STATE OF CALIFORNIA - HEALTH AND HUMAN SERVICES AGENCY CALIFORNIA DEPARTMENT OF SOCIAL SERVICES

CIVIL PENALTY ASSESSMENT — IMMEDIATE $150

FACILITY NAME DATE
FACILITY ADDRESS CITY STATE ZIP CODE
LICENSEE(S) FACILITY #:
A Licensing Report (LIC 809 or LIC 9099) was issued on giving notice that your facility has been found in

DATE

violation of one or more requirements for which an immediate civil penalty is warranted in accordance with one or more of the
following California Health and Safety Code Sections: 1548, 1568.0822, 1569.49, 1596.99 and 1597.58.

You are hereby notified that an immediate civil penalty of $150 per violation followed by $150 per day per violation until corrected

is assessed for the period of through for the following violations:
DATE DATE

L] Violations that result in the death of a client in care at a Small Family Home, Adult Residential Facility for
Persons with Special Health Care Needs, or Crisis Nursery.

[ 1 Violations that result in injury or sickness of a client in care. (Excluding serious bodily injury or physical abuse.
Does not apply to Residential Care Facilities for the Chronically Il or Foster Family Homes.)
[ ] Fire clearance violations (Does not apply to Family Child Care Homes.)
[]  Absence of supervision
[ 1 Accessible bodies of water
[ ] Accessible firearms, ammunition, or both
[ ] Licensing agent refused entry to a facility or any part of a facility (Does not apply to Certified Family Homes.)
[ ] The presence of an excluded person on the premises
Total # of (Per Day ) Violations: _________
X $150
Total Penalty Assessed $Q00
YOU WILL RECEIVE AN INVOICE IN THE MAIL.
DO NOT SEND MONEY UNTIL YOU RECEIVE YOUR INVOICE
NAME OF LICENSING PROGRAM ANALYST SIGNATURE OF LICENSING PROGRAM ANALYST DATE
NAME OF FACILITY REPRESENTATIVE/TITLE SIGNATURE OF FACILITY REPRESENTATIVE DATE
SUPERVISOR REVIEW/SIGNATURE (FOR INTERNAL USE ONLY) TITLE DATE
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STATE OF CALIFORNIA - HEALTH AND HUMAN SERVICES AGENCY CALIFORNIA DEPARTMENT OF SOCIAL SERVICES

IMMEDIATE CIVIL PENALTY ASSESSMENT FORM
EXPLANATION TO LICENSEE

Immediate civil penalties can be assessed against any licensee for:

e Aviolation of one or more requirements for which an immediate civil penalty is warranted in accordance with California Health and
Safety Code Sections 1548, 1568.0822, 1569.49, 1596.99, 1597.58.

e Aviolation which results in injury, sickness, or death.

If any of the violations on this form are cited for a Residential Care Facility for the Elderly or a Residential Care Facility for Persons with Chronic
Life-Threatening lliness, and it is the 2nd or subsequent repeat violation within 12 months of the last repeat violation, it will be reflected on the
LIC 421, not on this form.

As noted on the front of this form, a civil penalty has been assessed for one of the above.

You will receive an invoice in the mail. Payment is due when billed. Payment must be made by a personal, business or cashier’s check or
money order made payable to the “California Department of Social Services”. Please write the facility number and invoice number on your
check and include a copy of your invoice with the payment. You will find the invoice number on your invoice. DO NOT SEND CASH.

APPEAL RIGHTS

The licensee has a right without prejudice to discuss any disagreement concerning the proper application of licensing laws and regulations with
the licensing agency. The licensee may request a formal administrative review of any civil penalty or notice of deficiency, to be conducted by the
Regional Manager, following the timeline listed below:

e Within 15 business days of receipt of this form, the licensee may request a formal review of any civil penalty or notice of deficiency. The
request must be made in writing and should be sent the Regional Office of jurisdiction over the facility. The licensee must include all
available supporting documentation with the request for review.

e  Within 30 business days of the request for review, the licensee may submit additional supporting documentation that was unavailable at the
time of the initial request.

e  Within 30 business days of receiving the initial request from the licensee, the licensing agency may request additional information from the
licensee deemed necessary to make its determination. The licensee shall provide this additional information within 30 business days of
receiving the request from the licensing agency.

e Within 60 business days of the date when all necessary information has been provided to the department by the licensee, the licensee shall
be notified in writing of the licensing agency’s decision

The licensing agency has a duty to review the facts presented without prejudice. Upon review of the facts and in accordance with applicable
statutes or regulations, the licensing agency may amend any portion of the action taken, or may dismiss the violation. Within 15 business days
of receiving the Regional Manager’s decision, the licensee may further appeal the decision to the Program Administrator. The same timeline as
above applies. The Program Administrator’s decision is considered final, and concludes the licensee’s administrative appeal rights.
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