
A Licensing Report (LIC 809 or LIC 9099) was issued on _______________________________ giving notice that failure to
correct the above  violation(s) would result in a civil penalty.

� Because you failed to make the corrections specified on the LIC 809, a civil penalty of $____________ is assessed for the
period from ________________ through ________________.

� A civil penalty of $50 per violation per day, up to a maximum of $150 per violation per day will be assessed. This will
continue until correction(s) is made to comply with the licensing laws, regulations, and approval of the California
Department of Social Services or authorized licensing agency.

� Because you repeated a violation of the same subsection within a 12-month period, an immediate civil penalty of
$__________ is assessed for the period from __________________ through __________________.

� All Facility Types Except Child Care Centers: Second citation within a 12 month period; an immediate civil penalty of
$150 per violation; then $50 per day per violation until corrections are made.

� Child Care Centers Only:  Second citation within a 12-month period; an immediate civil penalty of $150 per violation;
then $150 per day per violation until corrections are made. 

� Residential Care Facility for the Elderly (RCFE), Residential Care Facility for the Chronically Ill (RCF-CI):  Third citation
within a 12-month period; an immediate civil penalty of $1,000 per violation; then $100 per day per violation until
corrections are made.

� Family Child Care Home (FCCH), Child Care Center (CCC), Community Care Facility (CCF):  Third citation within 12-
month period; an immediate civil penalty of $150 per violation; then $150 per day per violation until corrections are made.

� FCCH and CCC only:  Second or subsequent violation for failure to allow parent or guardian to enter and inspect facility 
or for retaliation/discrimination stemming from a request to enter or lodge a complaint.  A civil penalty of $50 per violation.

Total Penalty Assessed  $____________________

YOU WILL RECEIVE AN INVOICE IN THE MAIL.

DO NOT SEND MONEY UNTIL YOU RECEIVE YOUR INVOICE

STATE OF CALIFORNIA - HEALTH AND HUMAN SERVICES AGENCY CALIFORNIA DEPARTMENT OF SOCIAL SERVICES

CIVIL PENALTY ASSESSMENT
FACILITY NAME

FACILITY ADDRESS

CITY

LICENSEE(S)/OPERATOR FACILITY #:

STATE ZIP CODE

DATE

LICENSED FACILITY
Civil penalties can be assessed against any facility which fails to take corrective action within prescribed time periods, per
California Health and Safety Code Sections 1548, 1568.0822, 1569.49, 1596.99, and 1597.58.  You are hereby notified that a civil
penalty has been assessed.

The above facility has been found in violation of the California Code of Regulations, Title 22, Divisions 6, and/or 12, 
Section(s) ______________________________________________________________________________________________
and/or California Health and Safety Code, Division 2, Chapters 3, 3.01, 3.2, 3.4, and 3.5, and 3.6. 

Section(s) ______________________________________________________________________________________________

NAME OF LICENSING PROGRAM ANALYST NAME OF FACILITY REPRESENTATIVE/TITLE

SIGNATURE OF  LICENSING PROGRAM ANALYST SIGNATURE OF FACILITY REPRESENTATIVE
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DATE

DATE DATE

DATE DATE

TITLE DATESUPERVISOR REVIEW/SIGNATURE (FOR INTERNAL USE ONLY)



INSTRUCTIONS FOR COMPLETING THE

CIVIL PENALTY ASSESSMENT FORM FOR LICENSED FACILITIES

EXPLANATION TO LICENSEE

A visit was conducted at the above facility by a Licensing Evaluator.  During that visit one or more violations of licensing
statutes and regulations were identified.  A Facility Evaluation Report (LIC 809) was issued establishing the dates by
which corrections must have been made.

Since you have failed to make all of the required corrections, you must pay the civil penalty described on the front of this
form until you have confirmed to the satisfaction of the California Department of Social Services that each of the violations
has been corrected.

IT IS YOUR RESPONSIBILITY to notify the licensing agency in writing or by the telephone when the required corrections
have been made.

Payment is due when billed and the check(s) shall be made payable to the "California Department of Social Services".
Please write the facility number and invoice number on your check.  DO NOT SEND CASH.

NOTE:  Civil penalties may be imposed in addition to the penalties of suspension or revocation as provided in the
California Health and Safety Code Sections 1548, 1568.0822, 1569.49, 1596.99, and 1597.58.  In addition to the
imposition of civil penalties, the California  Health and Safety Code Sections 1550, 1569.50 and 1596.885 also authorizes
the suspension or revocation of a license based on licensing violations.

APPEAL RIGHTS

The licensee has a right without prejudice to discuss any disagreement concerning the proper application of licensing laws and 
regulations with the licensing agency. The licensee may request a formal administrative review of any civil penalty or notice of
deficiency, to be conducted by the Regional Manager, following the timelines listed below:

• Within 15 business days of receipt of this form, the licensee may request a formal review of any civil penalty or notice of 
deficiency. The request must be in writing and should be sent to the Regional Office of jurisdiction over the facility.  The 
licensee must include all available supporting documentation with the request for review.

• Within 30 business days of the request for review, the licensee may submit additional supporting documentation that was 
unavailable at the time of the initial request. 

• Within 30 business days of receiving the initial request from the licensee, the licensing agency may request additional 
information from the licensee deemed necessary to make its determination. 

• Within 30 business days of receiving the licensing agency’s request for additional information, the licensee shall provide 
this additional information. 

• Within 60 business days of the date when all necessary information has been provided to the department by the licensee, 
the licensee shall be notified in writing of the licensing agency’s decision.

The licensing agency has a duty to review the facts presented without prejudice. Upon review of the facts and in accordance with 
applicable statutes or regulations, the licensing agency may amend any portion of the action taken or may dismiss the violation. 
Within 15 business days of receiving the Regional Manager’s decision, the licensee may further appeal the decision to the 
Program Administrator.  The same timelines as above applies.  The Program Administrator’s decision is considered final and 
concludes the licensee’s administrative appeal rights. 

LIC 421 (12/15) PAGE 2 OF 2

STATE OF CALIFORNIA - HEALTH AND HUMAN SERVICES AGENCY CALIFORNIA DEPARTMENT OF SOCIAL  SERVICES


	FACILITY NAME LIC 421: 
	DATE LIC 421: 
	FACILITY ADDRESS LIC 421: 
	CITY STATE ZIP CODE LIC 421: 
	LICENSEESOPERATOR LIC 421: 
	FACILITY LIC 421: 
	Section 1 LIC 421: 
	Section 2 LIC 421: 
	Section 2 Cont: 
	 LIC 421: 

	DATE_3 LIC 421: 
	Check Box1 LIC 421: Off
	Penalty date from LIC 421 1: 
	Penalty date through LIC 421 1: 
	Check Box2 LIC 421: Off
	Check Box3 LIC 421: Off
	Penalty LIC 421 1: 
	Penalty LIC 421 2: 
	Penalty date from LIC 421 2: 
	Penalty date through LIC 421 2: 
	Check Box4 LIC 421: Off
	Check Box5 LIC 421: Off
	Total penalty LIC 421: 
	DATE_4 LIC 421: 
	TITLE LIC 421: 
	NAME OF LICENSING PROGRAM ANALYST LIC 421: 
	NAME OF FACILITY REPRESENTATIVETITLE LIC 421: 
	Check Box6 LIC 421: Off
	Check Box7 LIC 421: Off
	Check Box8 LIC 421: Off


