from aid
provided to others on the basis of 

Race, Color, National Origin (including
language), Ethnic Group Identification, Age,
Disability, Religion, Sex, Sexual Orientation,
Political Affiliation, Marital Status, or
Domestic Partnership

federal laws also prohibit discrimination on several,
although not all, of the bases listed above.
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federal law also prohibits : 
1. delaying or denying the placement of a child for

adoption or into foster care on the basis of race,
color or national origin of the adoptive or foster
parents, or the child; 

2. denying to any individual the opportunity to
become a foster or adoptive parent on the basis of
race, color or national origin of the individual or
child involved.

exAmPles of discriminATion
n    e County does not give you a free interpreter.  
n    a worker tells a certain ethnic group about more

programs and services than people of other
ethnicities.

n    e County won’t help you get audio tapes of a
program orientation to help you with a disability
that makes it hard for you to read.

n    a worker learns of your religion or politics and
then treats you differently.

n    You can’t get to appointments because the county
building does not have an elevator.

n    You cannot get your wheelchair into
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examination, interview rooms or restrooms.
n    men get referred to job training for better paying

jobs than women.
n    e county does not want you to have training

because they say you are “too old.”
n    You are not allowed to adopt a baby because you

are of a different race.

discriminATion comPlAinTs
if you think you have been discriminated against, you may
submit a complaint application separately to the County or
the state, and the federal government. e federal agency
that you must complain to depends on which program
your complaint is about.
You can file a discrimination complaint with: 
1. for all Programs administered BY

Your CountY Welfare dePartment:
e County’s Civil rights Coordinator. ask your
county office for the name, address and phone
number of their Civil rights Coordinator.
he/she will independently investigate your
complaint.
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2.   Civil rights Bureau
California department of social services
744 P street, ms 8-16-70
sacramento, Ca  95814
(916) 654-2107
(866) 741-6241 (toll-free)

3. for the Calfresh Program:
united states department of agriculture
director, office of Civil rights, 
room 326-W, Whitten Bldg. 
1400 independence avenue, s.W., 
Washington, d.C. 20250-9410
(202) 720-6382 (voice and ttY)

4. for all other Programs:
health and human services
office of Civil rights
90  7th street, suite 4-100
san francisco, Ca 94103

(415) 437-8310 (voice)
(415) 437-8311 (tdd)

Time limiTs To TAke AcTion
if you suffer discrimination, you must submit your
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complaint within 180 days of the actual
discrimination.  if the discrimination also affected the
level of your benefits and services, you must also ask
for a state hearing within 90 days.  a discrimination
investigation cannot change your benefit levels or
services…only a state hearing can do that.

limiTs on cerTAin righTs
although you have the right to privacy and
confidentiality, there are certain laws that allow
limited exceptions. You can ask the county for
the laws.

quesTions
if you have any questions on how to request a state
hearing, call the Public inquiry and response unit:
toll free (800) 952-5253. e tdd toll-free
telephone number is (800) 952-8349.

ProgrAms covered bY This PAmPhleT
n adoption assistance Program (aaP)
n adult Protective services
n alcohol and drug Program
n California food assistance Program (CfaP)
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n medi-Cal
n CalWorKs
n CalWorKs Child Care
n CalWorKs Welfare-to-Work Program/services
n Cash assistance Program for immigrants (CaPi)
n Child Welfare services
n denti-Cal
n early & Periodic screening, diagnosis, and

treatment (ePsdt)
n Calfresh (food stamps)
n foster Care
n in-home support services
n Kinship guardian assistance (Kin-gaP)
n mental health
n multipurpose senior services Program (mssP)
n Personal Care services Program (PCsP)
n refugee Cash assistance
n social services
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state of California

health and human
serViCes agenCY

dePartment of
soCial serViCes
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PuB 13 (8/16)

is pamphlet is available from your local
County Welfare office and at www.cdss.ca.gov in
the following languages:
• arabic
• armenian
• Cambodian
• Chinese
• farsi
• hmong

• Japanese
• Korean
• lao
• mien
• Portuguese
• Punjabi

• russian
• spanish
• spanish large Print
• tagalog
• ukrainian
• Vietnamese

also available in large print, Braille, and audio Cd


